Wainwright Prize

Named after nature writer Alfred Wainwright, the prizes are awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwrightâ??s core values and include a celebration of nature and our natural environment or a warning of the dangers to it across the globe.


Updated September 28, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The outrun
Liptrot, Amy
When Amy Liptrot returns to Orkney after more than a decade away, she is drawn back to the Outrun on the sheep farm where she grew up. Approaching the land that was once home, memories of her childhood merge with the recent events that have set her on this journey.Amy was shaped by the cycle of the...
Underland : a deep time journey
Macfarlane, Robert
Hailed as "the great nature writer of this generation" (Wall Street Journal), Robert Macfarlane is the celebrated author of books about the intersections of the human and the natural realms. In Underland, he delivers his masterpiece: an epic exploration of the Earth's underworlds as they exist in...
Diary of a young naturalist
McAnulty, Dara
English pastoral : an inheritance
Rebanks, James
The acclaimed chronicle of the regeneration of one family's traditional English farm NATIONAL BESTSELLER * Winner of the Wainwright Prize for Nature Writing * Named "Nature Book of the Year" by the Sunday Times * New York Times Editors' Choice * Shortlisted for the Orwell Prize and the...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.