Fantasy and Science Fiction

Discover recent releases in fantasy and science fiction, from space operas and apocalyptic worlds to dragons and magic!
Updated June 11, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
System Collapse
Martha Wells
Am I making it worse? I think I'm making it worse.Everyone's favorite lethal SecUnit is back.Following the events in Network Effect, the Barish-Estranza corporation has sent rescue ships to a newly-colonized planet in peril, as well as additional SecUnits. But if there's an ethical corporation out...
Bookshops & Bonedust
Travis Baldree
An Instant #1 New York Times, USA Today, and Indie Bestseller A Barnes & Noble Best Fantasy Book of 2023 An Amazon Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Book of 2023 When an injury throws a young, battle-hungry orc off her chosen path, she may...
Starter Villain
John Scalzi
Now a New York Times bestseller! Inheriting your uncle's supervillain business is more complicated than you might think. Particularly when you discover who's running the place. Charlie's life is going nowhere fast. A divorced substitute teacher...
Iron Flame
Rebecca Yarros
PLEASE NOTE: The limited edition with stained edges is sold out, but we invite you to purchase an unstained edition--same captivating story, same heart-pounding read! Discover the instant #1 New York Times bestseller! Now optioned for TV by Amazon Studios. ...
Chaos Terminal
Mur Lafferty
Mallory Viridian would rather not be an amateur detective, and fled to outer space to avoid it...but when one of the new human arrivals on a space shuttle is murdered, she's back in the game. Mallory Viridian would rather not be an amateur detective, thank you very...
House of Flame and Shadow
Sarah J. Maas
The stunning third book in the sexy, action-packed Crescent City series, following the global bestsellers House of Earth and Blood and House of Sky and Breath. Bryce Quinlan never expected to see a world other than Midgard, but now that she has, all she...
The Deep Sky
Yume Kitasei
Yume Kitasei's The Deep Sky is an enthralling sci fi thriller debut about a mission into deep space that begins with a lethal explosion that leaves the survivors questioning the loyalty of the crew.They left Earth to save humanity. They'll have to save themselves first.It is the eve of Earth's...
Thornhedge
T. Kingfisher
The Narrow Road Between Desires
Patrick Rothfuss
An instant New York Times, USA Today and Indie Bestseller! #1 New York Times-bestselling phenomenon Patrick Rothfuss returns to the wildly popular Kingkiller Chronicle universe with a stunning reimagining of "The Lightning Tree." Expanded to twice its previous length...
Mislaid in Parts Half-Known
Seanan McGuire
The Tainted Cup
Robert Jackson Bennett
A Holmes and Watson-style detective duo take the stage in this fantasy with a mystery twist, from the Edgar-winning, multiple Hugo-nominated Robert Jackson Bennett "Great fantasy detective stories are too rare, but Bennett--[a] rising star of fantasy--more than delivers."--Charlie...
The Future
Naomi Alderman
A Most Anticipated Book of Fall at Associated Press, Booklist, Chicago Tribune, Goodreads, Good Housekeeping, Literary Hub, Time, The Week, and W Magazine The bestselling, award-winning author of The Power delivers a...
Emily Wilde's Map of the Otherlands
Heather Fawcett
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * When mysterious faeries from other realms appear at her university, curmudgeonly professor Emily Wilde must uncover their secrets before it's too late, in this heartwarming, enchanting second installment of the Emily Wilde series. Emily Wilde is...
Prophet Song
Paul Lynch
WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE 2023 * NATIONAL BESTSELLER "A prophetic masterpiece." -- Ron Charles, Washington Post On a dark, wet evening in Dublin, scientist and mother-of-four Eilish Stack answers her front door to find two officers from Ireland's newly...
Yumi and the Nightmare Painter
Brandon Sanderson
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson--creator of The Stormlight Archive, the Mistborn Saga, and countless bestselling works of science fiction and fantasy--comes this gripping story set in the Cosmere universe told by Hoid, where two people from incredibly...
These Burning Stars
Bethany Jacobs
A dangerous cat-and-mouse quest for revenge. An empire that spans star systems, built on the bones of a genocide. A carefully hidden secret that could collapse worlds, hunted by three women with secrets of their own. All collide in this twisty, explosive space opera debut, perfect for readers of...
The Fragile Threads of Power
V. E. Schwab
A New York Times Bestseller A USA Today Bestseller September IndieNext Pick A new door opens... Once there were four worlds, nestled like pages in a book, each pulsing with fantastical power and connected by a...
Aftermarket Afterlife
Seanan McGuire
Seanan McGuire's New York Times-bestselling and Hugo Award-nominated urban fantasy InCryptid series continues with the thirteenth book following the Price family, cryptozoologists who study and protect the creatures living in secret all around us Mary Dunlavy didn't intend...
The Ministry of Time: A Novel
Kaliane Bradley
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK "This summer's hottest debut." --Cosmopolitan * "Witty, sexy escapist fiction [that] packs a substantial punch...It's a smart, gripping work that's also a feast for the senses.....
The Atlas Complex
Olivie Blake
The Atlas Complex marks the much-anticipated, heart-shattering conclusion in Olivie Blake's trilogy that began with the New York Times bestselling phenomenon, The Atlas Six. Only the extraordinary are chosen. Only the cunning survive...
The Lost Cause
Cory Doctorow
It's thirty years from now. We're making progress, mitigating climate change, slowly but surely. But what about all the angry old people who can't let go? For young Americans a generation from now, climate change isn't controversial. It's just an overwhelming fact of life. And so are...
Empire of the Damned
Jay Kristoff
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the New York Times bestselling author of the Nevernight Chronicle, Jay Kristoff, comes the much-anticipated sequel to the international bestselling sensation EMPIRE OF THE VAMPIRE. From holy cup comes holy...
He Who Drowned the World
Shelley Parker-Chan
USA TODAY bestseller, #1 international bestseller, and Indie Next Pick Best of 2023 Pick for Autostraddle and BookPage; a Recommended Reading List Pick for Locus; Locus Award Finalist The sequel and series conclusion to She Who Became...
The Tusks of Extinction
Ray Nayler
When you bring back a long-extinct species, there's more to success than the DNA. Moscow has resurrected the mammoth. But someone must teach them how to be mammoths, or they are doomed to die out again. Dr. Damira Khismatullina, an expert in elephant...
Sword Catcher
Cassandra Clare
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Two outcasts find themselves caught in a web of dangerous magic and dark secrets that could change the world forever in the start of a riveting epic fantasy series from the author of The Shadowhunter Chronicles. "Everything I look...
Annie Bot
Sierra Greer
"Provocative...a Frankenstein for the digital age...a rich text about power, autonomy, and what happens when our creations outgrow us." -- Esquire "Unexpected and subtle...delicious and thought-provoking." -- New Scientist For fans of Never Let Me Go and My Dark...
A Stroke of the Pen: The Lost Stories
Terry Pratchett
A Quantum Love Story
Mike Chen
The Sunlit Man
Brandon Sanderson
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson--creator of The Stormlight Archive, the Mistborn Saga, and countless bestselling works of science fiction and fantasy--comes this standalone novel showing a rare glimpse of a future Cosmere universe. Running....
The Warm Hands of Ghosts
Katherine Arden
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * During the Great War, a combat nurse searches for her brother, believed dead in the trenches despite eerie signs that suggest otherwise, in this hauntingly beautiful historical novel with a speculative twist, from the author of The Bear and the Nightingale.
The Book of Doors
Gareth Brown
A debut novel full of magic, adventure, and romance, The Book of Doors opens up a thrilling world of contemporary fantasy for readers of The Midnight Library, The Invisible Life of Addie Larue, The Night Circus, and any modern story that mixes the wonder of the unknown...
Sleep No More
Seanan McGuire
The 17th novel of the Hugo-nominated, New York Times bestselling October Daye urban fantasy series. October is very happy with her life as the second daughter of her pureblood parents, Amandine and Simon Torquill. Born to be the changeling handmaid to her beloved sister...
The Jinn-Bot of Shantiport
Samit Basu
A 2024 Locus Award Finalist! A "Best Of" pick in BookBub | Lit Hub | Book Riot | The Mary Sue "So much fun!"-Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author From international bestseller Samit Basu,<...
Mammoths at the Gates
Nghi Vo
The Crawford and Hugo Award-Winning Series Finalist for the Nebula Award for Best Novella; shortlisted for the Lambda Literary Award, the Locus Award, the Ignyte Award; One of Book Riot's Best Fantasy Debuts of All Time; A Milwaukee...
The Hemlock Queen
Hannah Whitten
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! The glittering and dangerous world of the Sainted King's royal court is upended when Prince Bastian seizes control and a mysterious dark force begins to take over in the second installment of New York Times bestselling...
The Hurricane Wars
Thea Guanzon
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! "An incredible debut full of rich atmosphere, clever world building, opposing magic, and sizzling romance, The Hurricane Wars is my newest obsession."-- KERRI MANISCALCO, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Throne of...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.