Fantasy & Magic M-Z

Updated May 28, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The magicians : a novel
Grossman, Lev.
Lev Grossman's new novel THE BRIGHT SWORD will be on sale July 2024 The New York Times bestselling novel about a young man practicing magic in the real world, now an original series on SYFY "The Magicians is to Harry Potter as a shot of Irish whiskey is to...

Grades 8-10

The Marvellers
Clayton, Dhonielle,
Dhonielle Clayton makes her middle-grade debut with a fantasy adventure set in a global magic school in the sky --an instant New York Times and #1 Indie Bestseller! "The Marvellers deserves the highest compliment I can give a book: I want to live...

Grades 6-7

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
Riggs, Ransom,
The #1 New York Times best-selling series. A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage.A strange collection of very curious photographs.It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and...

Grades 6-8

The ogress and the orphans
Barnhill, Kelly Regan,
A National Book Award finalist and instant fantasy classic about the power of community, generosity, books, and baked goods, from the author of the beloved Newbery Medal winner The Girl Who Drank the Moon. The town of Stone in the Glen used to be lovely, but it hasn't been so in...

Grades 6-7

Our crooked hearts
Albert, Melissa,
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * #1 INDIE NEXT PICK * 6 STARRED REVIEWS Secrets. Lies. Bad choices. Dangerous magic. . . . From NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Melissa Albert comes OUR CROOKED HEARTS, a contemporary fantasy "so precise and enthralling that the only...
Grades 10+
Princess Academy
Hale, Shannon,
A Newbery Honor WinnerA New York Times BestsellerIn this first book in New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor-winning author Shannon Hale's Princess Academy series, Miri finds herself a sudden participant in a contest to find the next princess...
Grade 6-7
The Sandman.
Gaiman, Neil,

Grades 10+

The school between Winter and Fairyland
Fawcett, Heather
A fresh and exciting twist on magical boarding schools, the well-loved Chosen One trope, and the nature of true heroism--from the author of The Language of Ghosts and Ember and the Ice Dragons. Perfect for fans of middle grade fantasies including the Serafina series by Robert Beatty and Neil...
Grades 6-8
The Selection
Cass, Kiera,
Fall in love--from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved...

Grades 8-10

A song below water
Morrow, Bethany C.,
Bethany C. Morrow's A Song Below Water is the story for today's readers -- a captivating modern fantasy about Black sirens, friendship, and self-discovery set against the challenges of today's racism and sexism. In a society determined to keep her under lock and...
Grades 8-10
Strike the zither
He, Joan,
A dazzling new fantasy from New York Times and Indie bestselling author Joan He, Strike the Zither is a powerful, inventive, and sweeping fantasy perfect for fans of Rebecca Ross and Chloe Gong. The year is 414 of the Xin Dynasty, and chaos abounds. A puppet...

Grades 8-10

The Swifts : a dictionary of scoundrels
Lincoln, Beth,
Instant New York Times Bestseller! "Knives Out feel by way of Lemony Snicket...This archly told, never muddled debut whodunit reveals a roster of distinct characters, a labyrinthine setting and plot, and a mystery that is as clever as its heroine." - Publishers...

Grades 6-7

This woven kingdom
Mafi, Tahereh,
New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestseller! Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people--Tahereh Mafi's first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology. To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not...

Grades 10+

A thousand heartbeats
Cass, Kiera,
#1 New York Times bestselling author of The Selection series Kiera Cass is back with her most epic novel yet--a sweeping enemies-to-lovers standalone romance. "Love has a sound. It sounds like a thousand heartbeats happening at the same time." Princess Annika has lived a...

Grades 8-10

Throne of glass
Maas, Sarah J.,
The first book in New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas's sweeping fantasy saga - now available in hardcover with a new look to match the series!When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come...
Grade 10+
The time traveler's wife
Niffenegger, Audrey,
The love story of Henry and Claire whose lives are punctuated by Henry's disappearance to different points in time--sometimes even back to visit Claire as a young woman. When Henry meets Claire, he is twenty-eight, andshe is twenty. He's a hip, handsome librarian; she is an art student...

Grades 10+

What elephants know
Dinerstein, Eric,
Abandoned in the jungle of the Nepalese Borderlands, two-year-old Nandu is found living under the protective watch of a pack of wild dogs. From his mysterious beginnings, fate delivers him to the King's elephant stable, where he is raised by unlikely parents-the wise head of the stable, Subba...
Grade 6-7
Wicked : the life and times of the wicked witch of the West : a novel
Maguire, Gregory,
This is the book that started it all! The basis for the smash hit Tony Award-winning Broadway musical, Gregory Maguire's breathtaking New York Times bestseller Wicked views the land of Oz, its inhabitants, its Wizard, and the Emerald City, through a darker and greener (not rosier) lens....

Grades 10+

Wild magic
Pierce, Tamora,

Grades 8-10

A wizard of Earthsea
Le Guin, Ursula K.,
The first novel of Ursula K. Le Guin's must-read Earthsea Cycle. "The magic of Earthsea is primal; the lessons of Earthsea remain as potent, as wise, and as necessary as anyone could dream." (Neil Gaiman) Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless...

Grades 8-10

The world we make
Jemisin, N. K.,
Four-time Hugo Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author N.K. Jemisin crafts a glorious tale of identity, resistance, magic and myth. All is not well in the city that never sleeps. Even though...

Grades 10+

A wrinkle in time
L'Engle, Madeleine.
NEWBERY MEDAL WINNER * TIME MAGAZINE'S 100 BEST FANTASY BOOKS OF ALL TIME * NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE FROM DISNEY Read the ground-breaking science fiction and fantasy classic that has delighted children for over 60 years! "A Wrinkle in Time<...
Grades 6-8

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.