Historical Fiction M-Z

Updated May 28, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Code name Verity
Wein, Elizabeth,
Don't miss Elizabeth Wein's stunning new novel, Stateless! The beloved #1 New York Times bestseller, a "fiendishly plotted" (New York Times) "heart-in-your mouth adventure" (Washington Post) that...
Matrix
Groff, Lauren,
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE 2022 JOYCE CAROL OATES PRIZE FINALIST FOR THE 2021 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION One of Barack Obama's Favorite Books of 2021 Named a Best Book of the Year by The New York Times,...
Grade 10+
The nightingale
Hannah, Kristin,
A #1 New York Times bestseller, Wall Street Journal Best Book of the Year, and soon to be a major motion picture, this unforgettable novel of love and strength in the face of war has enthralled a generation. France, 1939 - In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne...
Northanger Abbey.
Austen, Jane,
Orphan train : a novel
Kline, Christina Baker,
The #1 New York Times Bestseller "A lovely novel about the search for family that also happens to illuminate a fascinating and forgotten chapter of America's history. Beautiful."--Ann Packer Moving between contemporary Maine and Depression-era Minnesota, Orphan Train is a powerful...
Grade 8-10
People of the book : a novel
Brooks, Geraldine,
View our feature on Geraldine Books's People of the Book. From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of March, the journey of a rare illuminated manuscript through centuries of exile and war In 1996, Hanna Heath, an Australian rare-book expert, is offered...
Graded 10+
Pirate queen : the legend of Grace O'Malley
Lee, Tony,
A captivating retelling of the story of Grace O'Malley, the Pirate Queen of Ireland, and her struggle to protect the friends, family, and country that she loved. A true daughter of the fearsome O'Malley clan, Grace spent her life wishing to join the fight to keep Henry VIII's...

Grade 8-10

The promise
Galgut, Damon,
Rescue
Nielsen, Jennifer A.,

Grades 6-7

The secret keeper of Jaipur
Joshi, Alka,
 A NEW NOVEL BY THE AUTHOR OF THE HENNA ARTIST,  A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK Good Morning America's "27 Books for June"   PopSugar's Best Summer Reads of 2021  In New York Times bestselling...

Grade 10+

The seven moons of Maali Almeida : a novel
Karunatilaka, Shehan,
Winner of the 2022 Booker Prize, The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida is a searing satire set amid the mayhem of the Sri Lankan civil war. Colombo, 1990. Maali Almeida--war photographer, gambler, and closet queen--has woken up dead in what seems like a celestial visa office....

Grades 10+

Shrines of gaiety : a novel
Atkinson, Kate,
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The award-winning author of Life after Life transports us to a restless London in the wake of the Great War--a city bursting with money, glamour, and corruption--in this spellbinding tale of seduction and betrayal. A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR:...

Grades 10+

The silent unseen
McCrina, Amanda,
Poland, July 1944. Sixteen-year-old Maria is making her way home after years of forced labor in Nazi Germany, only to find her village destroyed and her parents killed in a war between the Polish Resistance and Ukrainian nationalists. To Maria's shock, the local Resistance unit is commanded by her...

Grades 8-10

A sitting in St. James
Williams-Garcia, Rita,
Winner of the Boston Globe/Horn Book Award! 7 starred reviews! "Monumental." --Booklist (starred review) * "A marathon masterpiece."--Kirkus (starred review) * "Necessary."--SLJ (starred review) * "Shocking and dramatic."--Shelf Awareness (starred review) * "Mesmerizing,...
Grade 8-10
Stalking Jack the Ripper
Maniscalco, Kerri,
This #1 New York Times bestseller and deliciously creepy horror novel has a storyline inspired by the Ripper murders and an unexpected, blood-chilling conclusion. Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with a life of wealth...
Grade 8-10
Stateless
Wein, Elizabeth,
Elizabeth Wein, #1 bestselling author of Code Name Verity, delivers a tour de force historical thriller that will leave you breathless. Twelve competitors. One prize. Many reasons to kill.   When Stella North is chosen to...

Grades 8-10

This other Eden : a novel
Harding, Paul,
In 1792, formerly enslaved Benjamin Honey and his Irish wife, Patience, discover an island where they can make a life together. Over a century later, the Honeys' descendants and a diverse group of neighbors are desperately poor, isolated, and often hungry, but nevertheless protected from the...

Grades 10+

This rebel heart
Locke, Katherine,
A tumultuous tale of the student-led 1956 Hungarian revolution--and an all too timely look at the impact of Communism and the USSR in Eastern Europe--set in a fabulist, colorless post-WWII Budapest from Sydney Taylor Honor winner Katherine Locke.   "A haunting, beautiful...

Grades 8-10

The trackers : a novel
Frazier, Charles,
From the New York Times bestselling author of Cold Mountain and Varina, a stunning new novel that paints a vivid portrait of life in the Great Depression Hurtling past the downtrodden communities of Depression-era America, painter Val Welch travels westward to the rural town of Dawes,...

Grades 10+

Troublemaker
Cho, John,
An instant New York Times bestseller! An Indiebound bestseller! An Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Honor Book! Troublemaker follows the events of the LA Riots through the eyes of 12-year-old Jordan...

Grades 6-7

Utopia Avenue : a novel
Mitchell, David
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The long-awaited new novel from the bestselling, prize-winning author of Cloud Atlas and The Bone Clocks. New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice * "Mitchell's rich imaginative stews bubble with history...
The vanishing half
Bennett, Brit,
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR NAMED A BEST BOOK OF 2020 BY THE NEW YORK TIMES * THE WASHINGTON POST * NPR * PEOPLE * TIME MAGAZINE* VANITY FAIR * GLAMOUR  ...
The war that saved my life
Bradley, Kimberly Brubaker,
* Newbery Honor Book * #1 New York Times Bestseller * Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award  * Forbes 25 Top Historical Fiction Books Of All Time selection * Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of the Year selection * New York...
Wench : a novel
Perkins-Valdez, Dolen,
Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez is startling and original fiction that raises provocative questions of power and freedom, love and dependence. An enchanting and unforgettable novel based on...
Grade 10+
White Rose
Wilson, Kip,
"In a searing indictment of silent complicity, White Rose shines a light on one remarkable young woman's insistence on the power of truth, no matter the cost. A timely call to resistance." - Joy McCullough, author of Blood Water Paint "White Rose is a resonant...
Grade 6-7
Why we fly
Jones, Kimberly
Grade 10+
The Windeby puzzle : history and story
Lowry, Lois,
Newbery Medalist and New York Times bestselling author Lois Lowry transports readers to an Iron Age world through the suspenseful dual narrative of a boy and girl both battling to survive. In an utterly one-of-a-kind blend of fiction and history, a master storyteller explores the...

Grades 6-7

Wolf Hall : a novel
Mantel, Hilary,
In the ruthless arena of King Henry VIII's court, only one man dares to gamble his life to win the king's favor and ascend to the heights of political power England in the 1520s is a heartbeat from disaster. If the king dies without a male heir, the country could be destroyed...
Yusuf Azeem is not a hero
Faruqi, Saadia,
At a time when we are all asking questions about identity, grief, and how to stand up for what is right, this book by the author of A Thousand Questions will hit home with young readers who love Hena Khan and Varian Johnson--or anyone struggling to understand recent U.S. history and...
Grades 6-8

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.