Cozy Fantasies for All Ages

Cozy fantasy is a subgenre of fantasy that focuses on characters and relationships. The stakes may still be high, but you'll finish each book with a cozy feeling and like you may have discovered some new favorite characters along the way.

Updated July 6, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The cat who saved books
Natsukawa, Sōsuke
Grandpa used to say it all the time: books have tremendous power. But what is that power really?Natsuki Books was a tiny second-hand bookshop on the edge of town. Inside, towering shelves reached the ceiling, every one crammed full of wonderful books. Rintaro Natsuki loved this space that his...
The girl who drank the moon
Barnhill, Kelly Regan
Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal The New York Times Bestseller An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016 A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016 A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
Howl's moving castle
Jones, Diana Wynne.
This entrancing classic fantasy novel is filled with surprises at every turn. An international bestseller, this much-loved book is the source for the Academy Award nominee for Best Animated Feature. Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to...
A river enchanted
Ross, Rebecca
THE #1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER A sparkling debut fantasy with Celtic tones set on the magical isle of Cadence where two childhood enemies must team up to discover why girls are going missing from their clan. Enchantments run deep on the magical Isle of Cadence...
So this is ever after
Lukens, F. T.
Three months to find your true love, save the kingdom and secure the throne. It's all a breeze from here, right? WRONG! Dive into LGBTQ+ romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author F. T. Lukens! Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Adam Silvera. 
A psalm for the wild-built
Chambers, Becky
Winner of the Hugo Award! In A Psalm for the Wild-Built, bestselling Becky Chambers's delightful new Monk and Robot series, gives us hope for the future. It's been centuries since the robots of Panga gained self-awareness and laid down their tools;...
Emily Wilde's encyclopaedia of faeries
Fawcett, Heather
'A darkly gorgeous fantasy that sparkles with snow and magic, this book wholly enchanted me' Sangu Mandanna, author of The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches Enter the world of the hidden folk - and discover the most whimsical, enchanting and heart-warming tale...
Crumbs
Stirling, Danie
An IndieBound Bestseller Falling in love just got sweeter in this charming, romantic YA graphic novel from WEBTOON, the #1 digital comic platform. Ray, a young seer struggling with her powers, discovers first love and friendship in her town's magic bakery. In a very special town,...
Half a soul
Atwater, Olivia
'Whimsical but never frivolous, sweet but not sugary, deeply kind rather than merely nice. I loved it' Alix E. Harrow It's difficult to find a husband in Regency England when you're a young lady with only half a soul. Ever since she was cursed...
The very secret society of irregular witches
Mandanna, Sangu
Mika Moon knows she has to hide her magic, and is used to keeping her head down with one exception: an online account, where she posts videos 'pretending' to be a witch. She thinks no one will take it seriously. But someone does. An unexpected message arrives, begging her to travel to the remote and...
The house in the cerulean sea
Klune, TJ
A NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, and WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER! A 2021 Alex Award winner! The 2021 RUSA Reading List: Fantasy Winner! An Indie Next Pick! One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring...
The mysteries of Thorn Manor
Rogerson, Margaret
In this delightful sequel novella to the New York Times bestselling Sorcery of Thorns, Elisabeth, Nathaniel, and Silas must unravel the magical trap keeping them inside Thorn Manor in time for their Midwinter Ball! Elisabeth Scrivener is finally settling into her...
Wildseed witch
Dumas, Marti
Hasani's post-seventh-grade summer to-do list is pretty simple: get a bigger following for her makeup YouTube channel and figure out how to get her parents back together. What she does NOT expect is that an emotional outburst will spark a latent magical ability in her. Or that the magic will be...
Stardust
Gaiman, Neil
An enchanting fairy tale by master storyteller Neil Gaiman, full of unexpected adventures, true love, whimsy, wonder, and plenty of magic. Tristran Thorn will do anything to win the cold heart of beautiful Victoria Forester--even fetch her the star they watch fall from the night sky....
Other Birds
Allen, Sarah Addison.
The New York Times Bestseller From the acclaimed author of Garden Spells comes an enchanting tale of lost souls, lonely strangers, secrets that shape us, and how the right flock can guide you home. Down a narrow alley in the small coastal town of...
This poison heart
Bayron, Kalynn
_______________'Kalynn Bayron does more than re-write a fairy-tale ... She breaks it apart and rebuilds it into a wholly original and captivating story where girls finally decide for themselves who lives happily ever after' - Brigid Kemmerer'Brings much-needed inclusivity and...
The dead romantics
Poston, Ashley
Florence Day is the ghostwriter for a prolific romance author. When her new editor won't give her an extension, Florence prepares to kiss her career goodbye. But then she gets a phone call she never wanted to receive: she must return home for the first time in a decade to help bury her beloved...
The bear and the nightingale : a novel
Arden, Katherine
Katherine Arden's bestselling debut novel spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice.   "A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling...
The Tea Dragon Society
O'Neill, Kay (Cartoonist)
From the award-winning author of Princess Princess Ever After comes The TeaDragon Society, a charming all-ages book that follows the story of Greta, ablacksmith apprentice, and the people she meets as she becomes entwined in theenchanting world of tea dragons. After discovering a...
A marvellous light
Marske, Freya
Set in an alternative Edwardian England, this is a comedy of manners, manor houses, and hedge mazes: including a magic-infused murder mystery and a delightful queer romance. 'Lush historical fantasy . . . A delightful book, with richly developed characters' - ...
The night circus
Morgenstern, Erin
THE TIKTOK SENSATION Discover the million-copy bestselling fantasy read. The circus arrives without warning. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Against the grey sky the towering tents are striped black and white. A sign...
Legends & lattes : a novel of high fantasy and low stakes
Baldree, Travis
An Instant New York Times Bestseller A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2022 A Library Reads Pick An Indie Next Pick A Goodreads Best Fantasy Choice Award Nominee The much-beloved BookTok sensation, Travis Baldree's novel of high...
Divine rivals
Ross, Rebecca
NO GOD NO CREATURE NO WAR CAN COME BETWEEN THEM The epic new enemies-to-lovers fantasy novel filled with hope and heartbreak from number one SUNDAY TIMES bestseller Rebecca Ross Eighteen-year-old Iris dreams that one day her writing will make a...
A far wilder magic
Saft, Allison
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER AN INSTANT INDIE BESTSELLER ONE OF 2022'S MOST ANTICIPATED READS: * BUZZFEED * EPIC READS * GOODREADS * THE NERD DAILY * UNITED BY POP * "An utterly transportive read, unfolding into a world of crumbling manors...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.