Library Staff Recommendations

Enjoy these fiction and nonfiction books for adults recommended by the staff at Lewisville Public Library.

Updated July 7, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
All the light we cannot see
Doerr, Anthony
WINNER OF THE 2015 PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE CARNEGIE MEDAL FOR FICTION A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel about a blind French girl and a German boy whose...
The family game : a novel
Steadman, Catherine
"A powerful family and a deadly game. Be prepared for a nail-biting, roller-coaster of a ride" (B. A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors), from the New York Times bestselling author of Something in the Water, Mr. Nobody, and The Disappearing Act "The...
Ice planet barbarians
Dixon, Ruby
LOSTYou'd think being abducted by aliens would be the worst thing that could happen to me. And you'd be wrong. Because now, the aliens are having ship trouble, and they've left their cargo of human women-including me-on an ice planet.FOUNDAnd the only native inhabitant I've met? He's big, horned,...
Enola Holmes and the elegant escapade
Springer, Nancy
Enola Holmes, Sherlock's much younger and feistier sister, returns in this new adventure in the internationally bestselling series and breakout Netflix sensation.
Hello stranger
Center, Katherine
The woman in the library
Gentill, Sulari
USA TODAY BESTSELLER * MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD NOMINEE * 2022 BOOKPAGE BEST MYSTERIES AND SUSPENSE * LIBRARY READS TOP 10 BOOKS OF 2022 * CRIME READS BEST NEW CRIME FICTION "Investigations are launched, fingers are pointed, potentially dangerous liaisons unfold and I was turning those...
Project Hail Mary
Weir, Andy
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING RYAN GOSLING AND DIRECTED BY CHRISTOPHER LORD AND PHIL MILLER From the author of The Martian, a lone astronaut must save the earth from disaster in this "propulsive" (Entertainment...
We have always lived in the castle
Jackson, Shirley
'Her greatest book ... at once whimsical and harrowing, a miniaturist's charmingly detailed fantasy sketched inside a mausoleum ... the deeper we sink, the deeper we want to go' Donna Tartt Living in the Blackwood family home with only her sister Constance and her Uncle Julian...
Project Hail Mary
Weir, Andy
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING RYAN GOSLING AND DIRECTED BY CHRISTOPHER LORD AND PHIL MILLER From the author of The Martian, a lone astronaut must save the earth from disaster in this "propulsive" (Entertainment...
Penance
Clark, Eliza
An utterly chilling, compulsive story of a murder among teenagers, on the eve of the historic Brexit vote, by a major new voice in British fiction.
The maid
Prose, Nita
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK * "A heartwarming mystery with a lovable oddball at its center" (Real Simple), this cozy whodunit introduces a one-of-a-kind heroine who will steal your heart.   FINALIST FOR...
The maid
Prose, Nita
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK * "A heartwarming mystery with a lovable oddball at its center" (Real Simple), this cozy whodunit introduces a one-of-a-kind heroine who will steal your heart.   FINALIST FOR...
In the dream house
Machado, Carmen Maria
A revolutionary memoir about domestic abuse by the award-winning author of Her Body and Other Parties In the Dream House is Carmen Maria Machado's engrossing and wildly innovative account of a relationship gone bad, and a bold dissection of the mechanisms and...
All the hidden paths
Meadows, Foz.
With the plot against them foiled and the city of Qi-Katai in safe hands, newlywed and tentative lovers Velasin and Caethari have just begun to test the waters of their relationship. But the wider political ramifications of their marriage are still playing out across two nations, and all too soon,...
Born a crime : and other stories
Noah, Trevor
WINNER OF THE THURBER PRIZE The compelling, inspiring, (often comic) coming-of-age story of Trevor Noah, set during the twilight of apartheid and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed. One of the comedy world's brightest new voices, Trevor Noah is a...
What lies in the woods
Marshall, Kate Alice
They were eleven when they sent a killer to prison. They were heroes . . . but they were liars. Kate Alice Marshall's What Lies in the Woods is a thrilling novel about friendship, secrets, betrayal, and lies - and having the courage to face the past. ...
Foundryside
Bennett, Robert Jackson
'The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists' Brandon Sanderson, New York Times bestselling author of Oathbringer She thought it was just another job. But her...
Radio Silence
Oseman, Alice
The second novel by the phenomenally talented Alice Oseman, author of Solitaire and graphic novel series Heartstopper - now a major Netflix series. What if everything you set yourself up to be was wrong? Frances has always been a study machine with one goal,...
Radio Silence
Oseman, Alice
The second novel by the phenomenally talented Alice Oseman, author of Solitaire and graphic novel series Heartstopper - now a major Netflix series. What if everything you set yourself up to be was wrong? Frances has always been a study machine with one goal,...
Yours Truly
Jimenez, Abby.
A novel of terrible first impressions, hilarious second chances and the joy in finding the perfect match from 'a true talent' (EMILY HENRY). Readers are absolutely loving Yours Truly! 'Literally the best book I ever read' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐...
Hello stranger
Center, Katherine
Legendborn
Deonn, Tracy
An Instant New York Times Bestseller! Winner of the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn's YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of...
Fourth wing
Yarros, Rebecca
Don't miss out on the series that everyone can't stop talking about! 'Pure escapism - think Hunger Games meets Fifty Shades' -The Sun 'We weren't expecting to become obsessed with Rebecca Yarros's Fourth Wing, but we very much are - and we're not alone . . .' ...
Sisters of the lost nation
Medina, Nick
Anna Horn is always looking over her shoulder. For the bullies who torment her, for the entitled visitors at the reservation's casino and for the nameless, disembodied entity that stalks her every step - an ancient tribal myth come to life, one that's intent on devouring her whole. With strange and...
Yours Truly
Jimenez, Abby.
A novel of terrible first impressions, hilarious second chances and the joy in finding the perfect match from 'a true talent' (EMILY HENRY). Readers are absolutely loving Yours Truly! 'Literally the best book I ever read' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐...
Legendborn
Deonn, Tracy
An Instant New York Times Bestseller! Winner of the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn's YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of...
One dark window
Gillig, Rachel
'Thick fog, shifting alliances and clever magic make the perfect backdrop for a sweeping romance - One Dark Window is enthralling from beginning to shocking end' Hannah Whitten, bestselling author of For the Wolf ELSPETH NEEDS A MONSTER. THE MONSTER MIGHT BE HER....
One dark window
Gillig, Rachel
'Thick fog, shifting alliances and clever magic make the perfect backdrop for a sweeping romance - One Dark Window is enthralling from beginning to shocking end' Hannah Whitten, bestselling author of For the Wolf ELSPETH NEEDS A MONSTER. THE MONSTER MIGHT BE HER....
Love on the brain
Hazelwood, Ali
'Your world is about to be rocked.' Elena Armas, author of The Spanish Love Deception 'Hopelessly, brilliantly, wonderfully romantic. I loved it even more than The Love Hypothesis, and I didn't think that was possible' Cressida McLaughlin
Love on the brain
Hazelwood, Ali
'Your world is about to be rocked.' Elena Armas, author of The Spanish Love Deception 'Hopelessly, brilliantly, wonderfully romantic. I loved it even more than The Love Hypothesis, and I didn't think that was possible' Cressida McLaughlin
Leave the world behind : a novel
Alam, Rumaan
A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick! Finalist for the 2020 National Book Award (Fiction) One of Barack Obama's Summer Favorites A Best Book of the Year From: The Washington Post * Time * NPR * Elle * Esquire * Kirkus * Library Journal * The Chicago...
Sword Catcher
Clare, Cassandra.
DISCOVER THE INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES FROM THE GLOBAL BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE SHADOWHUNTER CHRONICLES! Two outcasts find themselves at the centre of world-altering change in Sword Catcher, the start of a riveting epic fantasy series from the internationally bestselling...
A taste of gold and iron
Rowland, Alexandra
A sweeping fantasy romance set against the backdrop of an Ottoman Empire-inspired world, A Taste of Gold and Iron by Alexandra Rowland is perfect for fans of A Marvellous Light and The Goblin Emperor. 'A delicious tangle of romance, fealty and dangerous...
Gryphon in light
Lackey, Mercedes
Set in the beloved and New York Times bestselling world of Valdemar, this 1st book in a new trilogy returns to the tales of the majestic gryphons. On the border between Valdemar and the deadly Pelagirs Forest, the gryphon hero Kelvren returns from a near-fatal self...
The kite runner
Hosseini, Khaled
The #1 New York Times bestselling novel beloved by millions of readers the world over. "A vivid and engaging story that reminds us how long his people [of Afghanistan] have been struggling to triumph over the forces of violence--forces that continue to threaten them even today...
The nightingale
Hannah, Kristin
A #1 New York Times bestseller, Wall Street Journal Best Book of the Year, and soon to be a major motion picture, this unforgettable novel of love and strength in the face of war has enthralled a generation. France, 1939 - In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne...
A knight of the seven kingdoms
Martin, George R. R.
SOON TO BE A MAJOR TV SERIES A KNIGHT OF THE SEVEN KINGDOMS compiles the first three official prequel novellas to George R.R. Martin's ongoing masterwork, A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE. A century before A GAME OF THRONES, two unlikely heroes wandered Westeros... Before Tyrion...
Finlay Donovan is killing it
Cosimano, Elle
"Getting the job done" for one single mom takes on a whole new meaning in Finlay Donovan is Killing It. A USA Today bestseller! One of Suspense Magazine's "Best Thrillers of 2021" One of New York Public Library's Best Books of 2021 Nominated for...
Finlay Donovan is killing it
Cosimano, Elle
"Getting the job done" for one single mom takes on a whole new meaning in Finlay Donovan is Killing It. A USA Today bestseller! One of Suspense Magazine's "Best Thrillers of 2021" One of New York Public Library's Best Books of 2021 Nominated for...
Born a crime : and other stories
Noah, Trevor
WINNER OF THE THURBER PRIZE The compelling, inspiring, (often comic) coming-of-age story of Trevor Noah, set during the twilight of apartheid and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed. One of the comedy world's brightest new voices, Trevor Noah is a...
Weyward
Hart, Emilia
*As seen on BBC's BETWEEN THE COVERS * A #2 Times bestseller * A New York Times bestseller 'Humming with a sly, exhilarating magic' BRIDGET COLLINS 'A much-heralded epic' OBSERVER 'Empowering' GLAMOUR ...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.