Graphic Novel Reads for Adults

Updated December 4, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Crashing
Klein, Matthew
House meets Gotham Central in this powered up medical drama featuring a prized physician caught amid recovery from addiction and a polarizing campaign aimed to strip superpowered humans of healthcare rights. Rose Osler is a specialist. Her focus? Patients with...
Helck. 1
Nanao, Nanaki
An epic tale of the powerful human hero who aims to become the next Demon Lord! After the demon lord is slain at the hands of a lone human warrior, humans rejoice over the end of his reign of terror. But an intense tournament of powerful fighters hoping to be crowned the next...
A Guest in the House: 'Vividly Drawn And Masterfully Plotted.' Observer, Graphic Novel Of The Month
Carroll, Emily.
A contemporary gothic horror and comics classic, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, Stranger Things and The Haunting of Hill House
The last count of Monte Cristo
Jama-Everett, Ayize
An Afrofuturist, fully colored, illustrated graphic-novel retelling of Alexandre Dumas's classic 19th-century novel The Count of Monte Cristo, from writer Ayize Jama-Everett and award-winning artist Tristan Roach A bold retelling of Alexandre Dumas's classic...
Chivalry
Gaiman, Neil
From the award-winning creators Neil Gaiman and Colleen Doran comes a stunning new graphic novel. An elderly widow buys what turns out to be the Holy Grail from a second-hand shop, setting her off on an epic adventure with a knight who brings her gifts of ancient relics in hope...
Wash day diaries
Rowser, Jamila
From writer Jamila Rowser and artist Robyn Smith comes a captivating graphic novel love letter to the beauty and endurance of Black women, their friendships, and their hair. Wash Day Diaries tells the story of four best friends--Kim, Tanisha, Davene, and Cookie--through...
Robin & Batman
Lemire, Jeff.
Robin is just starting out at the side of Batman, struggling to find his own path from personal tragedy to being a Superhero. The Eisner-winning superstar team of writer Jeff Lemire (Sweet Tooth) and artist Dustin Nguyen (Batman) unite for a three-issue limited-series exploring the...
A career in books a novel about friends, money, and the occasional duck bun
Gavino, Kate
Shirin, Nina, and Silvia have just gotten their first jobs in publishing, at a University Press, a traditional publisher, and a trust fund kid's 'indie' publisher, respectively. And it's...great? They know they re paying their dues and the challenges they meet are just part of 'a career in books'....
Castaways a graphic novel
Pérez Granell, Laura
Madrid in the eighties, and Barcelona ten years later. In these two vibrant locales, Castaways follows the relationship between Alejandra and Julio against the backdrop of these poetic urban spaces where dreams, love, and uncertainty intertwine. Drawn to one another but constantly pushed or pulled...
Number one is walking : my life in the movies and other diversions
Martin, Steve
** New York Times Bestseller ** Number One Is Walking is Steve Martin's cinematic legacy--an illustrated memoir of his legendary acting career, with stories from his most popular films and artwork by New Yorker cartoonist Harry Bliss. ...
Ducks : two years in the oil sands
Beaton, Kate
A New York Times Notable book! One of Barack Obama's favorite books of 2022! Winner of Canada Reads 2023! "An exceptionally beautiful book about loneliness, labor, and survival."--Carmen Maria Machado Before there was Kate Beaton, New York Times...
After the rain
Jennings, John
After the Rain is a graphic novel adaptation of Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor's short story "On the Road." Features bonus content including Q&As with the creative team and never-before-seen art and designs!
The Black Ghost. [1], Hard revolution
Segura, Alex
Meet Lara Dominguez - a troubled Creighton cops reporter obsessed with the city's debonair vigilante - the Black Ghost. With the help of a mysterious cyber-informant named LONE, Lara's inched closer to uncovering the Ghost's identity. But as she searched for the breakthrough story she desperately...
Black Widow. Vol. 1, The ties that bind
Thompson, Kelly
Kelly Thompson. Black Widow. 'Nuff Said! The best-selling, Eisner-nominated writer of Captain Marvel joins rising star artist Elena Casagrande to change everything for Natasha Romanoff! The Widow has been a spy almost as long as she's been alive. And she's never stopped running, whether she was...
Lore Olympus. Volume one
Smythe, Rachel (Comics artist)
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Scandalous gossip, wild parties, and forbidden love--witness what the gods do after dark in this stylish and contemporary reimagining of one of the best-known stories in Greek mythology, featuring a brand-new, exclusive short story from creator Rachel...
Wake the hidden history of women-led slave revolts
Hall, Rebecca
A Best Book of 2021 by NPR and The Washington Post Part graphic novel, part memoir, Wake is an imaginative tour-de-force that tells the "powerful" (The New York Times Book Review) story of women-led slave revolts and chronicles scholar Rebecca Hall's...
Frieren : beyond journey's end. 1
Yamada, Kanehito
The adventure is over but life goes on for an elf mage just beginning to learn what living is all about. Elf mage Frieren and her courageous fellow adventurers have defeated the Demon King and brought peace to the land. But Frieren will long outlive the rest of her former party....
A man & his cat. 1
Sakurai, Umi
The top manga launch in Japan in the first half of 2018, A Man and His Cat was also voted one of the top ten manga of 2018 by Japanese bookstore employees nationwide. Having won hearts and topped charts in Japan, this hotly anticipated series about an older gentleman and his unique,...
Once & future. Volume one, The king is undead
Gillen, Kieron
When a group of Nationalists use an ancient artifact to bring a villain from Arthurian myth back from the dead, retired monster hunter Bridgette McGuire pulls her unsuspecting grandson Duncan, a museum curator, into a world of magic and mysticism to defeat a legendary threat. Now the two must...
Fangs
Andersen, Sarah
A New York Times bestselling love story between a vampire and a werewolf by Sarah Andersen, the creator of the enormously popular Sarah's Scribbles comics. Elsie the vampire is three hundred years old, but in all that time, she has never met her match. This all...
The way of the house husband. 1
Oono, Kousuke
It's a day in the life of your average househusband--if your average househusband is the legendary yakuza "the Immortal Dragon"! A former yakuza legend leaves it all behind to become your everyday househusband. But it's not easy to walk away from the gangster life, and what...
Snow, glass, apples
Gaiman, Neil
Winner of the 2020 Bram Stoker Award® for Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel! A chilling fantasy retelling of the Snow White fairy tale by New York Times bestselling creators Neil Gaiman and Colleen Doran! A not-so-evil queen is terrified of her monstrous...
Blackbird. Book 1, The great beast
Humphries, Sam
Included in Tor.com's Best Comics of2018 Included in Book Riot's BestComics of 2018 "Much like BARTEL'sart, the world of BLACKBIRD thrums with a fantastical...
They called us enemy
Takei, George
New York Times Bestseller! A stunning graphic memoir recounting actor/author/activist George Takei's childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps during World War II. Experience the forces that shaped an American icon -- and America itself -- in this gripping tale...
Henchgirl
Gudsnuk, Kristen
Mary Posa hates her job. She works long hours for little pay, no insurance, and worst of all, no respect. Her co-workers are jerks and her boss doesn't appreciate her. He's also a supervillain. And her parents... well, they're the most famous superhero couple in Crepe City, along with her sister....
Monstress. Volume one, Awakening
Liu, Marjorie M.
2018 Eisner Award winner, BestWriter 2018 Eisner Award winner, BestPainter/Multimedia Artist 2018 EisnerAward winner, Best Continuing Series ...
Saga. Volume one
Vaughan, Brian K.
Winner of the 2013 Hugo award for Best Graphic Story! When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall inlove, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous olduniverse. From New York Times bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan (...
Giant days. Volume one
Allison, John
Susan, Esther, and Daisy started at university three weeks ago and became fast friends. Now, away from home for the first time, all three want to reinvent themselves. But in the face of hand-wringing boys, "personal experimentation," influenza, mystery-mold, nu-chauvinism, and the willful, unwanted...
Paper girls. 1
Vaughan, Brian K.
Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang's Eisner Award winning series PaperGirls is coming Amazon Prime Video in July 2022! From Brian K. Vaughan,#1 New York Times bestselling writer of SAGA, and Cliff Chiang, legendary artistof WONDER WOMAN, comes the first volume of an all-new...
East of West. Volume 1
Hickman, Jonathan
This is the world. It is not the one we wanted, but it is the one wedeserved. The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse roam the Earth, signaling the EndTimes for humanity, and our best hope for life, lies in DEATH!
Vinland saga. Book one
Yukimura, Makoto
Hit anime series streaming now from the makers of Attack on Titan! FOR HONOR AND VENGEANCE As a child, Thorfinn sat at the feet of the great Leif Ericson and thrilled to wild tales of a land far to the west. But his youthful fantasies were shattered by a...
I hate Fairyland. Volume 1, Madly ever after
Young, Skottie
From superstar writer and artist Skottie Young (Rocket Raccoon, Wizard ofOZ, Fortunately, The Milk), comes the first volume of an all-new series ofadventure and mayhem. An Adventure Time/Alice in Wonderland-style epicthat smashes it's cute little face against grown-up, Tank Girl...
Fun home a family tragicomic
Bechdel, Alison
CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED, NATIONAL BESTSELLER  Time Magazine #1 Book of the Year * National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist *  Winner of the Stonewall Book Award *  Double finalist for the Lambda Book Award * ...
Relish. my life in the kitchen
Knisley, Lucy
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Lucy Knisley loves food. The daughter of a chef and a gourmet, this talented young cartoonist comes by her obsession honestly. In her forthright, thoughtful, and funny memoir, Lucy traces key episodes in her life thus far, framed by what she was eating at...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.