Books Set in or About the Outdoors

Playing Books & Bites Bingo? Here are some suggestions for the books set in or about the outdoors square!

Updated January 29, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Diary of a young naturalist
McAnulty, Dara
Diary of a Young Naturalistchronicles the turning of 15-year-old Dara McAnulty's world. From spring and through a year in his home patch in Northern Ireland, Dara spent the seasons writing. These vivid, evocative and moving diary entries about his connection to wildlife and the way he sees...
The Wager : a tale of shipwreck, mutiny and murder
Grann, David
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the author of Killers of the Flower Moon, a page-turning story of shipwreck, survival, and savagery, culminating in a court martial that reveals a shocking truth. The powerful narrative reveals the deeper meaning of the events on The Wager...
World of wonders : in praise of fireflies, whale sharks and other astonishments
Nezhukumatathil, Aimee
"Hands-down one of the most beautiful books of the year." --NPR From beloved, award-winning poet Aimee Nezhukumatathil comes a debut work of nonfiction--a collection of essays about the natural world, and the way its inhabitants can teach, support, and inspire us. As a child,...
The history of bees
Lunde, Maja.
***THE NUMBER ONE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER*** ''Fans of Cloud Atlas and Never Let Me Go will love The History of Bees'' Good Housekeeping ''Dystopian and electric, this book is set to blow minds everywhere'' Stylist '...
Wild : a journey from lost to found
Strayed, Cheryl
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A powerful, blazingly honest memoir: the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe--and built her back up again. At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the...
The salt path
Winn, Raynor
Bring nature into your home with the inspiring true story of hope and the healing powers of the natural world, in one of the most talked about books of the decade FROM THE MILLION-COPY BESTSELLING AUTHOR 'This is what you need right now to muster hope and...
The overstory
Powers, Richard
THE MILLION-COPY GLOBAL BESTSELLER and WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION **AS SEEN ON BBC 2'S BETWEEN THE COVERS** 'It changed how I thought about the Earth and our place in it' Barack Obama 'Really, just one of the best novels,...
The lost city of Z : a legendary British explorer's deadly quest to uncover the secrets of the Amazon
Grann, David
**NOW A MAJOR FILM STARRING ROBERT PATTINSON, CHARLIE HUNNAM AND SIENNA MILLER** 'A riveting, exciting and thoroughly compelling tale of adventure' JOHN GRISHAM The story of Colonel Percy Harrison Fawcett, the inspiration behind Conan Doyle's...
Finding the mother tree : uncovering the wisdom and intelligence of the forest
Simard, S.
Raised in the hardy forest communities of British Columbia, scientist Suzanne Simard overturned conventional beliefs in proving that trees and plants are connected underground by an immense web of fungal mycelia, at the centre of which lie the Mother Trees- the mysterious, powerful entities that...
The well gardened mind : rediscovering nature in the modern world
Stuart-Smith, Sue.
'The wisest book I've read for many years ... Much more than a gardening book, much more than a guide to mental health ... Hugely recommended' Stephen Fry THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER A Times and Sunday Times Best Book of 2020 How can gardening relieve stress and help us...
Elderflora : a modern history of ancient trees
Farmer, Jared
The epic story of the planet's oldest trees and the making of the modern world.Humans have always revered long-lived trees. But as historian Jared Farmer reveals in Elderflora, our veneration took a modern turn in the eighteenth century, when naturalists embarked on a quest to locate and precisely...
Into the wild
Krakauer, Jon
With an introduction by novelist David Vann Jon Krakauer's Into the Wild examines the true story of Chris McCandless, a young man, who in 1992 walked deep into the Alaskan wilderness and whose SOS note and emaciated corpse were found four months later.Internationally bestselling author and...
Trail of the lost : the relentless search to bring home the missing hikers of the Pacific Crest Trail
Lankford, Andrea
** THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ** ** AN AMAZON "BEST BOOKS OF THE MONTH" FOR AUGUST 2023 (Biographies & Memoirs) ** From an award-winning former law enforcement park ranger and investigator, this female-driven...
North Woods
Mason, Daniel
'Epic . . . weaves a Cloud Atlas-style narrative of humanity under pressure and nature under threat' Guardian, BOOKS OF THE YEAR 'A little piece of magic' Sunday Independent, BOOKS OF THE YEAR 'Enthralling . . . A timely musing on...
Greenwood : a novel
Christie, Michael
A magnificent generational saga that charts a family's rise and fall, its secrets and inherited crimes, from one of Canada's most acclaimed novelists Longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize * "A rugged, riveting novel . . . This superb family saga will satisfy fans of...
The electricity of every living thing : a woman's walk in the wild to find her way home
May, Katherine
From the bestselling author of Wintering, Katherine May, The Electricity of Every Living Thing is a life-affirming and poignant exploration of nature, and how reconnecting to wild landscapes can create peace in our unquiet minds. 'A windswept tale, beautifully...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.