Books with Intriguing Titles

You can't judge a book by its cover (or its title)

Updated March 23, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
When women were dragons a novel
Barnhill, Kelly Regan
Paper Book
A GOODREADS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR * A fiery feminist fantasy tale set in 1950s America where thousands of women have spontaneously transformed into dragons, exploding notions of a woman's place in the world and expanding minds about accepting others for who they really are.   ...
My sister, the serial killer : a novel
Braithwaite, Oyinkan
Paper Book
"Pulpy, peppery and sinister, served up in a comic deadpan...This scorpion-tailed little thriller leaves a response, and a sting, you will remember."--NEW YORK TIMES "The wittiest and most fun murder party you've ever been invited to."--MARIE CLAIRE WINNER...
The ten thousand doors of January
Harrow, Alix E.
Paper Book
***Shortlisted for the Hugo, Nebula and Locus awards for Best Novel*** 'A gorgeous, aching love letter to stories, storytellers and the doors they lead us through . . . absolutely enchanting' Christina Henry, bestselling author of Alice ...
The 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared
Jonasson, Jonas
Paper Book
A larger-than-life old man with a fondness for vodka goes on an unexpected adventure in this whimsical novel -- perfect for fans of Forrest Gump and A Man Called Ove. The international publishing sensation -- more than six million copies...
Under the whispering door
Klune, TJ
Paper Book
A NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, AND INDIE BESTSELLER One of Buzzfeed's "Best Books of 2022"! An Indie Next Pick! A Locus Awards Top Ten Finalist for Fantasy Novel A Man Called Ove meets The Good Place in Under the...
The very secret society of irregular witches
Mandanna, Sangu
Paper Book
Mika Moon knows she has to hide her magic, and is used to keeping her head down with one exception: an online account, where she posts videos 'pretending' to be a witch. She thinks no one will take it seriously. But someone does. An unexpected message arrives, begging her to travel to the remote and...
The island of missing trees
Shafak, Elif
Paper Book
A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK Winner of the 2022 BookTube Silver Medal in Fiction * Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction "A wise novel of love and grief, roots and branches, displacement and home, faith and belief. Balm for our bruised times." --David Mitchell, author of...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.