2024 May Staff Picks

Check out what we've been reading/watching and loving! We think you'll enjoy them, too.

Updated April 30, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The last smile in Sunder City
Arnold, Luke
Paper Book
'Verve and charm in abundance' Andrew Caldecott, author of Rotherweird 'Sunder City [is] an evocative creation, it has echoes of Ankh-Morpork, but also a broken melancholy all of its own' SFX I'm...

Ashlee says: An entertaining mash-up of fantasy, noir, and dystopian fiction! If you are a fan of 'Legends and Lattes' and are open to a main character that is a little darker and edgier, this book is for you!

Also available as:

EBook

The Mona Lisa vanishes : a legendary painter, a shocking heist, and the birth of a global celebrity
Day, Nick
Paper Book
A "witty thriller" (The New York Times) for middle-grade readers about how the Mona Lisa was stolen from the Louvre, how the robbery made the portrait the most famous artwork in the world--and how the painting by Leonardo da Vinci should never have existed at all. ...

Gloria says: This was such an enjoyable middle grade nonfiction all about The Mona Lisa and Leonardo Da Vinci. The illustrations inside were also a fun bonus!

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

The women a novel
Hannah, Kristin
Paper Book
"Women can be heroes, too." When twenty-year-old nursing student Frances "Frankie" McGrath hears these unexpected words, it is a revelation. Raised on idyllic Coronado Island and sheltered by her conservative parents, she has always prided herself on doing the right thing, being a good girl. But in...

Jill says: An epic historical fiction tale that focuses on the crucial role of women nurses during the Vietnam War.

Maria says: Heartbreaking historical fiction! This story of women nurses from the Vietnam war and what they went through after the war ended ripped me open and had me sobbing, but was so much worth the read!

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

CD Audiobook

Large Print

A fate inked in blood
Jensen, danielle L.
Paper Book
THE NUMBER ONE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- A shield maiden blessed by the gods battles to unite a nation under a power-hungry king - while also fighting her growing desire for his fiery son -...

Maria says: An exciting fantasy with Norse Viking inspiration. It had me hooked with the twists, the fighting, the magic, the banter, and the chemistry!

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

Part of your world
Jimenez, Abby
Paper Book
'Jimenez is a true talent' Emily Henry, New York Times bestselling author of Beach Read The New York Times bestselling author of Life's Too Short delivers a refreshingly modern fairy tale perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Emily Henry....

Emma says: This dual perspective contemporary romance is cute and fun, yet isn't afraid to delve into the reality of being a survivor of emotional abuse. I loved seeing the female main character grow in resilience and bravery. I think fans of Emily Henry will enjoy this one!

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

CD Audiobook

How to stay married : the most insane love story ever told
Key, Harrison Scott
Paper Book
Harrison Scott Key, winner of the Thurber Prize for American Humor, tells the shocking, "shot through with sharp humor" (The Washington Post), spiritually profound story of his journey through hell and back when infidelity threatens his marriage. One gorgeous autumn day,...

Gloria says: A fascinating and hilarious story about marriage and faith. Would recommend the audiobook narrated by the author himself!

Also available as:

EBook

CD Audiobook

The scandalous confessions of Lydia Bennet, witch
Taub, Melinda
Paper Book
Miss Lydia Bennet may be the youngest, but what she lacks in maturity and responsibility, she more than makes up for in energy, fun - and magic. In this exuberant reimagining of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, Lydia Bennet puts pen to paper to relate the real events and...

Heather says: A fun reimagining of Pride and Prejudice from the youngest Bennet sister's perspective with a magical twist! I really enjoyed how the author wove aspects of the original plot of P&P into her more fantastical narrative.

Also available as:

EAudiobook


Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.