Great Story Time Reads

Books that make a big impression when read out loud!

Updated December 9, 2022
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!
Willems, Mo.
Paper Book
How to catch a gingerbread man
Wallace, Adam
Paper Book
From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling How to Catch series comes a new, funny and fantastical gingerbread man book for kids! Do you have what it takes to catch the Gingerbread Man? The famous storybook character has magically come to life and leapt from the pages during story...
How to catch a unicorn
Wallace, Adam
Paper Book
The #1 New York Times bestseller! Try to catch one of the world's most elusive mythical creatures-the unicorn-in this enchanting picture book for kids! From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling How to Catch series comes a dazzling new adventure! Filled with zany traps, STEAM...
Brown bear, brown bear, what do you see?
Martin, Bill.
Paper Book
With more than two million copies sold, Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? has opened up a world of learning to a generation of children. For this edition, created for the twenty-fifth anniversay in 1992, Bill Martin, Jr., restored his text to its original wording. And Eric Carle...
The watermelon seed
Pizzoli, Greg
Paper Book
With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love.
We're going on a bear hunt
Rosen, Michael
Paper Book
Go on a bear hunt and do the actions with this award-winning picture book classic. Follow and join in the family's excitement as they wade through the grass, splash through the river and squelch through the mud in search of a bear. What a surprise awaits them in the cave on the...
Caps for sale : a tale of a peddler, some monkeys and their monkey business
Slobodkina, Esphyr
Paper Book
Caps for Sale is a timeless classic beloved by millions...one of the most popular picture books ever published! This picture book is an excellent choice to share at home or in the classroom, as children love chanting along with the naughty monkeys. Children will delight...
Giraffes can't dance
Andreae, Giles
CD
Gerald is a giraffe who simply can't dance. Try as he may, his long, spindly legs buckle whenever he starts to boogy. Every year he dreads going to the Great Jungle Dance - until one night when he finds his own special music...
Not quite narwhal
Sima, Jessie
Paper Book
This New York Times bestseller is soon to be an animated series on Netflix! In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of...
Lola at the library
McQuinn, Anna
Paper Book
In this Lola Reads picture book, learn about the library, checking out books, and story time with Lola, as she discovers the joy of reading! Every Tuesday Lola and her mommy go to the library. Lola meets her friends there. They share books and don't have to be quiet all the...
Green eggs and ham
Seuss, Dr.
Paper Book
Join in the fun with Sam-I-Am in this iconic Dr. Seuss classic about the joy of trying new things. And don't miss the Netflix series adaptation!                                       ...
The good egg
John, Jory
Paper Book
A #1 New York Times bestseller! An Amazon Best Books of the Year 2019 selection! From the bestselling creators of The Bad Seed, a timely story about not having to be Grade A perfect! Meet the good egg. He's a verrrrrry good egg indeed. But...
Tiny T. Rex and the very dark dark
Stutzman, Jonathan
Paper Book
The adorable and indomitable Tiny T. Rex from the critically acclaimed Tiny T. Rex and The Impossible Hug is back in a tale about friendship and overcoming your fears. Meet Tiny T-Rex! He may be a small dino in a BIG world, but that won't stop him from making...
Edwina : the dinosaur who didn't know she was extinct
Willems, Mo.
Paper Book
Everyone in town knows Edwina. She is the dinosaur who plays with the kids. She is the dinosaur who helps little old ladies cross the street. And best of all, she bakes yummy chocolate-chip cookies. Everyone loves Edwinaexcept for Reginald Von Hoobie-Doobie. Reginald knows dinosaurs are extinct and...
The rainbow fish
Pfister, Marcus
Paper Book
For the youngest readers, the board book edition from the New York Times bestselling Rainbow Fish series. The award-winning book about a beautiful fish who finds friendship and happiness when he learns to share. Eye-catching foil stamping, glittering on every...
A hungry lion : or, a dwindling assortment of animals
Cummins, Lucy Ruth
Paper Book
"So smart and so cute and so dark all at the same time. Sheesh." --Caldecott medal and honor winner, Jon Klassen. Once upon a time there was a hungry lion and a bunch of adorable animals...what do you think happened next? There once was a hungry lion, a penguin...
Hilda must be dancing
Wilson, Karma.
Paper Book
Swisha-swisha Clap! Clap! Jump, Jump, Jump! "Hilda must be dancing!" Hilda Hippo loves to dance! But there's just one problem. When Hilda dances, it sounds like this: Ka-bump! Ka-bump! Crash! Crash! Crash! Thumpity-bump!
Stellaluna
Cannon, Janell
Paper Book
Stellaluna is a fruit bat, separated from her mother before she can fly. Looked after by birds, she learns about similarities, differences and the essence of friendship.
Harry, the dirty dog
Zion, Gene.
Paper Book
Don't miss Harry the Dirty Dog! This funny picture book about the strong-willed dog who really doesn't want a bath stands the test of time.  Harry the Dirty Dog has been recognized by the National Education Association as an all-time top-100 children's book. It...
How to catch a dinosaur
Wallace, Adam
Paper Book
From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling team comes a dinomite How to Catch adventure sure to delight any dinosaur fan, the perfect back to school gift! Do dinosaurs still walk among us? Sure, no one has seen one, but if alligators, whales, and even birds still exist, then...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.