Ghostly, Spooky Reads for Teens!

Wondering what to read to get into the super spooky mood for Halloween this year? Pick any one of these dark and atmospheric books to give you the spooky Halloween feel.

Updated September 28, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Five nights at Freddy's. the graphic novel / [Volume 1], The silver eyes
Cawthon, Scott
Don't miss the first-ever graphic novel for Five Nights at Freddy's, an adaptation of the #1 New York Times bestselling novel The Silver Eyes illustrated by fan-favorite game artist Claudia Schröder! Ten years after the horrific murders at Freddy Fazbear's Pizza that...
The whispering dark
Andrew, Kelly
"A haunting, dreamlike tale of sacrifice, love, and obsession." -- Cassandra Clare, #1 New York Times bestselling author. Delaney Meyers-Petrov is tired of being seen as fragile just because she's Deaf. So when she's accepted into a prestigious program at Godbole University...
The witchery
Isabelle, S.
"The Witchery is a dark, delicious delight. S. Isabelle is a debut to watch." -- Justina Ireland, New York Times bestselling author of Dread Nation The Haunting Season is here and the Wolves are awake. Haelsford, Florida, is a...
The getaway
Giles, Lamar
"Timely, thrilling, and gripping from start to finish. An absolute page-turner." --Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying Jay is living his best life at Karloff Country, one of the world's most famous resorts. He's got his family,...
Stalking Jack the Ripper
Maniscalco, Kerri
This #1 New York Times bestseller and deliciously creepy horror novel has a storyline inspired by the Ripper murders and an unexpected, blood-chilling conclusion. Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with a life of wealth...
The dark descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein
White, Kiersten
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR   "Inescapably compelling." --VICTORIA SCHWAB, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Invisible Life of Addie Larue <...
Pumpkinheads
Rowell, Rainbow
A 2020 Tayshas Reading List Selection A 2020 Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List Selection In Pumpkinheads, beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Rainbow Rowell and Eisner Award-winning artist Faith Erin Hicks have teamed up to create this...
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
Riggs, Ransom
The #1 New York Times best-selling series. A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage.A strange collection of very curious photographs.It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and...
Tales to keep you up at night
Poblocki, Dan
From the co-author of the #1 New York Times bestselling series The Magic Misfits comes a spectacularly creepy novel that will keep you up way past bedtime. Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark! "Grab a flashlight and a blanket-this lives up to its...
Animus
Revoy, Antoine J. D
The residents of a quiet Japanese neighborhood have slowly come to realize that inauspicious, paranormal forces are at play in the most unlikely of places: the local playground. Two friends, a young boy and girl, resolve to exorcise the evil that inhabit it, including a snaggle-toothed monster....
Stories to keep you alive despite vampires
Acker, Ben
This fourth wall-breaking middle grade collection of spooky, scary, and spoopy stories for fans of Lemony Snicket and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark might just help you survive the night in a house full of vampires. If you are reading this book, then you must be trapped...
Long live the Pumpkin Queen
Ernshaw, Shea
**THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER** Read Sally's story in this young adult companion to Tim Burton'sThe Nightmare Before Christmas written by New York Times best-selling author Shea Ernshaw. Jack and Sally are "truly...
Hollow
Watters, Shannon
Sleepy Hollow and queer romance meet in this coming-of-age tale from the co-creator of Lumberjanes! Isabel "Izzy" Crane and her family have just relocated to Sleepy Hollow, the town made famous by--and obsessed with--Washington Irving's legend of the Headless Horseman. But city...
Scary out there
Addison, Linda (Poet)
Multiple Bram Stoker Award-winning author Jonathan Maberry compiles more than twenty stories and poems--written by members of the Horror Writers Association--in this terrifying collection about worst fears. What scares you? Things that go bump in the night? Being irreversibly...
You're not supposed to die tonight
Bayron, Kalynn
The haunted
Vega, Danielle
Hendricks Becker-O'Malley is new in town, and she's bringing baggage with her. With a dark and wild past, Hendricks doesn't think the small town her parents moved her to has much to offer her in terms of excitement. She plans on laying low, but when she's suddenly welcomed into the popular crowd at...
The cemetery boys
Brewer, Z
Part Hitchcock, part Hinton, this first-ever stand-alone novel from Heather Brewer, New York Times bestselling author of the acclaimed Chronicles of Vladimir Tod series, uses classic horror elements to tell a darkly funny coming-of-age story about the dangerous power of belief and...
Amity
Ostow, Micol.
Here is a house of ruin and rage, of death and deliverance. Here is where I live, not living. Here is always mine. When Connor's family moves to Amity, a secluded house on the peaceful banks of New England's Concord River, his nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of...
Silver
Wooding, Chris
The final exam is survival.Paul is the new kid at Mortingham Boarding Academy, and he has a dark secret. Caitlyn admires Paul from afar and resents that he only has eyes for Erika. Erika thinks that she and Caitlyn are best friends, but she's wrong.Adam is a bully with a major chip on his shoulder...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.