Children's Book Suggestions | Citizenship Status

In honor of the UN's International Day of Migrants, here are a few books for young readers about the experiences of immigrants and refugees.

Updated November 30, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Refugee
Gratz, Alan
The award-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling novel from Alan Gratz tells the timely--and timeless--story of three different kids seeking refuge. A New York Times bestseller! JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration...

Three stories of refugees from different times and places that intertwine in present-day New York City. (Young Teen Fiction Grades 5-7)

WHEN STARS ARE SCATTERED
Jamieson, Victoria.
A National Book Award Finalist, this remarkable graphic novel is about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a former Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl. Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives in Dadaab,...

The Newbery Honor-winning comic artist Victoria Jamieson illustrates the moving story of two brothers in an African refugee camp. (Children's Graphic Novels Grades 3-5)

Other words for home
Warga, Jasmine
New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be...

An award-winning novel in verse about a tween girl who immigrates to Ohio after war breaks out in her native Syria. (Young Teen Fiction Grades 5-7)

C'est quoi un réfugié?
Gravel, Elise.

A colorful, straightforward guide to explaining this difficult topic to young children. (Children's Nonfiction Age 4-8)

Where will I live?
McCarney, Rosemary A.
Every child needs a home. Children need somewhere safe where they can be happy, eat their meals with their family, play with their toys, and go to sleep at night feeling unafraid. But many children all over the world have had to leave their homes because they are no longer safe. Because of war and...
A picture book that explores the questions refugee children may have, using photos of actual refugee children around the world. (Children's Nonfiction Age 4-8)
Stepping stones : a refugee family's journey
Ruurs, Margriet
Rama and her family, are forced to flee their once-peaceful village to escape the ravages of the civil war raging ever closer to their home With only what they can carry on their backs, Rama and her mother, father, grandfather and brother, Sami, set out to walk to freedom in Europe. This...

A narrative story that recounts an all-too-common refugee experience, illustrated with stone collages. (Children's Nonfiction Age 4-8)

ALONE: THE JOURNEYS OF THREE YOUNG REFUGEES
Tom, Paul.
Finalist, Governor General's Literary Award, Translation Each year, more than 400 minors arrive alone in Canada requesting refugee status. They arrive without their parents, accompanied by no adult at all. Alone relates the journey of three of them: Afshin, Alain and Patricia. Their...

Three unaccompanied child refugees arrive in Canada in this illustrated novel for older readers. Great for kids who prefer graphic novel hybrid-style storytelling. (Children's Nonfiction Age 10-14)


Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.