2SLGBTQIA+ Middle Grade Fiction

Books with 2SLGBTQIA+ stories written for middle-grade readers.

Updated June 13, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Alice Austen Lived Here
Gino, Alex
Paper Book
From the award-winning author of Melissa, a phenomenal novel about queerness past, present, and future. Sam is very in touch with their own queer identity. They're nonbinary, and their best friend, TJ, is nonbinary as well. Sam's family is very cool with it... as long as Sam...
Rabbit chase
LaPensě, Elizabeth
Paper Book
A BookRiot Don't-Miss 2022 Queer Graphic Novels & Memoirs * "Rabbit Chase is a welcome intersectional work for today's youth."--Traci Sorell, award-winning author of We Are Still Here! and At the Mountain's Base Anishinaabe culture and storytelling meet Alice in...
The Civil War of Amos Abernathy
Leali, Michael
Paper Book
An ALA Rainbow Book List Top 10 Selection * Golden Kite Award Winner * New York Public Library Best Books for Kids * ALA Booklist Top 10 First Novels for Youth * Jane Addams Award finalist * Lambda Literary Award Finalist A heartfelt debut novel about a boy's attempt to find himself in the...
To Night Owl from Dogfish
Sloan, Holly Goldberg
Paper Book
From two extraordinary authors comes a moving, exuberant, laugh-out-loud novel about friendship and family, told entirely in emails and letters. Avery Bloom, who's bookish, intense, and afraid of many things, particularly deep water, lives in New York City. Bett Devlin, who's...
Zenobia July
Bunker, Lisa
Paper Book
The critically acclaimed author of Felix Yz crafts a bold, heartfelt story about a trans girl solving a cyber mystery and coming into her own. Zenobia July is starting a new life. She used to live in Arizona with her father; now she's in Maine with her aunts. She used to...
King and the dragonflies
Callender, Kacen
Paper Book
A 2021 Coretta Scott King Honor Book! Winner of the 2020 National Book Award for Young People's Literature! Winner of the 2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Fiction and Poetry! In a small but turbulent Louisiana town, one boy's grief takes him...
Different Kinds of Fruit
Lukoff, Kyle
Paper Book
In this funny and hugely heartfelt novel from the Newbery Honor-winning author of Too Bright to See, a sixth-grader's life is turned upside down when she learns her dad is trans Annabelle Blake fully expects this school year to be the same as every other- same teachers,...
Pet
Emezi, Akwaeke
Paper Book
NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * STONEWALL BOOK AWARD WINNER * ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE'S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by The New York Times * Time * Buzzfeed * NPR * New York Public Library * Publishers...
Hurricane season
Melleby, Nicole
Paper Book
"Fig Arnold is an original and irresistible heroine in a story full of hope, art, and love." --R. J. Palacio, author of Wonder "A thoughtful portrayal of mental illness with queer content that avoids coming-out clichés." --Kirkus Reviews<...
Kenzie kickstarts a team
Rosewater, Kit
Paper Book
A highly illustrated middle-grade series that celebrates new friendships, first crushes, and getting out of your comfort zone Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and Shelly (aka Bomb Shell) have dreamed of becoming roller derby superstars. When Austin's city league...
Drum roll, please
Bigelow, Lisa Jenn
Paper Book
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel. One of Time Out's "LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month", this is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's Better Nate Than Ever! Melly only...
Ivy Aberdeen's letter to the world
Blake, Ashley Herring
Paper Book
In the wake of a destructive tornado, Ivy Aberdeen develops feelings for another girl in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish. When a tornado rips through town, twelve-year-old Ivy Aberdeen's house...
The best at it
Pancholy, Maulik
Paper Book
From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. One of Time Out's "LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month," this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle's Nate series. A ...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.