2023 Books for Kids: Latine & Hispanic Heritage Month

Updated September 7, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Platanos Go with Everything
Norman, Lissette
Paper Book
Paletero Man meets Fry Bread in this vibrant and cheerful ode to plátanos, the star of Dominican cuisine, written by award-winning poet Lissette Norman, illustrated by Sara Palacios, and translated by Kianny N. Antigua. Plátanos are Yesenia's favorite food....
Our Roof Is Blue
Echenique, Sara E.
Paper Book
This heartfelt story of resilience follows two siblings as they work to recover and rebuild after Hurricane Irma destroys their home in Puerto Rico. Before an intense hurricane hits their home in Puerto Rico, Antonio told his sister vibrant stories each night. During the storm,...
Mariana and Her Familia
Mancillas, Monica
Paper Book
A heartwarming picture book about a young girl on her first trip to visit family in Mexico, who learns there is no language barrier when it comes to love--from debut author Mónica Mancillas and rising star illustrator Erika Meza. Perfect for fans of Where Are You From and Mango,...
A Crown for Corina
Kemp, Laekan Zea
Paper Book
A charming story about a girl who learns a beloved family tradition and the symbolism behind the Mexican flower crown, from two Pura Belpré award-winning creators. Today is Corina's birthday, and she's excited to wear the biggest crown with the most...
Baking with Mi Abuelita
Mora, Julissa
Paper Book
Family traditions are special, especially when they include baking a "delicioso" cake with your abuelita! This Step 2 Reader includes some words in Spanish! It's Papi's birthday! Which means it's time to get in the kitchen and bake the traditional family cake - Tres Leches!...
Aniana del Mar Jumps in
Mendez, Jasminne
Paper Book
Pura Belpre Author Honor Award ** Four starred reviews!** A powerful and expertly told novel in verse about a twelve-year-old Dominican American swimmer who is diagnosed with Juvenile Arthritis by an award-winning poet. Aniana del Mar belongs in the water like...
Abuela's Super Capa
Siqueira, Ana
Paper Book
A heartwarming bilingual picture book about a young boy who learns to accept that Abuela needs to retire her super capa.  Saturdays are superhero days. Equipped with their milkshakes and capas, Luis and his abuela can turn anything into an adventure. But when Abuela gets sick,...
Platanos Go with Everything
Norman, Lissette
Paper Book
Paletero Man meets Fry Bread in this vibrant and cheerful ode to plátanos, the star of Dominican cuisine, written by award-winning poet Lissette Norman, illustrated by Sara Palacios, and translated by Kianny N. Antigua. Plátanos are Yesenia's favorite food....
Something Like Home
Arango, Andrea Beatriz
Paper Book
The Pura Belpré Honor winning novel in verse, in which a lost dog helps a lonely girl find a way home to her family . . . only for them to find family in each other along the way. From the Newbery Honor winning author of Iveliz Explains It All. "Trust me: this book will touch...
Spanish Is the Language of My Family
Genhart, Michael
Paper Book
An intergenerational story of family ties, cultural pride, and spelling bee victory following a young boy who bonds with his beloved abuela over a love of Spanish. As a boy prepares for his school's Spanish spelling bee, he asks his grandmother for help with some of the words he...
Frizzy
Ortega, Claribel A.
Paper Book
Winner of the Pura Belpré Award for Children's Text Winner of the Eisner for Best Publication for Kids Indie Bestseller New York Times-bestselling author Claribel A. Ortega and star debut artist Rose Bousamra's Frizzy is about Marlene, a...
Reina Ramos works it out
Otheguy, Emma
Paper Book
"A sparkling tale starring a resilient young protagonist" --Kirkus (starred review) Reina Ramos Works It Out is a Level Two I Can Read story about Reina Ramos, a loyal friend whose high-spirited antics sometimes cause chaos, but who always finds a way to make things right....
Barely floating
Rivera, Lilliam
Paper Book
A dazzling story full of heart about how one twelve-year-old channels her rage into synchronized swimming dreams, from the author of The Education of Margot Sanchez and Never Look Back, Lilliam Rivera. Natalia de la Cruz Rivera y Santiago, also known as Nat, was...
Platanos Are Love
Reynoso-Morris, Alyssa
Paper Book
A delicious picture book about the ways plantains shape Latinx culture, community, and family, told through a young girl's experiences in the kitchen with her abuela. Abuela says, "plátanos are love." I thought they were food. But Abuela says they feed us in more...

Check out our 2020 list with books featuring Latinx characters!

Books for children in celebration of National Hispanic and Latinx Heritage Month.

Books for children in celebration of National Hispanic and Latinx Heritage Month.

La Guitarrista
Diaz, Lucky
Paper Book
From the creators of Paletero Man--Latin Grammy-winning musician Lucky Diaz and celebrated artist Micah Player--comes a story about a tenacious girl who achieves her wildest dreams with a little help from her community and a broken guitar....
Puppy Love
Soto, Gary
Paper Book
A sweetly humorous middle grade novel packed with action, basketball, and a dash of magical realism about friendship and family, first crushes, and belonging, from acclaimed author Gary Soto. Thirteen-year-old Jordan Mendoza has a huge crush on his classmate, Sierra, but he's...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.