Suggested Reading for 6th Grade

Suggested Reading for 6th Grade

Updated October 19, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
A black hole is not a hole : updated and expanded edition
DeCristofano, Carolyn Cinami
A black hole isn't really a hole . . . is it? Get ready to S-T-R-E-T-C-H your mind with this beloved and best-selling science book. Updated with an all-new chapter about the first black-hole image ever! What are black holes, what causes them, and how the heck did scientists...
Freewater
Luqman-Dawson, Amina
Winner of the John Newbery Medal Winner of the Coretta Scott King Author Award  An Indiebound Bestseller A New York Times Bestseller Award-winning author Amina Luqman-Dawson pens a lyrical,...
Red, white, and whole
Larocca, Rajani
Newbery Honor Book! A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia. * Walter Award Winner * New England Book Award Winner * An NCTE Notable Verse Novel * Golden Kite Award...
Hatchet
Paulsen, Gary.
Alone Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson is on his way to visit his father when the single engine plane in which he is flying crashes. Suddenly, Brian finds himself alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother has given him as a...
The night diary
Hiranandani, Veera
A 2019 NEWBERY HONOR BOOK "A gripping, nuanced story of the human cost of conflict appropriate for both children and adults." -Kirkus, starred review In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a...
When you reach me
Stead, Rebecca.
"Like A Wrinkle in Time (Miranda's favorite book), When You Reach Me far surpasses the usual whodunit or sci-fi adventure to become an incandescent exploration of 'life, death, and the beauty of it all.'" --The Washington Post   This...
Crash
Spinelli, Jerry.
Newbery medalist Jerry Spinelli tackles the tale of cocky seventh-grade super-jock Crash Coogan, who got his nickname the day he used his first football helmet to knock his cousin Bridget flat on her backside.  And he has been running over people ever since, especially Penn Webb, the dweeby,...
Invisible
Gonzalez, Christina Diaz
A USA TODAY and Indie Bestseller! For fans of New Kid and Allergic, a must-have graphic novel about five very different students who are forced together by their school to complete community service... and may just have more in common than they thought. ...
Lights, camera, middle school!
Holm, Jennifer L.
Watch out, middle school! Babymouse graduates from graphic novels in the first of the Babymouse Tales from the Locker series--now in paperback!   For Babymouse, middle school is like a monster movie. You can never be sure who's a friend and who's an enemy, and the halls are filled...
Half Moon investigations
Colfer, Eoin.
Fletcher Moon has never been like other kids. For one thing, he has had to suffer the humiliating nickname - Half Moon- because of his short stature. But the real reason Fletcher is different is that ever since he was a baby he's had a nose for sniffing out mysteries. And let's just say, it's not a...
We dream of space
Kelly, Erin Entrada
A Newbery Honor Book * BookPage Best Books * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction * Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee * Horn Book Fanfare * New York Times Notable Children's Book * School Library Journal Best Book * Today Show Pick * An ALA Notable Book "A 10 out of 10 . . . Anyone...
All thirteen : the incredible cave resuce of the Thai boys' soccer team
Soontornvat, Christina
Winner of the 2021 Kirkus Prize for Young People's Literature A 2021 Newbery Honor Book A 2021 Robert F. Sibert Honor Book A 2021 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Finalist A 2021 Orbis Pictus Honor Book A unique account...
Ghostlight
Oppel, Kenneth
One teen's summer job scaring tourists with ghost stories takes a terrifying turn when he accidentally summons the spirit of a dead girl--and she has demands. . . .   The award-winning author of Airborn delivers a roller-coaster ride of a story about the wakeful and...
Raymie nightingale
DiCamillo, Kate
A 2016 National Book Award Finalist! As featured on The Today Show's Read with Jenna Jr. Book Club Two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving, masterful story of an unforgettable summer friendship. Raymie...
Ella enchanted
Levine, Gail Carson.
This beloved Newbery Honor-winning story about a feisty heroine is sure to enchant readers new and old.  At her birth, Ella of Frell receives a foolish fairy's gift--the "gift" of obedience. Ella must obey any order, whether it's to hop on one foot for a day and a half, or to chop off...
The magnificent monsters of Cedar Street
Oliver, Lauren
From the bestselling author of E. B. White Read-Aloud Honor Book Liesl & Po comes a timely and relevant adventure story about monsters of all kinds--and a girl brave enough to save them. Cordelia Clay loves the work she and her father do together: saving and healing the remarkable...
Dragon pearl
Lee, Yoon Ha
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Yoon Ha Lee's space opera about thirteen-year-old Min, who comes from a long line of fox spirits. But you'd never know it by looking at her. To keep the family safe, Min's mother insists that none of them use any fox-magic, such as...
Spindlefish and stars
Andrews, Christiane M.
This spellbinding fantasy about a girl from the shadows and a boy from the sea is perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and The Book of Boy. In which a story is spun. And unspun. Clothilde has...
Maya and the rising Dark
Barron, Rena
In this highly anticipated contemporary fantasy, twelve-year-old Maya's search for her missing father puts her at the center of a battle between our world, the Orishas, and the mysterious and sinister Dark world. Perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time and The Serpent's...
Booked
Alexander, Kwame
In this electrifying follow-up to Kwame Alexander's Newbery winner The Crossover, soccer, family, love, and friendship take center stage. A New York Times bestseller and National Book Award Longlist nominee, now in a graphic novel edition featuring art from Dawud Anyabwile. ...
Remarkables
Haddix, Margaret Peterson
New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix, the master of cliffhangers, delivers a pulse-pounding mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline West and Kat Yeh, full of secrets, surprises, and the power of family. One minute they're there: laughing and having fun at the house...
Free lunch
Ogle, Rex
Winner of the 2020 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award. Instead of giving him lunch money, Rex's mom has signed him up for free meals. As a poor kid in a wealthy school district, better-off kids crowd impatiently behind him as he tries to explain to the cashier that he's on the...
The view from Saturday
Konigsburg, E. L.
From the Newbery Medal-winning author of the beloved classic From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler comes four jewel-like short stories--one for each of the team members of an Academic Bowl team--that ask questions and demonstrate surprising answers. How had...
New kid
Craft, Jerry
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature!  Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.