2024 ALA Youth Media Award Winners & Honorees

Check out the full list here!

Updated February 1, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Accountable: The True Story of a Racist Social Media Account and the Teenagers Whose Lives It Changed
Slater, Dashka
Paper Book
YALSA AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN NONFICTION WINNER ● From the New York Times-bestselling author of The 57 Bus comes Accountable, a propulsive and thought-provoking true story about the revelation of a racist social media account that changes everything for...
Eagle Drums
Hopson, Nasugraq Rainey
Paper Book
**A NEWBERY HONOR BOOK** A magical realistic middle grade debut about the origin story of the Iñupiaq Messenger Feast, a Native Alaskan tradition. As his family prepares for winter, a young, skilled hunter must travel up the mountain to collect obsidian for...
Family Style: Memories of an American from Vietnam
Pham, Thien
Paper Book
YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction Finalist School Library Journal Best Books of the Year Barnes and Noble Best New Books of the Year A moving young adult graphic memoir about a Vietnamese immigrant boy's search for belonging in America,...
I'd Rather Burn Than Bloom
Rogers, Shannon C. F.
Paper Book
Packed with voice, Shannon C.F. Rogers' I'd Rather Burn than Bloom is a powerful YA novel about a Filipina-American teen who tries to figure out who she really is in the wake of her mother's death. Some girls call their mother their best friend. Marisol Martin? She...
Impossible Escape: A True Story of Survival and Heroism in Nazi Europe
Sheinkin, Steve
Paper Book
From three-time National Book Award finalist and Newbery Honor author Steve Sheinkin, a true story of two Jewish teenagers racing against time during the Holocaust--one in hiding in Hungary, and the other in Auschwitz, plotting escape. It is 1944. A teenager named Rudolf (Rudi...
Jumper: A Day in the Life of a Backyard Jumping Spider
Lanan, Jessica
Paper Book
From critically acclaimed illustrator of The Lost Package comes a bold nonfiction story following a day in the life of a backyard jumping spider - meticulously researched and utterly charming. What if you were small as a bean, Could walk on the walls and...
Promise Boys
Brooks, Nick
Paper Book
Promise Boys is a blockbuster, dark academia mystery about three teens of color who must investigate their principal's murder to clear their own names. This page-turning thriller is perfect for fans of Karen McManus, Jason Reynolds, Angie Thomas, and Holly Jackson<...
Saints of the Household
Tison, Ari
Paper Book
Winner of the Pura Belpré Award and Walter Dean Myers Award for Young Adult Literature! Saints of the Household is a haunting contemporary YA about an act of violence in a small-town--beautifully told by a debut Indigenous Costa Rican-American writer--that...
The Truth about Dragons
Leung, Julie
Paper Book
A Caldecott Honor Winner Winner of the Asian Pacific American Award for Literature An unforgettable lyrical picture book that celebrates biracial identity from the award-winning author of Paper Son: The Inspiring Story of Tyrus Wong,...
Warrior Girl Unearthed
Boulley, Angeline
Paper Book
An Instant New York Times bestseller! A #1 Indies Bestseller!A Publisher's Lunch Best YA of 2023! An Amazon Best Book of the Year!Winner of the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award!A Horn Book Fanfare Title! A BookPage Best...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.