2024 Summer Reading Suggestions: Grades 3-5

Looking for a great read this summer? Check out our youth librarian team's recommendations! Learn more about summer reading at the library: https://www.clackamas.us/lib/summer-reading-program

Updated May 28, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Blood City Rollers
Anderson, V. P.
Paper Book
Skates on. Fangs out. Let's roll. This perfectly paranormal graphic novel about a 13-year-old ice skater who embraces the dark side and finds her light when she joins a vampire roller derby team is to die for. Ice-skater Mina is on a one-track path to Olympic gold and...
Camp Sylvania
Murphy, Julie
Paper Book
From Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin', comes a hilarious and creepy middle grade summer camp story that takes a bite out of fat camp and diet culture. Perfect for fans of Spooky Stories and Starfish. Magnolia "Maggie" Hagen is determined to...

Also available as:

EBook

Get the sequel:

Camp Sylvania: Moon Madness

Dogtown
Applegate, Katherine
Paper Book
Now a New York Times bestseller, an Indie bestseller, and an Amazon Best Children's Book! From beloved authors Katherine Applegate and Gennifer Choldenko and with illustrations by Wallace West, Dogtown is at once an uplifting story and a page-turning adventure, sure to find a...

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

Duel
Bagley, Jessixa
Paper Book
A rivalry between sisters culminates in a fencing duel in this funny and emotional debut graphic novel sure to appeal to readers of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale. Sixth grader Lucy loves fantasy novels and is brand-new to middle school. GiGi is the undisputed queen bee of...
Four eyes
Ogle, Rex
Paper Book
A humorous and heartwarming middle-grade graphic memoir about fitting in, facing bullies, and finding the right pair of glasses. Sixth grade isn't as great as Rex thought it would be. He's the only kid who hasn't had a growth spurt, and the bullies won't let him forget it. His...

Also available as:

EBook

Hide and seeker
Hermon, Daka
Paper Book
One of our most iconic childhood games receives a creepy twist as it becomes the gateway to a nightmare world.I went up the hill, the hill was muddy, stomped my toe and made it bloody, should I wash it?Justin knows that something is wrong with his best friend.Zee went missing for a year. And...

Also available as:

EAudiobook

Get the sequel:

Nightmare King

The Deadlands: Hunted
Melki-Wegner, Skye
Paper Book
Wings of Fire meets Jurassic Park in this action-adventure middle grade debut series by Skye Melki-Wegner about five outcasts--and former enemies--who are the only hope to save their warring kingdoms from impending doom. "My favorite...

Get the whole series:

The Deadlands

Last Laugh
Alexander, K. R.
Paper Book
What's scarier than a collection of clown dolls in a secret locked room? How about... those clown dolls coming to life. And hunting you down.
Max in the House of Spies: A Tale of World War II
Gidwitz, Adam
Paper Book
An instant New York Times bestseller! "Max in the House of Spiesis everything you could hope for in a book," -R. J. Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder, White Bird,and Pony "Espionage! Secrets! Suspense! If you've ever...

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

Not Quite a Ghost
Ursu, Anne
Paper Book
From the award-winning author of The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy comes an unforgettable and deeply personal story of the ghosts that surround us--and the ones we carry inside. The house seemed to sit apart from the others on Katydid Street, silent and alone, like it didn't fit among...

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

Picture day
Sax, Sarah
Paper Book
Everyone knows the most stressful day of middle school is picture day! And that's exactly where this yearbook-worthy graphic novel series opener begins: with reinventing yourself, drama, popularity, and the friends who see you through. Seventh-grader Viv never looks...

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

The secret language of birds
Kelly, Lynne
Paper Book
An instant USA Today bestseller! From the award-winning author of Song for a Whale comes a poignant and heartwarming tale about a girl who discovers a pair of endangered birds about to lay eggs in the marshes of her summer camp...and the secret plan she hatches to help them.

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook


Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.