Star of the North Award Nominees 2025

Updated June 14, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Beneath
Doerrfeld, Cori
Paper Book
In this stunning story from New York Times bestselling creator Cori Doerrfeld, a child and their grandfather take a walk in the woods and discover more about themselves. Finn is in a horrible mood and doesn't want to talk about it. After some persuading, though, they...
A Delicious Story
Saltzberg, Barney
Paper Book
"You atethe story?" says one mouse to the other in this funny, heartfelt read-aloud with pitch-perfect repartee and Barney Saltzberg's signature take on the joys of creativity. Two mice-one big and one small-have a terrible problem. Little Mouse is looking for a story-they...
Browse, borrow, and enjoy titles from the MELSA: Twin Cities Metro eLibrary digital collection.
Song in the City
Bernstrom, Daniel
Paper Book
From Daniel Bernstrom, the acclaimed author of One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree, comes a charming and irresistibly fun picture book about a young blind girl and her grandmother who experience the vibrant everyday music of their busy city. A young girl, filled with...
My Powerful Hair
Lindstrom, Carole
Paper Book
Our ancestors say our hair is our memories, our source of strength and power, a celebration of our lives.
Browse, borrow, and enjoy titles from the MELSA: Twin Cities Metro eLibrary digital collection.
Jumper: A Day in the Life of a Backyard Jumping Spider
Lanan, Jessica
Paper Book
From critically acclaimed illustrator of The Lost Package comes a bold nonfiction story following a day in the life of a backyard jumping spider - meticulously researched and utterly charming. What if you were small as a bean, Could walk on the walls and...
Browse, borrow, and enjoy titles from the MELSA: Twin Cities Metro eLibrary digital collection.
Just One Flake
Jonker, Travis
Paper Book
"A satisfying snow day saga." --Kirkus A Good Housekeeping Best Book Just One Flake is a hilarious celebration of wintertime, curiosity, and outdoor play in this author-illustrated picture book debut from acclaimed creator and elementary school...
Browse, borrow, and enjoy titles from the MELSA: Twin Cities Metro eLibrary digital collection.
Browse, borrow, and enjoy titles from the MELSA: Twin Cities Metro eLibrary digital collection.
Browse, borrow, and enjoy titles from the MELSA: Twin Cities Metro eLibrary digital collection.
Our Pool
Cummins, Lucy Ruth
Paper Book
On a hot day, people come from all over the city to spend the day at the pool in this joyful picture book that's a love song to summer, the city, community, and staying cool! Today is a pool day in the city! The sun is shining, so what are you waiting for? Friends and family....
Browse, borrow, and enjoy titles from the MELSA: Twin Cities Metro eLibrary digital collection.
The Red Jacket
Holt, Bob
Paper Book
Perfect for fans of Jory John and Pete Oswald's The Bad Seed and Jon Klassen's I Want My Hat Back! Bob loves his red jacket. The red jacket makes him feel swanky cool. The red jacket makes other seagulls notice him and even speak to him. But when a wave...
The Together Tree
Saeed, Aisha
Paper Book
All Are Welcome meets Be Kind in this poignant and accessible picture book about the power every bystander--no matter how small--has to extend kindness and stand up in the face of intolerance. At his new school, quiet Rumi feels small and unwelcome, and a few kids...
Browse, borrow, and enjoy titles from the MELSA: Twin Cities Metro eLibrary digital collection.

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.