Time for Departure! Travel books for teens

Enjoy this list of teen books that follow the theme for our SweetBean Reading Challenge in July!

Updated June 14, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
13 little blue envelopes
Johnson, Maureen
Paper Book
When Ginny receives thirteen little blue envelopes and instructions to buy a plane ticket to London, she knows something exciting is going to happen. What Ginny doesn't know is that she will have the adventure of her life and it will change her in more ways than one. Life and love are waiting for...
Darius the Great is not okay
Khorram, Adib
Paper Book
Darius doesn't think he'll ever be enough, in America or in Iran. Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut introduces a brilliant new voice in contemporary YA. Winner of the William C. Morris Debut Award "Heartfelt, tender, and so utterly real. I'd live...
Dear Haiti, love Alaine
Moulite, Maika
Paper Book
"I couldn't put Dear Haiti, Love Alaine down!" --New York Times bestselling author Jasmine Guillory Co-written by sisters Maika and Maritza Moulite, this exceptional debut novel captures a sparkling new voice and irrepressible heroine in a story sure to...
Forward Me Back to You
Perkins, Mitali
Paper Book
The award-winning author of You Bring the Distant Near explores identity, homecoming, and the legacy of assault in this personal and ambitious new novel. Katina King is the reigning teen jujitsu champion of Northern California, but she's having trouble fighting off the...
Hope is our only wing
Tavengerwei, Rutendo
Paper Book
Set in Zimbabwe, Rutendo Tavengerwei's unforgettable novel offers a beautiful and honest look at adolescence, friendship, and the capacity for courage.   For fifteen-year-old Shamiso, hope is nothing but a leap into darkness. Grief-stricken and confused after her father's...
How it all blew up
Ahmadi, Arvin
Paper Book
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy in Arvin Ahmadi's newest incisive look at identity and what it means to find yourself by running away. Eighteen-year-old Amir Azadi always knew coming out to his Muslim family would be messy--he just didn't think it would end...
Kisses and croissants
Jouhanneau, Anne-Sophie
Paper Book
As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix's Emily in Paris. Mia Jenrow has always known she's destined to be a...
Love & gelato
Welch, Jenna Evans
Paper Book
Now a movie streaming on Netflix! A New York Times bestseller A summer in Italy turns into a road trip across Tuscany in this sweeping debut novel filled with romance, mystery, and adventure. Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she...
I love you so mochi
Kuhn, Sarah (Author)
Paper Book
Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Kasie West, I Love You So Mochi is a delightfully sweet and irrepressibly funny novel from accomplished author Sarah Kuhn."As sweet and satisfying as actual mochi... a tender love story wrapped up in food, fashion, and family. I gobbled it up."...
Loveboat, Taipei
Wen, Abigail Hing
Paper Book
An instant New York Times bestseller and Indie bestseller! Now adapted for the screen! Catch Love in Taipei, starring Ashley Liao (Physical, Fresh Off the Boat), Ross Butler (To All the Boys I've Loved Before franchise, Shazam!), Nico Hiraga (Booksmart), and Chelsea Zhang (Daybreak), now...
Now a major motion picture
McCarthy, Cori
One great lie
Caletti, Deb
Paper Book
Four starred reviews! A "quietly triumphant" (Horn Book Magazine) and atmospheric YA story of romance, mystery, and power about a young woman discovering her strength in lush, sultry Venice--from the Printz Honor-winning author of A Heart in a Body in the World.<...
One True Loves
Bryant, Elise
Ebook
From the author of Happily Ever Afters comes another irresistible YA romantic comedy full of self-discovery and Black love--and a dreamy European cruise. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han, with crossover appeal for readers of Jasmine Guillory and Talia Hibbert romances. ...
Patron saints of nothing
Ribay, Randy
Paper Book
A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST "Brilliant, honest, and equal parts heartbreaking and soul-healing." --Laurie Halse Anderson, author of SHOUT  "A singular voice in the world of literature." --Jason Reynolds, author of Long Way Down A...
The prince & the apocalypse : a novel
McDowell, Kara
Paper Book
An American teen stranded in London is forced to team up with the British crown prince if she wants to make it back home before the end of the world in this delightfully rompy high-stakes rom-com. Wren Wheeler has flown five thousand miles across the ocean to discover she's the...
Start here
Doller, Trish
Paper Book
Two teens go on a life-changing sailing trip as they deal with the grief of losing their best friend in this heartwrenching, hopeful novel from the author of Something Like Normal and In a Perfect World. Willa and Taylor were supposed to spend the summer after high...
Tokyo ever after
Jean, Emiko
Paper Book
Emiko Jean's New York Times bestseller and Reese Book Club Pick Tokyo Ever After is the "refreshing, spot-on" (Booklist, starred review) story of an ordinary Japanese American girl who discovers that her father is the Crown Prince of Japan! Izumi Tanaka...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.