Science Fiction

Updated December 6, 2022
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The City Inside
Basu, Samit
Paper Book
A Best SFF of 2022 pick by The Washington Post | Book Riot | Quill to Live The City Inside, a near-future epic by the internationally celebrated Samit Basu, pulls no punches as it comes for your anxieties about society, government, the...
The cruel stars : a novel
Birmingham, John
Paper Book
In this epic sci-fi adventure for fans of The Expanse and Battlestar Galactica, five intrepid heroes must unite to save civilization after a long-dormant enemy awakens and strikes a devastating blow "This jarring, engrossing story of a species-wide fight for...
The Moonday Letters
Itaranta, Emmi
Paper Book
An effortlessly rich and lyrical mystery wrapped in a love story that bends space, time, myth and science, perfect for fans of Octavia Butler and Emily St. John Mandel. Sol has disappeared. Their Earth-born wife Lumi sets out to find them but it is no simple feat: each clue...
The vanished birds
Jimenez, Simon
Paper Book
A "highly imaginative and utterly exhilarating" (Thrillist) debut that is "the best of what science fiction can be: a thought-provoking, heartrending story about the choices that define our lives" (Kirkus Reviews, Best Debut Fiction and Best Science Fiction & Fantasy of...
Velocity weapon
O'Keefe, Megan E.
Paper Book
NOMINATED FOR THE PHILIP K. DICK AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL * Dazzling space battles, intergalactic politics, and rogue AI collide in Velocity Weapon, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy by award-winning author Megan O'Keefe. Sanda...
Goliath
Onyebuchi, Tochi
Paper Book
A New York Times Editors' Choice Pick! A Best Book of the Year for Time | NPR | The Guardian | Gizmodo| Portalist | New York Public Library A Most Anticipated Pick for USA Today | Bustle | Buzzfeed | Goodreads | Nerdist | io9 | WBUR |...
Self-Portrait with Nothing
Pokwatka, Aimee
Paper Book
Orphan Black meets Fringe in a story that reminds us that living our best life sometimes means embracing the imperfect one we already have. "Fraught and deeply moving...the work of a genuinely exciting new talent." --Booker Prize winner, George Saunders. ...
New model army
Roberts, Adam
Paper Book
Adam Roberts' new novel is a terrifying vision of a near future war - a civil war that tears the UK apart as new technologies allow the world's first truly democratic army to take on the British army and wrest control from the powers that be. Taking advances in modern communication...
New York 2140
Robinson, Kim Stanley
Paper Book
New York Times bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson returns with a bold and brilliant vision of New York City in the next century. As the sea levels rose, every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island. For the residents of one apartment building in Madison...
January Fifteenth
Swirsky, Rachel
Paper Book
"One of the best speculative writers of the last decade."--John Scalzi A Philip K. Dick Award nominee! January Fifteenth--the day all Americans receive their annual Universal Basic Income payment. For Hannah, a middle-aged mother, today...
Children of time
Tchaikovsky, Adrian
Paper Book
WINNER OF THE 2016 ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARDThe last remnants of the human race left a dying Earth, desperate to find a new home among the stars. Following in the footsteps of their ancestors, they discover the greatest treasure of the past age - a world terraformed and prepared for human life...
Hard reboot
Wexler, Django
Paper Book
Django Wexler's Hard Reboot features giant mech arena battles and intergalactic diplomacy. When did academia get to be so complicated? Kas is a junior researcher on a fact-finding mission to old Earth. But when a con-artist tricks her into wagering a large sum of money...
Skyward Inn
Whiteley, Aliya
Paper Book
A thoughtful, literary novel about conflict, identity and community, after Earth makes contact with the seemingly harmless planet Qita. ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD FINALIST 2022 Drink down the brew and dream of a better Earth. Skyward Inn,...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.