Suggested Reading for 2nd Grade

Suggested Reading for 2nd Grade

Updated October 17, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Endlessly Ever After: Pick Your Path to Countless Fairy Tale Endings!
Snyder, Laurel
Paper Book
This funny, original, choose-your-path picture book of fractured fairy tales will charm any young fan of the genre, putting the power of storytelling right in the reader's hands! Grab your basket and your coat. Put on some walking shoes. Turn the page...
Fly Guy and Fly Girl: Friendly Frenzy
Arnold, Tedd
Paper Book
Fly Guy and Fly Girl have a scary SURPRIZZZE in the park! Buzz and Fly Guy see Liz and Fly Girl in the park. Up in a tree, they meet a boy named Carlos, who introduces them to his pet lizard, Annie. But where have Fly Guy and Fly Girl gone...? Featuring appealing stories and fun...
Evergreen
Cordell, Matthew
Paper Book
A picture book by Caldecott medal winner Matt Cordell about a timid squirrel who makes a brave journey to help a relative who is ill. Evergreen the squirrel is afraid of many things: thunder, hawks, and the dark paths of Buckthorn Forest. But when her mother tasks Evergreen...
Our friend hedgehog : the story of us
Castillo, Lauren
Paper Book
From a Caldecott Honor-winning artist comes a cozy classic-in-the-making about finding your friends and sticking together through thick and thin. "Our Friend Hedgehogfeels like a modern-day Winnie the Pooh. It's so warm and full of joy and love. It's got classic written...
Kraken Me Up
Ebbeler, Jeffrey
Paper Book
Izzie and her unusual pet make a big splash at the county fair in this punny easy reader comic from a beloved children's book illustrator and comics artist. Izzie can't wait to debut her pet at the county fair. While the other children have brought pigs or chickens, Izzie brought...
Sir Ladybug
Tabor, Corey R.
Paper Book
From Caldecott Honoree and two-time Geisel Award-winning author-illustrator Corey R. Tabor, this is a fresh and funny young graphic novel series sure to delight readers. Perfect for fans of Catwad, Bird & Squirrel, and Narwhal & Jelly. Ladies and gentlebugs, presenting the...
My Pet Feet
Funk, Josh
Paper Book
When the letter R suddenly vanishes, a whole town goes upside-down in this side-splitting picture book of alphabet chaos that's Can I Be Your Dog? meets P Is for Pterodactyl. A little girl wakes up one day to find that R, a vital piece of the alphabet,...
The big adventures of Babymouse. 1, Once upon a messy whisker
Holm, Jennifer L.
Paper Book
Meet Babymouse--the spunky mouse beloved by young readers for more than a decade! Babymouse learns to be careful what you wish for in this BIG, FULL-COLOR graphic novel series, perfect for young readers who love to laugh! This larger-than-life young graphic novel, full of humor and fun,...
Fortunately, the milk
Gaiman, Neil.
Paper Book
An absolute delight of a madcap story for the young (and young-at-heart) by New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman, with equal parts pirates and piranhas, adventure and aliens, oddity and love. "I bought the milk," said my father. "I walked out of the corner shop...
Bunnicula : a rabbit tale of mystery
Howe, Deborah.
Paper Book
THIS book is written by Harold. His full time occupation is dog. He lives with Mr. and Mrs. X (here called Monroe) and their sons Toby and Pete. Also sharing the home are a cat named Chester and a rabbit named Bunnicula. It is because of Bunnicula that Harold turned to writing. Someone had to tell...
The Universe in You: A Microscopic Journey
Chin, Jason
Paper Book
Jason Chin, winner of the Caldecott Medal for Watercress, dives into the microscopic building blocks of life in this companion to the award-winningYour Place in the Universe. In Your Place in the Universe, Jason Chin zoomed outward, from our planet, solar...
Too small Tola
Atinuke
Paper Book
Three delightful tales from a renowned Nigerian storyteller introduce a chapter-book heroine who is every bit as mighty as she is small. In a trio of droll stories, award-winning author and storyteller Atinuke debuts an endearing and enduring character with plenty to prove. Tola...
Ricky Ricotta's mighty robot
Pilkey, Dav
Paper Book
From Dav Pilkey, creator of Captain Underpants, and acclaimed artist Dan Santat, an out-of-this-world friendship adventure with all-new full-color illustrations!Meet Ricky Ricotta, a little mouse with a big problem!Ricky Ricotta lives in Squeakyville with his mom and dad. Ricky has a hard time...
Mary Pope Osborne's Magic tree house. Dinosaurs before dark
Laird, Jenny
Paper Book
The #1 bestselling chapter book is now a graphic novel! Magic. Mystery. Time-travel. Get whisked back in time in the magic tree house with Jack and Annie! Where did the tree house come from?      Before Jack and Annie can find out, the mysterious...
The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza
Barnett, Mac
Paper Book
"Ridiculously fun and brilliantly illustrated." --Dav Pilkey, creator of Dog Man and Captain Underpants As seen on The TODAY Show! New York Times bestselling Mac Barnett and Caldecott Honor award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris turn their massively popular The First Cat in Space Ate...
Mega-Predators of the Past
Stewart, Melissa
Paper Book
Award-winning nonfiction author and science specialist Melissa Stewart offers young readers a mega-exploration of little-known prehistoric predators that rival even the mightiest of dinosaurs! It is time for T. rex and his dinosaur cousins to step aside and let other mega...
Disasters by the Numbers: A Book of Infographics
Jenkins, Steve
Paper Book
An amazing look at Earth's natural disasters as seen through numbers, facts, and stunning infographics from Caldecott Honor-winning author-illustrator Steve Jenkins!    From Caldecott Honor-winning author-illustrator Steve Jenkins comes...
The Skull: A Tyrolean Folktale
Klassen, Jon
Paper Book
A #1 New York Times bestseller! A Kirkus Book Prize Finalist! A New York Times Best Children's Chapter Book the Year A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of the Year Caldecott Medalist and New York Times best-selling author...
The Princess in Black
Hale, Shannon.
Paper Book
Who says princesses don't wear black? When trouble raises its blue monster head, Princess Magnolia ditches her flouncy dresses and becomes the Princess in Black! Princess Magnolia is having hot chocolate and scones with Duchess Wigtower when . . . Brring! Brring! The...
Paradise Sands: A Story of Enchantment
Pinfold, Levi
Paper Book
A captivating tale of eerie places and mystical bargains, sumptuously illustrated by Kate Greenaway Medalist Levi Pinfold Washed clean in his pool, we fall under his rule . . . Away from what is, we all are now his. When a young girl and her older...
Flora & Ulysses : the illuminated adventures
DiCamillo, Kate.
Paper Book
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal  Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo. It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected...
Skunk and Badger
Timberlake, Amy
Paper Book
Learn how Skunk and Badger first became roommates before embarking on their latest adventure, Egg Marks the Spot! A Best Book of 2020: People * Kirkus Reviews * Booklist  * School Library...
Juana & Lucas
Medina, Juana
Paper Book
Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpré Author Award Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series. Juana loves many things -- drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living...
The Legend of Gravity: A Tall Basketball Tale
Palmer, Charly
Paper Book
In his author-illustrator debut, Coretta Scott King-John Steptoe-and Africana Book Award-winning illustrator Charly Palmer spins a tall tale about a neighborhood basketball hero. Have you ever heard of Gravity? No, not gravity, the centrifugal force pulling us to the...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.