Suggested Reading for 3rd Grade

Suggested Reading for 3rd Grade

Updated October 17, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Marya Khan and the Incredible Henna Party (Marya Khan #1)
Faruqi, Saadia
Paper Book
Perfect for fans of Ivy & Bean and Dory Fantasmagory, this is the start of a charming new chapter book series about a third-grader whose plans may backfire but whose persistence and heart are inspiring.Marya's eighth birthday is coming up in a week, and all she wants is an over-the-top birthday...
Castles
Buller, Laura
Paper Book
Journey across the world and throughout history to discover the world's best and most unusual castles, and learn about their features, from the tallest turrets to the dingiest dungeons. Find out how castles have changed over time and what happened to the people who lived in them. ...
A wish in the dark
Soontornvat, Christina
Paper Book
A 2021 Newbery Honor Book A boy on the run. A girl determined to find him. A compelling fantasy looks at issues of privilege, protest, and justice. All light in Chattana is created by one man -- the Governor, who appeared after the Great Fire to bring peace and order...
Tales of a fourth grade nothing
Blume, Judy.
Paper Book
Life with his little brother, Fudge, makes Peter Hatcher feel like a fourth grade nothing. Whether Fudge is throwing a temper tantrum in a shoe store, smearing mashed potatoes on the walls at Hamburger Heaven, or trying to fly, he's never far from trouble. He's an almost three-year-old terror who...
Dog Man
Pilkey, Dav
Paper Book
George and Harold have created a new breed of justice -- one that is part dog, part man, and ALL HERO! With the head of a dog and the body of a human, this heroic hound digs into deception, claws after crooks, rolls over robbers, and scampers after squirrels. Will he be able to resist the call...
The Beatryce Prophecy
DiCamillo, Kate
Paper Book
A #1 New York Times bestseller From two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo and two-time Caldecott Medalist Sophie Blackall comes a fantastical meditation on fate, love, and the power of words to spell the world. We shall all, in the end, be led to...
Anna Hibiscus
Atinuke.
Paper Book
Anna Hibiscus lives in Africa. Amazing Africa. She lives with her whole family in a wonderful house. There is always somebody to laugh and play with.Anna Hibiscus loves to splash in the sea with her cousins and have parties with her aunties. But more than anything else in the world, Anna Hibiscus...
Three Tasks for a Dragon
Colfer, Eoin
Paper Book
With wit and gorgeous art, New York Times best-selling author Eoin Colfer and multi-award-winning illustrator P.J. Lynch team up again for a quest story of knights, dark magic, and a maiden with powers of her own. Studious Prince Lir is next in line to become the Wolfhound...
Cat kid comic club
Pilkey, Dav
Paper Book
A pioneering new graphic novel series by Dav Pilkey, the author and illustrator of the internationally bestselling Dog Man and Captain Underpants series. Naomi, Melvin, Pedro, and Poppy are just a few of the twenty-one rambunctious, funny, and talented baby frogs who share their stories in...
The list of things that will not change
Stead, Rebecca
Paper Book
EIGHT STARRED REVIEWS! The reassuring book kids and families need right now. "An absolute original . . . a story that kids will love." --R. J. Palacio, bestselling author of Wonder At a time when everything is changing for Bea and her family, the important things...
Chester Keene Cracks the Code
Magoon, Kekla
Paper Book
Cracking the code isn't all it's cracked up to be in this scavenger hunt adventure from a Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author. "Delivers a truly fresh mystery -- along with a heist, some heartbreak, some unforgettable characters and plenty of laser tag." --The New York Times...
Finally Seen
Yang, Kelly
Paper Book
From the New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk comes a "involving, realistic" (Booklist, starred review) middle grade novel about a young girl who leaves China to live with her parents and sister, after five years apart, and learns about family, friendship, and the...
Violet and Jobie in the Wild
Perkins, Lynne Rae
Paper Book
"A gem of a story. "--Booklist (starred review) "A marvelous heroic journey. "--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "A narrative centering family bonds and new experiences. "--Publishers Weekly (starred review) Newbery Medal winner Lynne Rae Perkins introduces...
Knights vs. dinosaurs
Phelan, Matt
Paper Book
An ALA Notable Title "Absurdly entertaining. Victorious on all fronts." --ALA Booklist (starred review) Renowned for their courage, their chivalry, and their ability to fight mythical creatures, the Knights of the Round Table must face their most dangerous opponents yet--DINOSAURS!<...
Scary stories for young foxes
Heidicker, Christian McKay
Paper Book
A 2020 Newbery Honor Recipient! Christian McKay Heidicker, author of the Thieves of Weirdwood trilogy, draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an...
The Bad Guys
Blabey, Aaron
Paper Book
NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE!"I wish I'd had these books as a kid. Hilarious!" -- Dav Pilkey, creator of Captain Underpants and Dog ManThis New York Times bestselling illustrated series is perfect for fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants.They sound like bad guys, they look like bad...
Accidental Trouble Magnet
Mian, Zanib
Paper Book
The first book in the exciting middle-grade series starring a Muslim boy with a huge imagination--now in paperback! Welcome to the imaginative brain of Omar! Omar and his family have just moved, and he is NOT excited about starting at a new school. What if the work...
Aven Green, sleuthing machine
Bowling, Dusti
Paper Book
Third-grader Aven Green has been solving mysteries for a whole month--cracking such cases as The Mystery of the Cranky Mom. But can this perceptive detective solve two cases at the same time? First her teacher's lunch bag disappears. Then Aven's great-grandma's dog goes missing....
Maybe maybe Marisol Rainey
Kelly, Erin Entrada
Paper Book
"Utterly endearing!" --Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books "Hilarious and heart-melting." --Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey--an irresistible new character...
The dragonet prophecy : the graphic novel
Sutherland, Tui
Paper Book
The New York Times bestselling Wings of Fire series soars to new heights in this first-ever graphic novel adaptation!Not every dragonet wants a destiny ... Clay has grown up under the mountain, chosen along with four other dragonets to fulfill a mysterious prophecy and end the war between the...
Sideways stories from Wayside School
Sachar, Louis
Paper Book
Bestselling and Newbery Medal-winning author Louis Sachar knows how to make readers laugh. And there are laughs galore in perennial favorite Sideways Stories from Wayside School, the first book in the series! Accidentally built sideways and standing thirty stories high (the builder...
The Field Guide
DiTerlizzi, Tony
Paper Book
The Grace children discover the faerie world is closer than you think in this repackage of the first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick Chronicles. After finding a mysterious, handmade field guide in the attic of the ramshackle old mansion they've just moved...
Ramona Quimby, age 8
Cleary, Beverly.
Paper Book
Riding the school bus alone isn't the only new experience making third grade exciting for Ramona Quimby. From befriending a boy called Yard Ape to delivering her book report in the style of a television commercial, Ramona's enthusiasm for life is infectious and irresistible. ...
Animal Sidekicks: Amazing Stories of Symbiosis in Animals and Plants
Murphy, Macken
Paper Book
An NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Book for Students Nominated for the 2025 Charlotte Award "Excellently illustrated and providing a treasure trove of interesting information about symbiotic relationships." --Booklist Heard about the...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.