Suggested Reading for 4th Grade

Suggested Reading for 4th Grade

Updated October 17, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Nightbooks
White, J. A.
Paper Book
A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.  Alex's original hair-raising...
Artemis Fowl
Colfer, Eoin
Paper Book
Now an original movie on Disney+, here is the book that started it all, the international bestseller about a teenage criminal mastermind and his siege against dangerous, tech-savvy fairies. New York Times best-selling author, Eoin Colfer and series, Artemis Fowl!
Max and the Midknights
Peirce, Lincoln
Paper Book
Max wants to be a knight! Too bad that dream is about as likely as finding a friendly dragon. But when Max's uncle Budrick is kidnapped by the cruel King Gastley, Max has to act...and fast! Joined by a band of brave adventurers--the Midknights--Max sets out on a thrilling quest- to save Uncle...
The Hiddenseek
Cernosek, Nate
Paper Book
In this spine-chilling middle grade debut--perfect for fans of Small Spacesand the Goosebumps series--a brother and sister are transported to a cursed world based on the game hide-and-seek, where the only way to get home is to win. "You hid. But you were not found. You...
The Last Kids on Earth
Brallier, Max
Paper Book
A Netflix Original series! The first book in the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling series, with over 7 million copies in print! "Terrifyingly fun! Delivers big thrills and even bigger laughs."--Jeff Kinney, author of the #1 ...
The Lost Library
Stead, Rebecca
Paper Book
Now a New York Times bestseller, a #1 Indie Bestseller, and the Amazon #1 Best Kids' Book of 2023, readers won't want to miss this story of a little free library guarded by a cat and a boy who takes on the mystery it keeps. When a mysterious little free library (guarded...
The nest
Oppel, Kenneth
Paper Book
"The Nest leaves a lasting mark on the memory." --The New York Times Book Review Steve just wants to save his baby brother--but what will he lose in the bargain? Kenneth Oppel's (Silverwing, The Boundless) haunting gothic tale for fans of Coraline,...
The friendship war
Clements, Andrew
Paper Book
A fabulous school story about fads and friendship from the bestselling author of Frindle. This is war. Okay--that's too dramatic. But no matter what this is called, so far I'm winning. And it feels wonderful. Grace and Ellie have been...
Dinosaurs and Other Prehistoric Life
DK
Paper Book
Travel back in time to when dinosaurs roamed the earth with this awe-inspiring dinosaur book for curious kids aged 6-8. The prehistoric word of dinosaurs is so much bigger than young minds can fathom and there is always more to learn. Dinosaurs and other Prehistoric Life is...
Hello, Universe
Kelly, Erin Entrada.
Ebook
Winner of the Newbery Medal "A charming, intriguingly plotted novel."--Washington Post Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view--two boys and two...
Swim team
Christmas, Johnnie
Paper Book
"Combines wonderful characters and history to create a story that will make you want to dive right in!" JERRY CRAFT, author of the Newbery Medal-winning New Kid A splashy, contemporary middle grade graphic novel from bestselling comics creator Johnnie Christmas! Bree can't wait for...
The graveyard book
Gaiman, Neil
Paper Book
The original hardcover edition of a perennial favorite, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, which has sold more than one million copies and is the only novel to win both the Newbery Medal and the Carnegie Medal.  Bod is an unusual boy who inhabits an unusual place--he's the only living...
Planet fashion
Slee, Natasha
Paper Book
Hold onto your hats and lace up your boots; we're off on a fashion adventure! Travel through 25 scenes in fashion history, circling the globe with your two young stylish travel companions--one boy and one girl, dressed the part in every picture. Each lavishly illustrated scene captures the mood...
The one and only Ivan
Applegate, Katherine.
Paper Book
The #1 New York Times bestselling and Newbery Award-winning novel The One and Only Ivan is now a major motion picture streaming on Disney+ This unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of...
The girl who drank the moon
Barnhill, Kelly Regan
Paper Book
Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal The New York Times Bestseller An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016 A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016 A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
From the mixed-up files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
Konigsburg, E. L.
Paper Book
A Time Best YA Book of All Time (2021) Run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art with E. L. Konigsburg's beloved classic and Newbery Medal­-winning novel From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler! When Claudia decided to run away, she...
The aquanaut : a graphic novel
Santat, Dan
Paper Book
Dive in to this whimsically adventurous graphic novel from Caldecott Medalist and National Book Award Winner Dan Santat! Ever since her father was lost at sea, Sophia has been moping around Aqualand, the marine theme park her dad and uncle created. But Sophia's world is turned upside down when an...
All in a drop : how Antony van Leeuwenhoek discovered an invisible world
Alexander, Lori
Paper Book
Robert F. Sibert Honor Award winner A Junior Library Guild Selection A 2020 Outstanding Science Trade Book A New York Public Library Best of 2019 A 2020 Best STEM Book by NSTA and CBC For fans of the "Who Was" series,...
Crash from Outer Space: Unraveling the Mystery of Flying Saucers, Alien Beings, and Roswell
Fleming, Candace
Paper Book
Award-winning author Candace Fleming sets her gaze on the mystery at Roswell, New Mexico, and the "crash from outer space" that set the United States on edge for decades. Scholastic Focus is the premier home of thoroughly researched, beautifully written, and thoughtfully designed works of...
Redwall : the graphic novel
Jacques, Brian.
Paper Book
The book that inspired a legend--the first novel in the beloved, bestselling Redwall saga--now adapted into a graphic novel! The classic fantasy adventure that began the Redwall phenomenon is finally available as a graphic novel. Illustrated by renowned comics artist Bret Blevins...
Because of Mr. Terupt
Buyea, Rob
Paper Book
Seven students are about to have their lives changed by one amazing teacher in this school storysequel filled with unique characters every reader can relate to. It's the start of a new year at Snow Hill School, and seven students find themselves thrown together in Mr. Terupt's...
Show me a sign
Lezotte, Ann Clare
Paper Book
Don't miss the companion book, Set Me Free CRITICS ARE RAVING ABOUT SHOW ME A SIGN Winner of the 2021 Schneider Family Book Award * NPR Best Books of 2020 * Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2020 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2020 * New York Public...
Big Tree
Selznick, Brian
Paper Book
The fate of all life on Earth may depend on the bravery of two little seeds in this epic adventure from the #1 New York Times bestselling creator and Caldecott Medalist of The Invention of Hugo Cabret. "The tale of the natural world is the greatest story we have to...
The tale of Despereaux : being the story of a mouse, a princess, some soup, and a spool of thread
DiCamillo, Kate.
Paper Book
The beloved author of Because of Winn-Dixie enlightens us with a tale of adventure, despair, love, and soup. Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.