Cozy Fantasies for All Ages

Cozy fantasy is a subgenre of fantasy that focuses on characters and relationships. The stakes may still be high, but you'll finish each book with a cozy feeling and like you may have discovered some new favorite characters along the way.

Updated July 6, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The cat who saved books : a novel
Natsukawa, So?suke
AN INDIE NEXT PICK! From the #1 bestselling author in Japan comes a celebration of books, cats, and the people who love them, infused with the heartwarming spirit of The Guest Cat and The Travelling Cat Chronicles. Bookish high school student Rintaro Natsuki is about to close the...
The undertaking of Hart and Mercy
Bannen, Megan
"A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over. If you ever wished for an adult romance that felt like Howl's Moving Castle, THIS IS THAT BOOK." --Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient Hart is a marshal, tasked...
The girl who drank the moon
Barnhill, Kelly Regan
Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal The New York Times Bestseller An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016 A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016 A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
Howl's moving castle
Jones, Diana Wynne.
This entrancing classic fantasy novel is filled with surprises at every turn. An international bestseller, this much-loved book is the source for the Academy Award nominee for Best Animated Feature. Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to...
Ghost squad
Ortega, Claribel A.
A New York Times bestseller! Coco meets Stranger Things with a hint of Ghostbusters in this action-packed supernatural fantasy. For Lucely Luna, ghosts are more than just the family business. Shortly before Halloween, Lucely and her...
So this is ever after
Lukens, F. T.
An instant New York Time bestseller! Carry On meets Arthurian legend in this subversive, "delightfully original and whimsical" (Kirkus Reviews) young adult fantasy about what happens after the chosen one wins the kingdom and has to get married to keep it.....
A psalm for the wild-built
Chambers, Becky
Winner of the Hugo Award! In A Psalm for the Wild-Built, bestselling Becky Chambers's delightful new Monk and Robot series, gives us hope for the future. It's been centuries since the robots of Panga gained self-awareness and laid down their tools;...
Emily Wilde's encyclopaedia of faeries
Fawcett, Heather
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A curmudgeonly professor journeys to a small town in the far north in this "incredibly fun journey through fae lands and dark magic" (NPR), the start of a heartwarming and enchanting new fantasy series. "A darkly gorgeous...
Crumbs
Stirling, Danie
An IndieBound Bestseller Falling in love just got sweeter in this charming, romantic YA graphic novel from WEBTOON, the #1 digital comic platform. Ray, a young seer struggling with her powers, discovers first love and friendship in her town's magic bakery. In a very special town,...
Half a soul
Atwater, Olivia
"Whimsical, witty, and brimming over with charm" (India Holton), Olivia Atwater's delightful debut will transport you to a magical version of Regency England, where the only thing more meddlesome than a fairy is a marriage-minded mother! It's difficult to find...
The very secret society of irregular witches
Mandanna, Sangu
Mika Moon knows she has to hide her magic, and is used to keeping her head down with one exception: an online account, where she posts videos 'pretending' to be a witch. She thinks no one will take it seriously. But someone does. An unexpected message arrives, begging her to travel to the remote and...
The house in the cerulean sea
Klune, TJ
A NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, and WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER! A 2021 Alex Award winner! The 2021 RUSA Reading List: Fantasy Winner! An Indie Next Pick! One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2020"...
The mysteries of Thorn Manor
Rogerson, Margaret
In this delightful sequel novella to the New York Times bestselling Sorcery of Thorns, Elisabeth, Nathaniel, and Silas must unravel the magical trap keeping them inside Thorn Manor in time for their Midwinter Ball! Elisabeth Scrivener is finally settling into her...
Wildseed witch
Dumas, Marti
Hasani's post-seventh-grade summer to-do list is pretty simple: get a bigger following for her makeup YouTube channel and figure out how to get her parents back together. What she does NOT expect is that an emotional outburst will spark a latent magical ability in her. Or that the magic will be...
Stardust
Gaiman, Neil.
In the sleepy English countryside at the dawn of the Victorian Era, life moves at a leisurely pace in the tiny town of Wall--a secluded hamlet so named for an imposing stone barrier that surrounds a fertile grassland. Armed sentries guard the sole gap in the bulwark to keep the inquisitive from...
Garlic & the witch
Paulsen, Bree
Bree Paulsen's brave little protagonist, Garlic, is back in this charmingly illustrated standalone companion to Garlic and the Vampire, serving up another tale of friendship, magic, and self-discovery. Give both books to readers who fell in love with Tidesong or Witch Boy! ...
Other birds
Allen, Sarah Addison
The New York Times Bestseller From the acclaimed author of Garden Spells comes an enchanting tale of lost souls, lonely strangers, secrets that shape us, and how the right flock can guide you home. Down a narrow alley in the small coastal town of...
Garden spells
Allen, Sarah Addison.
In a garden surrounded by a tall fence, tucked away behind a small, quiet house in an even smaller town, is an apple tree that is rumored to bear a very special sort of fruit. In this luminous debut novel, Sarah Addison Allen tells the story of that enchanted tree, and the extraordinary people who...
This poison heart
Bayron, Kalynn
Darkness blooms in bestselling author Kalynn Bayron's new contemporary fantasy about a girl with a unique and deadly power. Briseis has a gift: with a single touch she can grow plants from tiny seeds to rich blooms. When Briseis's aunt dies and wills her a...
The dead romantics
Poston, Ashley
Florence Day is the ghostwriter for a prolific romance author. When her new editor won't give her an extension, Florence prepares to kiss her career goodbye. But then she gets a phone call she never wanted to receive: she must return home for the first time in a decade to help bury her beloved...
Spells for lost things
Welch, Jenna Evans
From the New York Times bestselling author of Love & Gelato comes a poignant and "beguiling" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) novel about two teens trying to find their place in the world after being unceremoniously dragged to Salem, Massachusetts, for the summer.
Vanessa Yu's magical Paris tea shop
Lim, Roselle
From the critically acclaimed author of Natalie Tan's Book of Luck and Fortune comes a new delightful novel about exploring all the magical possibilities of life in the most extraordinary city of all: Paris.   Vanessa Yu never wanted to see people's fortunes-...
The Girl Who Chased the Moon A Novel
Allen, Sarah Addison.
In her latest enchanting novel, New York Times bestselling author Sarah Addison Allen invites you to a quirky little Southern town with more magic than a full Carolina moon. Here two very different women discover how to find their place in the world-no matter how out of place they feel. Emily...
The bear and the nightingale : a novel
Arden, Katherine
Katherine Arden's bestselling debut novel spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice.   "A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling...
The Tea Dragon Society
O'Neill, Katie (Cartoonist)
From the award-winning author of Princess Princess Ever After comes The TeaDragon Society, a charming all-ages book that follows the story of Greta, ablacksmith apprentice, and the people she meets as she becomes entwined in theenchanting world of tea dragons. After discovering a...
A marvellous light
Marske, Freya
An International Bestseller! Winner of the 2022 Romantic Novel Award in Fantasy! Locus Award Finalist! An Indie Next pick and LibraryReads pick--with four starred reviews! A Best of 2021 Pick for NPR | Amazon | Kobo | Barnes & Noble |...
The night circus : a novel
Morgenstern, Erin.
#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER * The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves,...
Legends & lattes : a novel of high fantasy and low stakes
Baldree, Travis
An Instant New York Times Bestseller A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2022 A Library Reads Pick An Indie Next Pick A Goodreads Best Fantasy Choice Award Nominee The much-beloved BookTok sensation, Travis Baldree's novel of high...
Divine rivals : a novel
Ross, Rebecca
When two young rival journalists find love through a magical connection, they must face the depths of hell, in a war among gods, to seal their fate forever. After centuries of sleep, the gods are warring again. But eighteen-year-old Iris Winnow just wants to hold her family...
Flowerheart
Bakewell, Catherine
*Now including a brand-new bonus scene in the paperback edition!  "Flowerheart is like a garden in full bloom: vibrant and sweet, whimsical and wondrous." --Allison Saft, New York Times bestselling author of A Far Wilder Magic Perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson and Tamora...
A far wilder magic
Saft, Allison
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER AN INSTANT INDIE BESTSELLER ONE OF 2022'S MOST ANTICIPATED READS: * BUZZFEED * EPIC READS * GOODREADS * THE NERD DAILY * UNITED BY POP * "An utterly transportive read, unfolding into a world of crumbling manors...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.