Hispanic Heritage Month-Juvenile and Teen books

Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures, and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central, and South America. This is a curated list of Juvenile and Teen books about, by, and/or for the Latinx and Hispanic communities.

Updated September 27, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Plátanos go with everything
Norman, Lissette
Paper Book
Paletero Man meets Fry Bread in this vibrant and cheerful ode to plátanos, the star of Dominican cuisine, written by award-winning poet Lissette Norman, illustrated by Sara Palacios, and translated by Kianny N. Antigua. Plátanos are Yesenia's favorite food....
Only for a little while
Belt, Gabriela Orozco
Paper Book
A heartwarming picture book with Spanish words woven in, about a father helping his daughter adjust when they temporarily have to move in with extended family. Perfect for fans of My Papi Has a Motorcycle and Where Are You From. When Maribel's family has to move in with Tía...
With lots of love
Torres Sanchez, Jenny
Paper Book
A beautiful, lyrical story about a girl who moves from her home in Central America to the United States, and everything she leaves behind and longs for-especially her Abuela-as she makes a new life. Rocio has grown up in Central America, but now she and her family are moving to...
Living beyond borders : growing up Mexican in America
Longoria, Margarita
Paper Book
*"This superb anthology of short stories, comics, and poems is fresh, funny, and full of authentic YA voices revealing what it means to be Mexican American . . . Not to be missed."--SLC, starred review *"Superlative . . . A memorable collection." --Booklist, starred...
Evelyn Del Rey is moving away
Medina, Meg
Paper Book
The 2020 Jumpstart Read for the Record Selection (2.24 million readers) * An American Library Association Notable Children's Book * A Publisher's Weekly Best Children's Book of the Year * A Kirkus Reviews Best Picture Book of the Year * A School Library Journal Best Book of...
Latinitas : celebrating 40 big dreamers
Menéndez, Juliet
Paper Book
Dream big with the Latinitas in Latinitas: Celebrating 40 Big Dreamers. Discover how 40 influential Latinas became the women we celebrate today! In this collection of short biographies from all over Latin America and across the United States, Juliet Menéndez explores the...
Latinitas : Una celebración de 40 soñadoras audaces
Menéndez, Juliet
Paper Book
In this Spanish edition of her author-illustrator debut Latinitas, Juliet Menéndez celebrates inspiring Latinas and Latin American women. Descubre cómo cuarenta latinas influyentes se convirtieron en las mujeres que hoy celebramos. En esta colección de biografías cortas...
Nuestra América : 30 inspiring latinas/latinos who have shaped the United States
Vourvoulias, Sabrina
Paper Book
Celebrate 30 influential Latinas/Latinos/Latinxs in U.S. history with Nuestra América, a fully-illustrated anthology from the Smithsonian Latino Center. Nuestra América highlights the inspiring stories of thirty Latina/o/xs...
El español es la lengua de mi familia
Genhart, Michael
Paper Book
An intergenerational story of family ties, cultural pride, and spelling bee victory following a young boy who bonds with his beloved abuela over a love of Spanish. As a boy prepares for his school's Spanish spelling bee, he asks his grandmother for help with some of the words he...
Mis dos pueblos fronterizos
Bowles, David
Paper Book
A Spanish-language edition of My Two Border Towns, a picture book debut by award-winning author David Bowles. Un sabado por la manana, un nino se prepara para un viaje al Otro Lado / the Other Side. Esta cerca, solo bajando la calle y pasando su escuela, el pueblo gemelo...
Iveliz explains it all
Arango, Andrea Beatriz
Paper Book
NEWBERY HONOR AWARD WINNER * In this timely and moving novel in verse, a preteen girl navigates seventh grade while facing mental health challenges. A hopeful, poetic story about learning to advocate for the help and understanding you deserve. "Powerful." --Lisa Fipps,...
Evelyn Del Rey se muda
Medina, Meg
Paper Book
A Bank Street College Best Spanish Language Picture Book of the Year/El mejor libro infantil en español del año Evelyn Del Rey es la mejor amiga de Daniela. Hacen todo juntas e incluso viven una al frente de la otra en la misma calle en apartamentos que son casi iguales: Daniela...
Ay, Mija! : My Bilingual Summer in Mexico
Suggs, Christine.
Paper Book
"An absolutely heartwarming and vibrant story of belonging, family, and the meaning of home. This book is a treasure." - Julie Murphy, New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin' In this bilingual, inventive, and heartfelt debut, graphic novel...
Iveliz lo explica todo
Arango, Andrea Beatriz
Paper Book
NEWBERY HONOR AWARD WINNER * In this timely and moving novel in verse, a preteen girl navigates seventh grade while facing mental health challenges. A hopeful, poetic story about learning to advocate for the help and understanding you deserve. "Powerful." --Lisa Fipps,...
Tumble
Pérez, Celia C.
Paper Book
From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk andStrange Birds, a dazzling novel about a young girl who collects the missing pieces of her origin story from the family of legendary luchadores she's never met. A 2023 Pura Belpre Author Honor Book
Nuestra America : 30 Latinas/Latinos inspiradores que han forjado la historia de los Estados Unidos
Vourvoulias, Sabrina
Paper Book
Celebrate 30 influential Latinas/Latinos/Latinxs in U.S. history with Nuestra América, a fully-illustrated anthology from the Smithsonian Latino Center. Nuestra América highlights the inspiring stories of thirty Latina/o/xs...
When we make it
Velasquez, Elisabet
Paper Book
"The energy. The clarity. The beauty. Elisabet Velasquez brings it all. . . . Her voice is FIRE!"-NYTbestselling and award-winning author Jacqueline Woodson An unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to "make it,"...
Celia Cruz
Romo Edelman, Claudia
Paper Book
Read about "La Reina de la Salsa" in Hispanic Star: Celia Cruz, and learn the most groundbreaking, iconic Hispanic and Latinx heroes that have shaped our culture and the world in this gripping biography series for young readers, perfect for fans of the Who Was series. ...
¡José! Nacido para bailar (Jose! Born to Dance): La historia de José Limón
Reich, Susanna
Paper Book
José! Born to Dance tells the story of a boy born in a small Mexican village who became one of the greatest dancers of all time--José Limón. José was a boy with a song in his heart and a dance in his step. Born in Mexico in 1908, he came into the world kicking like...
Hear my voice : the testimonies of children detained at the southern border of the United States
Binford, Warren
Paper Book
The moving stories of children in migration--in their own words. "In Spanish and in English, a devastating first-person account of children's experiences in detention at the southern U.S. border.... A powerful, critical document only made more heartbreaking...
Con mucho amor
Torres Sanchez, Jenny
Paper Book
A beautiful, lyrical story about a girl who moves from her home in Central America to the United States, and everything she leaves behind and longs for-especially her Abuela-as she makes a new life. Rocio has grown up in Central America, but now she and her family are moving to...
The immortal boy
Montaña Ibáñez, Francisco
Paper Book
Two intertwining stories of Bogotá. One, a family of five children, left to live on their own. The other, a girl in an orphanage who will do anything to befriend the mysterious Immortal Boy. How they weave together will never leave you. Presented...
Still dreaming = Seguimos soñando
Martinez, Claudia Guadalupe
Paper Book
Pura Belpré Illustrator Award Honor 2023 - American Library Association (ALA) A 2023 Pura Belpré Illustrator Award Honor In the first children's book to describe the long-forgotten chapter of US history known as Mexican Repatriation, a boy and his family leave their...
The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez
Cuevas, Adrianna.
Paper Book
2021 Pura Belpré Honor Book NYPL Best Book of 2020 2020 Evanston Public Library Great Books for Kids In this magical middle-grade debut novel from Adrianna Cuevas, The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez, a Cuban American boy must use his secret ability...
Tumbos
Pérez, Celia C.
Paper Book
From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk andStrange Birds, a dazzling novel about a young girl who collects the missing pieces of her origin story from the family of legendary luchadores she's never met. A 2023 Pura Belpre Author Honor Book
Cuba in my pocket
Cuevas, Adrianna
Paper Book
From Pura Belpré Honoree Adrianna Cuevas is a sweeping, emotional middle grade historical novel about a twelve-year-old boy who leaves his family in Cuba to immigrate to the U.S. by himself, based on the author's family history. "I don't remember. Tell me everything,...
Me dicen Güero : poemas de un chavo de la frontera
Bowles, David
Paper Book
Bluebonnet Award Master List 2020-2021 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book, 2019 ALSC Notable Children's Book, 2019 Walter Award Honor Book, 2019 This collection of narrative poetry explores a year in the life of a Mexican-American boy: caring, talented, and irrepressibly...
They call me Güero : a border kid's poems
Bowles, David
Paper Book
Bluebonnet Award Master List 2020-2021 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book, 2019 ALSC Notable Children's Book, 2019 Walter Award Honor Book, 2019 This collection of narrative poetry explores a year in the life of a Mexican-American boy: caring, talented, and irrepressibly...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.