Suggested Reading for Babies

Suggested Reading for Babies (0-18 months)

Updated October 16, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Ducks!
Underwood, Deborah
Ducks. Ducks? NO DUCKS!Duck wanders away from the pond for a moment and returns to find the other ducks gone! Searching high and low, Duck discovers many clues around the city--footprints, feathers, eggs--but no ducks. Will Duck's feathered friends finally be found? With spare text and lots of...
Hello, baby! :
Fox, Mem
After meeting a bevy of baby animals-- including a clever monkey, a sleepy leopard, and a dusty lion cub--the baby in this story discovers the most precious creature of all . . . itself, of course! With an exuberant rhyming text by bestselling author Mem Fox and adorable cut-paper illustrations by...
Animals move
Whittingham, Jane
Preschoolers love baby animals, and they love to move. Celebrate both with a hard-wearing Toddler Tough picture book perfect for an active read-aloud. Calves swim, / Hatchlings bounce, / Porcupettes nibble, / Kittens pounce. Story time is on the move with this multilayered concept book....
Bear Has a Belly
Whittingham, Jane
In this multilayered Big, Little Concepts book for preschoolers, explore body parts along with animals and celebrate the differences and similarities of our wonderful bodies. A soft, round belly, Bear has a belly. I do too! Do you have a nose like Fox,...
Do Crocs Kiss?
Yoon, Salina
Do crocs cry? Do crocs clap? All I know is crocs go . . . SNAP! This novelty board book, with fun text and colorful illustrations, features adorable lions, tigers, and bears, as well as the snappy title reptile and other favorite creatures. Kids will happily lift the flap on each...
Five little chicks
Yaccarino, Dan
The classic nursery rhyme--with a springtime twist! Five little chicks hatch, explore, and play in this adorable board book by acclaimed author-illustrator Dan Yaccarino. The bouncy text will have toddlers chanting along with the vibrant, bold illustrations that bring these...
Splish, splash, Ducky!
Cousins, Lucy
Revel in the rain with a little duckling and friends in a bright adventure from the creator of Maisy that kids will find just ducky. Oh, goody, hooray! It's raining today. When I'm feeling happy. I say quack, quack, quack.
Baby up, baby down : a first book of opposites
Abrams (Publishing company)
Learn about the opposites in Baby's world in Baby Up, Baby Down, an interactive photographic board book from the creators of Making Faces and Baby Loves.   This bright, playful board book introduces sets of opposites for babies to identify, from up and...
Whose toes are those?
Asim, Jabari
A vibrant, playful verse that celebrates a beautiful brown baby's adorable little toes, for fans of Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes. Who do you suppose has such fine toes? So brown and sweet. Who could have such darling feet? ...
I kissed the baby!
Murphy, Mary
"An animal cast so elated that they seem on the verge of jumping into readers' laps. . . . The high-contrast pictures and exclamatory text are guaranteed eye and ear magnets for the littlest ones." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "I saw the baby! 
Woodland Dance!
Boynton, Sandra
The moose plays the cello. The deer, violin. And it's ONE-two-three, ONE-two-three, time to begin! Destined to be a read-aloud favorite, Woodland Dance is a mystical, waltzing story from beloved author and illustrator Sandra Boynton, and a magical book to share with a...
Dinosnores
Boynton, Sandra
"Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . ."           The snoring goes on, on and on through the night. They never stop snoring till the first morning light.   Ah, all those dinosaurs look...
Quick duck!
Murphy, Mary
Where is that duck going in such a hurry? Mary Murphy brings her surefire baby appeal to this bright concept book. This little duckie needs to be quick-quack-quick -- leaping out of the mud, scooting under the hedge, running around the flowers, and skipping over the stones. Now...
Baby's Firsts
Day, Nancy Raines
A universal ode to babies and their milestones that celebrates all the joys in a baby's first year. Join three babies, encouraged by their families, as they grow more and more active with each day--crying, smiling, eating, teething, rolling, crawling, walking, and talking-...
See Touch Feel: Animals
Priddy, Roger
A black cat against a white background, a white rabbit on black, a bold blue butterfly...the high-contrast pictures and colors in this beautifully illustrated book from Roger Priddy will captivate babies' attention and stimulate their developing sight as they look at and learn about their very first...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.