2024 March Staff Picks

Check out what we've been reading/watching and loving!


Updated February 24, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The art thief : a true story of love, crime, and a dangerous obsession
Finkel, Michael
NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER * One of the most remarkable true-crime narratives of the twenty-first century: the story of the world's most prolific art thief, Stéphane Breitwieser. * "The Art Thief, like its title character, has confidence, élan, and a great sense of timing."--...

Heather says: A fascinating look into the life and mind of one of the most prolific art thieves in history!

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

Large Print

The Book of Azrael: Book 1 of the Gods & Monsters Series
Nicole, Amber
Sarah says: A slow burn, romantasy where enemies to lovers must work together to stop the destruction of the realms from the forces of evil.
The curious incident of the dog in the night-time
Haddon, Mark.
Narrated by a 15-year-old autistic savant obsessed with Sherlock Holmes, this dazzling novel weaves together an old-fashioned mystery, a contemporary coming-of-age story, and a fascinating excursion into a mind incapable of processing emotions.

Bonnie says: I enjoyed learning how one person with autism might respond to various situations as well as how literal and honest they were. I also liked how they wanted to solve a mystery about a neighbor's dog. As a dog lover, it was hard to learn about what happened to Wellington (the dog), but it was good to have the mystery solved at the end.

Also available as:

CD Audiobook

EAudiobook

EBook

The dos and donuts of love
Jaigirdar, Adiba
A pun-filled YA contemporary romance, The Dos and Donuts of Love by Adiba Jaigirdar finds a teenage girl competing in a televised baking competition, with contestants including her ex-girlfriend and a potential new crush - perfect for fans of The Great British Bake Off<...

Emma says: A pun-filled YA fiction that's very sweet and lighthearted! It felt very cozy, yet still tackled big topics including the experience of being a minority.

The fall
Fincher, David.
Visually minded filmmaker Tarsem Singh returns to the director's chair for the first time since The Cell (2000) with this psychologically complex tale of a hospitalized paraplegic with a curious knack for storytelling. Unable to free himself from his sterile confines, the immobile patient's deepest...
Stephanie says: The use of brilliant cinematography and locations all around the world combine to celebrate the act of storytelling. It is so great, I purchased my own copy!
Heartstopper. Volume 5
Oseman, Alice

Emma says: I love the Heartstopper series and the newest volume is no exception. The warmth in this graphic novel series is like a big hug!

Also available as:

EBook

Holly : a novel
King, Stephen
#1 New York Times Bestseller * New York Times Notable Book * NPR Best Book of the Year Holly Gibney, one of Stephen King's most compelling and resourceful characters, returns in this chilling novel to solve the gruesome truth behind multiple disappearances in a...

Brian says: I love meeting the complex characters King creates. He takes ordinary people and places them in extraordinary circumstances. If you like crime solving mystery with a side of horror, this will be a quick read.

Also available in:

CD Audiobook

EAudiobook

EBook

Large Print

Iron flame
Yarros, Rebecca
PLEASE NOTE: The limited edition with stained edges is sold out, but we invite you to purchase an unstained edition--same captivating story, same heart-pounding read! Discover the instant #1 New York Times bestseller! Now optioned for TV by Amazon Studios. ...

Maria says: I enjoyed this sequel to Fourth Wing. The scales of danger, intrigue, and romance continued to tip for characters as their lives hung in the balance in this exciting follow up.

Also available as:

CD Audiobook

EAudiobook

EBook

The lost apothecary
Penner, Sarah
THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER -- OVER A MILLION COPIES SOLD! "A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!" --Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code A forgotten history. A secret network of women. A...

Brian says: A good balance of historical fiction and mystery. The author does a good job of weaving the main character's stories together across time.

Also available in:

CD Audiobook

EAudiobook

EBook

Large Print

Mickey7
Ashton, Edward (Science fiction writer)
"A wildly entertaining mix of action and big ideas peppered with humor and a bizarre love story." --NPR "A brisk, spirited sci-fi romp...hugely enjoyable." --Max Barry, author of Providence *Soon to be the...

Jessica says: Fast and fun science fiction that doesn't take itself too seriously! I loved listening to the audiobook. John Pirhalla is a fantastic narrator!

Also available as:

EAudiobook

EBook

Weyward : a novel
Hart, Emilia
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF TWO GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS (Best Debut Novel & Best Historical Fiction) An Indie Next March 2023 Pick * A LibraryReads March 2023 Pick * An Amazon "Best Books of the Year So Far" 2023 Pick

Jill says: I loved this multigenerational story of strong women woven together through witchcraft, magic and nature. I couldn't put it down!

Also available in:

EAudiobook

EBook

Large Print


Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.