New Castle County Staff Picks - March 2024

Updated February 27, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
A fire so wild : a novel
Ruiz-Grossman, Sarah
Zibby Mag, Electric Literature, The Rumpus, and She Reads Most Anticipated Book of the Year "Ruiz-Grossman balances the social and political, the emotional and physical, with insight and precision. Her disparate characters all hail from different worlds, and it's a horrific thrill to...
Everything I learned, I learned in a Chinese restaurant : a memoir
Chin, Curtis
An American Library Association Stonewall Honor Book--Israel Fishman Nonfiction Award A 2024 Michigan Notable Book Best Nonfiction Books of the Year--Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year--Apple Books  
Original sins
Young, Erin
In a brilliant and addictive thriller for fans of Tana French and Liz Moore, FBI rookie Riley Fisher must navigate a brutal serial killer as well as a kidnapping plot against the governor It's a brutal winter in Des Moines, Iowa, and the city is gripped by fear. A serial...
The road from Belhaven
Livesey, Margot
Growing up in the care of her grandparents on Belhaven Farm, Lizzie Craig discovers as a small child that she can see into the future. But her gift is selective - she doesn't, for instance, see that she has an older sister who will come to join the family. As her 'pictures' foretell various...
The maid's diary : a novel
White, Loreth Anne
A cunning, twisty, and unsettling novel of psychological suspense with a startling conclusion by Loreth Anne White, the Amazon Charts and Washington Post bestselling author of The Patient's Secret. Kit Darling is a maid with a snooping problem. She's the "invisible...
A love song for Ricki Wilde
Williams, Tia
In this sexy modern-day fairytale from the New York Times bestselling author of Seven Days in June, a free-spirited florist and an enigmatic musician share a soul mate connection told through the history, art, and magic of Harlem. ...
Radiant heat
Collins, Sarah-Jane
Alison is alive. She rode out the fire on the damp tiles of her bathroom, her entire body swaddled in a wet woolen blanket. The flames crackled around her, the bitter char of eucalyptus settling in the back of her throat. The wildfire devastated the Victoria countryside she calls home, and when...
The clinic : a novel
Quinn, Cate
From the critically acclaimed author of Black Widows comes a thriller set in a remote rehab clinic on the Pacific Northwest coast, in which the death of a woman inside prompts her sister to enter the clinic as a patient in order to find the truth. Perfect for fans of Stacy Willingham and...
The warm hands of ghosts : a novel
Arden, Katherine
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * During the Great War, a combat nurse searches for her brother, believed dead in the trenches despite eerie signs that suggest otherwise, in this hauntingly beautiful historical novel with a speculative twist, from the author of The Bear and the Nightingale.
While you were out : an intimate family portrait of mental illness in an era of silence
Kissinger, Meg
From award-winning journalist Meg Kissinger, a searing memoir of a family besieged by mental illness, as well as an incisive exploration of the systems that failed them and a testament to the love that sustained them. Growing up in the 1960s in the suburbs of Chicago, Meg...
What have we here : portraits of a life
Williams, Billy Dee
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A film legend recalls his remarkable life of nearly eight decades--a heralded actor who's played the roles he wanted, from Brian's Song to Lando in the Star Wars universe--unchecked by the racism and typecasting so rife in the mostly all...
Learning to love midlife : 12 reasons why life gets better with age
Conley, Chip
New York Times bestselling author and co-founder/CEO of The Modern Elder Academy inspires readers to embrace midlife as a time of joy in this "clear blueprint for creating the lives we want" (Gretchen Rubin) The midlife crisis is the butt of so many...
Splinters : Another Kind of Love Story
Jamison, Leslie.
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER One of the Most Anticipated Books of the Year: TIME, Oprah Daily, Publishers Weekly, Vogue, Vulture, The Millions, Kirkus Reviews, Lit Hub, The Story Exchange, The Messenger, Real Simple, How to Be,...
The league of lady poisoners : illustrated true stories of dangerous women
Perrin, Lisa
A feast for the senses, this sumptuously illustrated book will introduce you to some of the most infamous women throughout world history, united by their shared taste for poison. Welcome to the League of Lady Poisoners. This riveting and well-researched volume by...
Rental person who does nothing : a memoir
Morimoto, Shoji
***Now an International Bestseller!*** "Distinctively Japanese musings on meaning and connection."--Observer I'm starting a service... available for any situation in which all you want is a person to be there. Maybe there's a restaurant you want...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.