Nessie's Roadtrip Booklist

Our library legends are heading out on a road trip this summer, but Nessie's adventure is a bit more out-of-this world! Audiobooks are a great way to get your reading in on the road though, so Nessie has put together a list of some of their audiobook picks for the journey. Checkout their list of downloadable audiobook titles for all ages and enjoy one yourself this summer.

Updated June 15, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
American Moonshot: Young Readers' Edition John F. Kennedy and the Great Space Race
Brinkley, Douglas.
In anticipation of the 50th anniversary of the first moon landing, New York Times bestselling author and historian Douglas Brinkley delivers a young readers' edition of a story rooted in heroism, bravery, and patriotism: America's race to the moon. July 20, 1969. It's a day that has earned...

Juvenile Non-Fiction

The Moon Platoon Space Runners Series, Book 1
Kraatz, Jeramey.
Star Wars meets Ridley Pearson's Kingdom Keepers in this high-stakes intergalactic adventure! The Moon Platoon is the first book in an action-packed series for tweens that's perfect for fans of Eoin Colfer and Lisa McMann. In the year 2085, Benny Love is pretty used to surviving on what he...

Juvenile Fiction

We Dream of Space
Kelly, Erin Entrada.
Newbery Honor Book "A captivating story about family's enduring bonds." --Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Another wondrous title from a remarkably talented author." --Booklist (starred review) "A 10 out of 10. Anyone interested in science, sibling relationships, and...

Juvenile Fiction

A Rover's Story
Warga, Jasmine.
New York Times bestseller * Best Book of the Year from The Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library The One and Only Ivan meets The Wild Robot in this unique and deeply moving middle grade novel about the journey of a fictional Mars...

Juvenile Fiction

Space Case Moon Base Alpha Series, Book 1
Gibbs, Stuart
It's a murder mystery on the moon in this humorous and suspenseful space adventure from the author of Belly Up and Spy School. Like his fellow lunarnauts--otherwise known as Moonies--living on Moon Base Alpha, twelve-year-old Dashiell Gibson is famous the world over...

Juvenile Fiction

Klawde: Evil Alien Warlord Cat Klawde: Evil Alien Warlord Cat Series, Book 1
Marciano, Johnny.
Klawde is not your average cat. He's an emperor from another planet, exiled to Earth. He's cruel. He's cunning. He's brilliant... and he's about to become Raj Banerjee's best friend. Whether he likes it or not. Klawde had everything. Sharp claws. Fine fur. And, being the High...

Juvenile Fiction

Scouts
Greenland, Shannon.
Stranger Things meets The Goonies in this suspenseful yet heartwarming adventure story about kids who set out to find a crashed meteor . . . but find mystery and danger instead as their friendships begin to fracture. Annie, Beans, Rocky,...

Juvenile Fiction

We're Not from Here
Rodkey, Geoff.
Imagine being forced to move to a new planet where YOU are the alien! From the creator of the Tapper Twins, New York Times bestselling author Geoff Rodkey delivers a topical, sci-fi middle-grade novel that proves friendship and laughter can transcend even a galaxy of differences. ...

Juvenile Fiction

Dragon Pearl Thousand Worlds Series, Book
Lee, Yoon Ha.
Rick Riordan Presents Yoon Ha Lee's space opera about thirteen-year-old Min, who comes from a long line of fox spirits. But you'd never know it by looking at her. To keep the family safe, Min's mother insists that none of them use any fox-magic, such as Charm or shape-shifting....

Juvenile Fiction

Reclaim the Stars 17 Tales Across Realms & Space
Cordova, Zoraida.

YA Fiction

Nyxia The Nyxia Triad, Book 1
Reintgen, Scott.
"A high-octane thriller . . . Nyxia grabs you from the first line and never lets go." --Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Warcross Every life has a price in this sci-fi thriller--the first in a trilogy--that has the...

YA Fiction

Starflight
Landers, Melissa.
Fast-paced adventure, found family, intrigue, and enemies-to-lovers romance combine in an action-packed young adult novel for fans of Firefly. Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her...

YA Fiction

Aetherbound
Johnston, E.K.
A thought-provoking new YA space adventure from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka. Set on a family-run interstellar freighter called the Harland and a mysterious remote space station, E. K. Johnston's latest is story of survival...

YA Fiction

Ashfall Legacy
Lore, Pittacus
Pittacus Lore finished telling the story of the Lorien Nine in the New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four and Lorien Legacies Reborn series. Now he's back to recount an all-new adventure rooted in the real mysteries surrounding Roswell, New Mexico, that will enthrall fans of Brandon...

YA Fiction

Iron Widow
Zhao, Xiran Jay.
An instant #1 New York Times bestseller! A USA Today bestseller! Pacific Rim meets The Handmaid's Tale in this blend of Chinese history and mecha science fiction for YA readers. The boys of Huaxia dream of pairing up with girls to...

YA Fiction

InterWorld InterWorld Series, Book 1
Gaiman, Neil.
When Newbery Medal winner Neil Gaiman and Emmy Award winner Michael Reaves teamed up, they created the bestselling YA novel InterWorld.   InterWorld tells the story of Joey Harker, a very average kid who discovers that his world is only one of a trillion alternate earths. Some of...

YA Fiction

Sally Ride America's first woman in space
Sherr, Lynn
The definitive biography of Sally Ride, America's first woman in space, with exclusive insights from Ride's family and partner, by the ABC reporter who covered NASA during its transformation from a test-pilot boys' club to a more inclusive elite. Sally Ride made history as the first...

Adult Non-Fiction

Chasing space : an astronaut's story of grit, grace, and second chances
Melvin, Leland
In this moving, inspirational memoir, a former NASA astronaut and NFL wide receiver shares his personal journey from the gridiron to the stars, examining the intersecting roles of community, perseverance and grace that align to create the opportunities for success. Leland Melvin is the...

Adult Non-Fiction

American Moonshot John F. Kennedy and the Great Space Race
Brinkley, Douglas.
Instant New York Times Bestseller As the fiftieth anniversary of the first lunar landing approaches, the award winning historian and perennial New York Times bestselling author takes a fresh look at the space program, President John F. Kennedy's inspiring challenge, and America's race to...

Adult Non-Fiction

The Space Between Worlds
Johnson, Micaiah.
NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE * An outsider who can travel between worlds discovers a secret that threatens the very fabric of the multiverse in this stunning debut, a powerful examination of identity, privilege, and belonging. WINNER OF THE...

Adult Fiction

Dead Space
Wallace, Kali.
Nominated for the Philip K. Dick Award An investigator must solve a brutal murder on a claustrophobic space station in this tense science fiction thriller from the author of Salvation Day. Hester Marley used to have a plan for her life. But when a catastrophic...

Adult Fiction

Space opera
Valente, Catherynne M.
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy meets Eurovision in an over-the-top galactic science fiction spectacle from bestselling author Catherynne Valente where sentient races compete for glory in a universe-wide musical contest-where the stakes are as high as the fate of planet Earth.A century ago, the...

Adult Fiction

Spaceman of Bohemia A Novel
Kalfar, Jaroslav.
An intergalactic odyssey of love, ambition, and self-discovery. Orphaned as a boy, raised in the Czech countryside by his doting grandparents, Jakub Prochv°zka has risen from small-time scientist to become the country's first astronaut. When a dangerous solo...

Adult Fiction


Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.