Inspired by Sherlock Holmes

The great detective has inspired many works, including these retellings, sequels, and pastiches that feature familiar characters in new ways.
Updated September 19, 2022
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The Beekeeper's Apprentice
Laurie R. King
The Twentieth-Anniversary Edition of the First Novel of the Acclaimed Mary Russell Series by Edgar Award-Winning Author Laurie R. King. An Agatha Award Best Novel Nominee * Named One of the Century's Best 100 Mysteries by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association...
The House of Silk
Anthony Horowitz
For the first time in its one-hundred-and-twenty-five-year history, the Arthur Conan Doyle Estate has authorized a new Sherlock Holmes novel. Once again, The Game's Afoot... London, 1890. 221B Baker St. A fine art dealer named Edmund Carstairs...
A Study in Charlotte
Brittany Cavallaro
The first book in a witty, suspenseful new series about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter. Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte...
The Case of the Missing Marquess
Nancy Springer
Now a Netflix original movie starring Millie Bobby Brown, Henry Cavill, and Helena Bonham Carter! Meet Enola Holmes, teenaged girl turned detective and the younger sister to Sherlock Holmes. When Enola Holmes, sister to the detective Sherlock Holmes, discovers her...
Moriarty
Anthony Horowitz
The game is once again afoot in this thrilling mystery from the bestselling author of The House of Silk, sanctioned by the Conan Doyle estate, which explores what really happened when Sherlock Holmes and his arch nemesis Professor Moriarty tumbled to their doom at the Reichenbach Falls. ...
A STUDY IN SCARLET WOMEN
Thomas, Sherry
USA Today bestselling author Sherry Thomas turns the story of the renowned Sherlock Holmes upside down in the first novel in this Victorian mystery series....   With her inquisitive mind, Charlotte Holmes has never felt comfortable with the demureness expected of the...
Dust and Shadow: An Account of the Ripper Killings by Dr. John H. Watson
Lyndsay Faye
In Dust and Shadow Sherlock Holmes hunts down Jack the Ripper with impeccably accurate historical detail, rooting the Whitechapel investigation in the fledgling days of tabloid journalism and clinical psychology. This astonishing debut explores the terrifying prospect of hunting down one of the...
The Clockwork Scarab
Colleen Gleason
Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you're the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood, so to speak. And when two young society girls disappear--one dead, one missing--there's no one more...
Mycroft Holmes
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
A new novel written by NBA All-Star Kareem Abdul-Jabbar! Fresh out of Cambridge University, the young Mycroft Holmes is already making a name for himself in government, working for the Secretary of State for War. Yet this most British of civil servants has strong ties to the...
Good Night, Mr. Holmes
Carole Nelson Douglas
Winner of the American Mystery Award for Best Novel of Romantic Suspense, and the Romantic Times Award for Best Historical Mystery Miss Irene Adler, the beautiful American opera singer who once outwitted Sherlock Holmes, is also a superb detective, as Oscar Wilde and Bram...
Basil of Baker Street
Eve Titus
Named one of "13 Detective Book Series You Obsessed over as a Kid" by Buzzfeed.com and the inspiration for a hit Disney film, the masterful Great Mouse Detective series is now available to a whole new generation of readers! Basil--the famous sleuth of mousedom--lives in the...
The Baker Street Letters
Michael Robertson
"First in a spectacular new series about two brother lawyers who lease offices on London's Baker Street--and begin receiving mail addressed to Sherlock Holmes "In Los Angeles, a geological surveyor maps out a proposed subway route--and then goes missing. His eight-year-old daughter, in her...
The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes
Leonard Goldberg
2017 RT Reviewers' Choice--Best Historical Mystery FromUSA Todayand internationally bestselling author Leonard Goldberg comesThe Daughter of Sherlock Holmes, a new thrilling tale of the great detective's daughter and her companion Dr. John Watson, Jr. as they...
The Affair of the Mysterious Letter
Alexis Hall
Upon returning to the city of Khelathra-Ven after five years fighting a war in another universe, Captain John Wyndham finds himself looking for somewhere to live, and expediency forces him to take lodgings at 221b Martyrs Walk. His new housemate is Ms. Shaharazad Haas, a consulting sorceress of...
A Study in Brimstone
G. S. Denning
Sherlock Holmes is an unparalleled genius. Warlock Holmes is an idiot. A font of arcane power, certainly. But he's brilliantly dim. Frankly, he couldn't deduce his way out of a paper bag. The only thing he has really got going for him are the might of a thousand demons...
Art in the Blood
Bonnie MacBird
London. A snowy December, 1888. Sherlock Holmes, 34, is languishing and back on cocaine after a disastrous Ripper investigation. Watson can neither comfort nor rouse his friend - until a strangely encoded letter arrives from Paris. Mlle La Victoire, a beautiful French cabaret star...
A Study in Honor
Claire O'Dell
Winner of the Lambda Literary Award in Lesbian Mystery A selection in Parade's roundup of "25 Hottest Books of Summer 2018" A Paste Magazine's Most Anticipated 25 books of 2018 pick A Medium's Books pick for We Can't Wait to Read in 2018 list From debut...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.