Celebrate Kindness

Join us as we spread kindness!

Updated April 17, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The smile shop
Kitamura, Satoshi
Acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates human connection and community in this hopeful story about a boy, a benevolent shopkeeper, and a shared smile. A small boy has saved all his pocket money, and today's the day he'll buy something special...
A world of kindness
Nine celebrated children's picture book illustrators, including Rebecca Bender, Wallace Edwards, and Suzanne Del Rizzo, unite to illustrate an empowering text that celebrates the ways young children can show kindness. Are you kind? In a series of simple yet evocative...
Try a little kindness
Cole, Henry
Bestselling illustrator Henry Cole puts animals in sweet and humorous situations to demonstrate the importance of being kind!In this funny picture book, bestselling illustrator Henry Cole shows kids different ways to be kind with his hysterical cartoon animal characters.Each page features a...
I Walk with Vanessa: a Story about a Simple Act of Kindness
Kerascoët
Named by Parents Magazine as the "Best Book that Champions Kindness"! This simple yet powerful picture book--from a New York Times bestselling husband-and-wife team--tells the story of one girl who inspires a community to stand up to bullying. Inspired by...
Andy and the lion
Daugherty, James Henry
A Caldecott Honor Book While walking to school one day, Andy meets a lion and soon makes a new friend. A tale of gratitude and helping out our neighbors, children of all ages will love this retelling of the classic folktale "Androcles and the Lion."
Just help! : how to build a better world
Sotomayor, Sonia
From the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Just Ask! comes a fun and meaningful story about making the world--and your community--better, one action at a time, that asks the question- Who will you help today? Every night when Sonia goes to bed, Mami asks...
Snappsy the alligator and his best friend forever (probably)
Falatko, Julie
Snappsy (begrudgingly!) returns in this clever and hilarious follow-up to the critically-acclaimed Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book). Snappsy the alligator wants nothing more than a quiet evening to himself, but a pesky chicken who insists he's Snappsy...
Your future is bright
Finkle, Corey
Celebrate the boundless possibilities of the future with this uplifting picture book about the potential in every child, perfect for fans of Oh, the Places You'll Go! and The Wonderful Things You Will Be. Today is a triumph! It's awesome! You're great!
My wish for you
Hahn, Kathryn
A poignant, fierce reflection on the power and spirit of girls and girls-at-heart from celebrated actress Kathryn Hahn and New York Times bestselling illustrator Brigette Barrager. My wishes for you are many. But the top of the wishes: I want you to be you. And wherever you...
Turtle and me
Harris, Robie H.
This charming story details the beautiful friendship between a boy and his plush toy turtle. Turtle and Me is a charming story about the adventures a little boy has with his cuddly toy turtle. Over the years, Turtle gets covered in spaghetti, splattered by mud, chewed by a puppy,...
What if your best friend were blue?
Kochan, Vera.
What if your best friend were blue? What if your doctor were yellow? Would it change things? A child imagines what the world would be like if people in his community each had a different skin color. Child-friendly acrylic illustrations and a strong read-aloud text gently teach colors while...
How do dinosaurs stay friends?
Yolen, Jane
America's most beloved, bestselling dinosaurs share the joys of lasting friendship.From early childhood to life after eighty, the great challenge of any friendship is keeping it healthy and strong. In this funny, engaging book, award-winners Jane Yolen and Mark Teague present humorous, naughty...
Fiona goes to school
Cowdrey, Richard
Join Fiona the hippo, the adorable internet sensation from the Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garden, as she and her friends start a zoo school to learn more about their fellow animals.  Fiona and a few of her...
Samantha helps a friend
Mallary, Rebecca
American Girl® Samantha(tm) stands up for what's right in this all new Step 3 Step into Reading leveled reader that takes place at the Turn of the Century in 1904. It's 1904, the turn of the 20th century, and Samantha Parkington is a nine-year-old orphan living with her rich...
The smart cookie
John, Jory
An Instant New York Times Bestseller! Be a smart cookie--and don't miss the fifth picture book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Food Group series from creators Jory John and Pete Oswald!  This cookie has never felt like a smart cookie no matter how hard she...
A little spot of belonging : a story about being true to yourself and making friends
Alber, Diane
Just a little love
Mayer, Mercer
Every critter needs a little love. Join Little Critter® as he discovers how a little love can fix any problem--big or little!
The good egg and the talent show
John, Jory
The Good Egg discovers his true talent in this Level One I Can Read by the #1 New York Times bestselling duo Jory John and Pete Oswald! The talent show is today and the Good Egg is so excited. There's just one problem. He doesn't have an act! When the talent show...
I love you, Dear Dragon
Hillert, Margaret
A boy and his pet dragon celebrate Valentine's Day by playing games and making Valentine's cards.

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.