New Children's Books May 2023

Updated April 24, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
All's right with the world
Adams, Jennifer
This joyful ode to the everyday moments in a child's life is a child-friendly reimagining of the classic poem "Pippa's Song" by poet Robert Browning. Perfect for Poetry Month and for fans of Liz Garton Scanlon and Cynthia Rylant. Waffles for breakfast, walking to school with...
To catch a thief
Brockenbrough, Martha
"To Catch a Thief is a page-turner of a mystery with a great big heart, and Amelia MacGuffin is the smart, funny kid sleuth we've all been waiting for. Readers will laugh and fall in love with the MacGuffin family as they follow the clues to crack this absolutely delightful case." --Kate...
Miracle
Chow, Karen S.
When her father dies, Amie's ability to play music dies, too. Nothing short of a miracle can bring back what she has lost.  Amie has spent her life perfectly in tune with Ba-ba, her father--she plays the violin, his favorite instrument; she loves all his...
Gato guapo
Denise, Anika
Laugh and count along with this lively cumulative romp told in a lyrical blend of Spanish and English by Pura Belpré Honor-winning author Anika Aldamuy Denise and illustrator Zara Gonzalez Hoang! Nine kittens follow Gato Guapo around, but when it's time to count them, one by one, they...
The Field Guide
DiTerlizzi, Tony
Celebrate the 20th anniversary of the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick Chronicles and get ready for the series soon to be streaming on Roku with this first installment in the adventures of the Grace children featuring an all-new look. After finding a mysterious,...
Water!Why Every Drop Counts and How You Can Start Making Waves to Protect It
Gerry, Lisa
Did you know the water in your glass could be the same water the dinosaurs drank? Discover more incredible facts about Earth's water, the challenges facing it, and how your actions can help defend this precious resource. Dive in! No doubt about it, water is fascinating! It's also...
This is the planet where I live
Going, K. L.
This picture book celebrates and honors the interconnectedness of everything here on planet Earth. The planet where we live is full of people, animals, insects, birds, trees, clouds, rain, oceans--and everything is interconnected. With a cumulative text and rich, highly-detailed...
My first garden
Gosling, Livi
This beautifully illustrated guide is the perfect gardening book for kids who want to plant fruit and vegetables, create mini farms from plants, and go on wildflower missions. Dive into this children's guide to growing plants, from vegetables to wildflowers, for little gardeners...
The world and everything in it
Henkes, Kevin
There are big things and little things in the world, and everything in between. Caldecott Medal winner and #1 New York Times bestseller Kevin Henkes encourages young readers to be curious about the world around them in this timeless, beautifully illustrated, and educational picture...
Just Gus
Hoyle, McCall
Return to the world of devoted working dogs and the humans they love in a new book from the best-selling author of Stella.   Gus is a livestock guardian dog with one job--protecting his farm from coyotes and foxes. He likes keeping the sheep, the chickens, and his...
Being Baxters
Kingsbury, Karen
In the fifth book in Karen Kingsbury and Tyler Russell's beloved series about the Baxter children, when things don't turn out according to plan, the siblings must stick together and remember who they are. Things are changing in Bloomington for the Baxters. When Ashley's teacher,...
Welcome, Rain!
McFarlane, Sheryl/ Wei, Christine (ILT)
We all love rain--until we are ready for some sun! This joyful ode to rain for kids 2 to 6 explores a child's many emotions when it comes to wet weather. In this charming picture book, a young child's conversation with the rain poetically captures the ever-shifting feelings we have...
Stillwater and Koo save the world
Muth, Jon J.
Here is the first of four exciting new books for younger readers featuring the beloved Zen panda, Stillwater -- star of the Caldecott Honor Book and New York Times bestseller, Zen Shorts, and of the Peabody Award and three-time Emmy Award-winning Apple+ TV series. A...
As night falls : creatures that go wild after dark
Napoli, Donna Jo
This science-themed picture book is for the littlest nature aficionado. Bursting with vibrant illustrations, it offers an inviting look into the secret world of how nature goes BERSERK at night! As night falls. The earth cools. Waters calm. Winds hush... But...
The bright side
Otis, Chad
This endearing picture book about making the most of any situation is also a heartfelt and meaningful portrait of houselessness that's just right for young children. Sometimes it's hard to stay positive- when you live in an old school bus instead of a normal house; when you have...
39 Clues: The Maze of Bones: A Graphic Novel (39 Clues Graphic Novel #1)
Riordan, Rick
The graphic novel adaptation of the mega-bestseller that launched a global phenomenon! Minutes before she died Grace Cahill changed her will, leaving her descendants an impossible decision: "You have a choice - one million dollars or a clue." Grace is the last matriarch...
Big tree
Selznick, Brian
The fate of all life on Earth may depend on the bravery of two little seeds in this epic adventure from the #1 New York Times bestselling creator and Caldecott Medalist of The Invention of Hugo Cabret. "The tale of the natural world is the greatest story we have...
Gertie : the darling duck of WWII
Swanson, Shari
In 1945, the attention of the United States, along with the rest of the world, was focused on World War II. After more than five years of fighting, downcast, war-weary people were looking for signs of hope of a better future. One April morning, a duck searching for a nesting spot lands on a tall...
The Manifestor prophecy
Thomas, Angie
Internationally bestselling superstar author Angie Thomas makes her middle grade debut with the launch of an inventive, hilarious, and suspenseful new contemporary fantasy trilogy inspired by African American history and folklore. It's not easy being a Remarkable in the Unremarkable world....
Elbert in the air
Wesolowska, Monica
A heartwarming story about unconditional love and rising above those who stand in the way of being who you are. Shortly after he is born, Elbert floats up into the air. Before long, his mother must stand on her tip toes to reach him and toss toys into the air at playtime. While...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.