We Won't Hide Our Pride - Books for Adults

Updated June 2, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Last call : a true story of love, lust, and murder in queer New York
Green, Elon
**WINNER OF THE EDGAR® AWARD FOR BEST FACT CRIME** A "terrific, harrowing, true-crime account of an elusive serial killer who preyed upon gay men in the 1990s." -The New York Times (Editor's Pick) "In this astonishing and powerful work of...
Tomorrow will be different : love, loss, and the fight for trans equality
McBride, Sarah
Sarah McBride is on a mission to fight for transgender rights around the world. But before she was a prominent activist, and before she became the first transgender person to speak at the Democratic National Convention in 2016, she was a teenager struggling with her identity. With...
All in : an autobiography
King, Billie Jean
NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER * An inspiring and intimate self-portrait of the champion of equality that encompasses her brilliant tennis career, unwavering activism, and an ongoing commitment to fairness and social justice. "A story about the personal strength, immense growth,...
The boy with a bird in his chest : a novel
Lund, Emme
Longlisted for The Center for Fiction 2022 First Novel Prize "A modern coming-of-age full of love, desperation, heartache, and magic" (Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize-winning author) about "the ways in which family, grief, love, queerness, and vulnerability all intersect"...
Untamed
Doyle, Glennon
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * OVER TWO MILLION COPIES SOLD! "Packed with incredible insight about what it means to be a woman today."--Reese Witherspoon (Reese's Book Club Pick) In her most revealing and powerful memoir yet, the activist, speaker, bestselling author, and...
Fieldwork : a forager's memoir
Regan, Iliana
From National Book Award-nominee Iliana Regan, a new memoir of her life and heritage as a forager, spanning her ancestry in Eastern Europe, her childhood in rural Indiana, and her new life set in the remote forests of Michigan''s Upper Peninsula. Fieldwork explores how...
Here for it : or, how to save your soul in America : essays
Thomas, R. Eric
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * Read with Jenna Book Club Pick as Featured on Today * From the creator of Elle's "Eric Reads the News," a heartfelt and hilarious memoir-in-essays about growing up seeing the world differently, finding unexpected hope, and experiencing every...
Leaving isn't the hardest thing : essays
Hough, Lauren
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * "A memoir in essays about so many things--growing up in an abusive cult, coming of age as a lesbian in the military, forced out by homophobia, living on the margins as a working class woman and what it's like to grow into the person you are meant to...
Dear Senthuran : a Black spirit memoir
Emezi, Akwaeke
FEATURED ON THE COVER OF TIME MAGAZINE AS A 2021 NEXT GENERATION LEADER "A once-in-a-generation voice." - Vulture "One of our greatest living writers." - Shondaland A full-throated and provocative memoir in letters from the New York Times bestselling...
The Celebrants
Rowley, Steven.
New York Times Bestseller A TODAY Show #ReadWithJenna Book Club Pick A Big Chill for our times, celebrating decades-long friendships and promises--especially to ourselves--by the bestselling and beloved author of The Guncle. It's been a...
Real life
Taylor, Brandon
Almost everything about Wallace, an introverted African-American transplant from Alabama, is at odds with the lakeside Midwestern university town where he is studying for a biochem degree. For reasons of self-preservation, he has kept a distance even from his own friends - some dating each other,...
The new old me : my late-life reinvention
Maran, Meredith
"A funny, seasoned take on dashed illusions."--O Magazine  "I love everything Meredith Maran writes. She is insightful, funny, and human, and the things she writes about matter to me deeply. Her memoir, The New Old Me, is a book I don't just want to...
Ten steps to Nanette : a memoir situation
Gadsby, Hannah
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Multi-award-winning Hannah Gadsby broke comedy with their show Nanette. Now they take us through the defining moments in their life and their powerful decision to tell the truth--no matter the cost. Don't miss Hannah Gadsby's...
Sister outsider : essays and speeches
Lorde, Audre.
"Sister Outsider, a collection of essays and speeches by the pioneering feminist Audre Lorde, is one of my all-time-favorite books. It's always great to have an intersectional tome on hand." --Amanda Gorman   "Sister Outsider's teachings, by one of our...
Let the record show : a political history of ACT UP New York, 1987-1993
Schulman, Sarah
Based on more than two hundred interviews with ACT UP members and rich with lessons for today's activists, Let the Record Show is a revelatory exploration - and long-overdue reassessment - of the coalition's inner workings, conflicts, achievements, and ultimate fracture. Sarah Schulman, one of the...
Dykette : a novel
Davis, Jenny Fran
Named one of the Best LGBTQ+ Books of 2023 (So Far) by Vogue * Named a Best Book of 2023 (So Far) by Cosmopolitan * Named a Best Book of Spring 2023 by Esquire * Named a Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Book of 2023 by BuzzFeed, Electric...
The great believers
Makkai, Rebecca
PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST A NEW YORK TIMES TOP 10 BOOK OF 2018 LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE WINNER ALA CARNEGIE MEDAL WINNER THE STONEWALL BOOK AWARD WINNER Soon to Be a Major Television Event, optioned by...
Your driver is waiting : a novel
Guns, Priya
A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: Autostraddle, Shondaland, Booklist * In this electrifyingly fierce and funny social satire--inspired by the iconic 1970s film Taxi Driver--a ride share driver is barely holding it together on the hunt for love, dignity, and financial security....
Up with the sun
Mallon, Thomas
A WASHINGTON POST BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR * Through the curious life of Dick Kallman--a real-life celebrity striver, poisonously charming actor, and eventual murder victim--the unforgiving worlds of postwar showbiz and down-low gay sexuality are thrown into stark relief in this "page...
Confidence : a novel
Frumkin, Rafael
One of The Washington Post's 50 Best Works of Fiction of 2023 A New York Times Editors' Choice One of Them's Best Books of 2023 One of Crimereads Best Crime Novels of 2023 "Theranos but make it gay." --Electric Literature<...
¡Hola Papi! : how to come out in a Walmart parking lot and other life lessons
Brammer, John Paul
LGBTQ advice columnist John Paul Brammer writes a "wise and charming" (David Sedaris) memoir-in-essays chronicling his journey from a queer, mixed-race kid in America's heartland to becoming the "Chicano Carrie Bradshaw" of his generation. "A master class of tone and...
Time is a mother
Vuong, Ocean
"Take your time with these poems, and return to them often." --The Washington Post The New York Times-bestselling collection of poems from the award-winning writer Ocean Vuong How else do we return to ourselves but to fold The...
The late Americans
Taylor, Brandon
INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER NAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE YEAR BY VOGUE, ELLE, OPRAH DAILY, THE WASHINGTON POST, BUZZFEED AND VULTURE "Erudite, intimate, hilarious, poignant . . . A gorgeously written novel of youth's promise, of...
Flux : a novel
Chong, Jinwoo
Can we ever really change the past, or the future? What truth do we owe our families? What truth do we owe ourselves? In FLUX, a brilliant debut in the vein of William Gibson's Neuromancer and Ling Ma's Severance, Jinwoo Chong introduces us to three characters - Bo, Brandon and Blue - who are...
Homebodies : a novel
Denton-Hurst, Tembe
"[A] sharp, charming and passionate debut." --New York Times Book Review A Most Anticipated Book of 2023 by Elle, USA Today, Bustle, Ebony, Harper's Bazaar, PopSugar, New York Post, The Skimm, and The Millions. A Best Book of 2023 by Marie Claire, Esquire, Vogue, them,...
Something wild & wonderful
Kelly, Anita (Romance author)
From the author of Love & Other Disasters comes a sparkling sullen-meets-sunshine romance featuring two men's sweeping journey across the Western wilderness.  Alexei Lebedev's journey on the Pacific Crest Trail begins with a single snake. And it is...
Tripping Arcadia : a novel
Mayquist, Kit
Med school dropout Lena is desperate for a job to help her parents who are approaching bankruptcy. When she is offered a position working for one of Boston's most elite families, the Verdeaus, she knows she must accept it - no matter how bizarre the interview. Working overtime, Lena discovers the...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.