New Adult Books July 2023

Updated June 25, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
1964: Eyes of the Storm
McCartney, Paul
Taken with a 35mm camera by Paul McCartney, these largely unseen photographs capture the explosive period, from the end of 1963 through early 1964, in which The Beatles became an international sensation and changed the course of music history. Featuring 275 images from the six cities--Liverpool,...
The 272 : The Families Who Were Enslaved and Sold to Build the American Catholic Church
Swarns, Rachel L.
"An absolutely essential addition to the history of the Catholic Church, whose involvement in New World slavery sustained the Church and, thereby, helped to entrench enslavement in American society."-Annette Gordon-Reed, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Hemingses of Monticello and...
Alchemy of a Blackbird
McMillan, Claire
Named a Best Book of 2023 by Book Riot For fans of The Age of Light and Z comes a "beguiling novel of artistic ambition, perseverance, and friendship" (Katy Hays, New York Times bestselling author) based on the true story of the 20th-century...
All the gold stars : reimagining ambition and the ways we strive
Stauffer, Rainesford
From journalist and author of An Ordinary Age, an examination, dismantling, and reconstruction of ambition, where burnout is the symptom of our holiest sin: the lonely way we strive. Ambition--the want, the hunger, the need to achieve--is woven into America's...
The Beast You Are
Tremblay, Paul.
A haunting collection of short fiction from the bestselling author of The Pallbearers Club, A Head Full of Ghosts, and The Cabin at the End of the World. Paul Tremblay has won widespread acclaim for illuminating the dark horrors of the mind in novels and stories that push...
Blight : fungi and the coming pandemic
Monosson, Emily
Fungi are everywhere. Most are harmless; some are helpful. A few are killers. Collectively, infectious fungi are the most devastating agents of disease on earth, and a fungus that can persist in the environment without its host is here to stay. In Blight, Emily Monosson documents how trade,...
Crook Manifesto
Whitehead, Colson
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author of Harlem Shuffle continues his Harlem saga in a powerful and hugely-entertaining novel that summons 1970s New York in all its seedy glory. A Best Book of the Year: The New...
A Disappearance in Fiji
Rao, Nilima
A charming and atmospheric debut mystery featuring a 25-year-old Indian police sergeant investigating a missing persons case in colonial Fiji 1914, Fiji: Akal Singh, 25, would rather be anywhere but this tropical paradise--or, as he calls it, "this godforsaken island." After a...
The Elissas : three girls, one fate, and the deadly secrets of suburbia
Leach, Samantha
Amazon's Best Nonfiction Book of the Month for June 2023 Nylon's "June 2023's Must-Read Book Releases" Pure Wow's "11 Books We Can't Wait to Read in June" The Skimm's "17 of Our Favorite Books Coming Out This Summer"
Farrell Covington and the Limits of Style
Rudnick, Paul.
"A case study in elegant, honest tragicomedy...by the genuinely hilarious Paul Rudnick" (Gary Shteyngart, New York Times bestselling author) that follows the decades-long, rule-breaking romance between the son of one of America's wealthiest families and a middle-class aspiring...
Flags on the Bayou
Burke, James Lee
EDGAR AWARD WINNER FOR BEST NOVEL OF THE YEAR From New York Times-bestselling author James Lee Burke comes a novel set in Civil War-era Louisiana as the South transforms and a brilliant cast of characters - enslaved and free women, plantation gentry, and battle-weary Confederate and Union...
Immortal Longings
Gong, Chloe.
A NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER Chloe Gong's adult epic fantasy debut, inspired by Shakespeare's Antony and Cleopatra, is a "smart, imaginative, and brutal" (Wesley Chu, New York Times bestselling author of The War Arts Saga) collision of...
The Librarianist
Dewitt, Patrick
NATIONAL BESTSELLER From bestselling and award-winning author Patrick deWitt comes the story of Bob Comet, a man who has lived his life through and for literature, unaware that his own experience is a poignant and affecting narrative in itself.  Bob Comet is a retired librarian...
Same time next summer
Monaghan, Annabel
"Bursting with the magic of first love, it's everything I want in a summer romance." --Carley Fortune, #1 New York Times bestselling author of EVERY SUMMER AFTER Named a Best Book of Summer by Real Simple * Reader's Digest * Country Living * The Skimm *...
Somebody's Fool
Russo, Richard.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Empire Falls returns to North Bath, in upstate New York, and to the characters that captured the hearts and imaginations of millions of readers in his beloved best sellers Nobody's Fool and Everybody's...
Thief Liar Lady
Soria, D. L.
"Happily Ever After" is a total scam, but at least this time the princess is the one controlling the grift--until her true love arrives and threatens to ruin the whole scheme. Intrigue, magic, and wit abound in this Cinderella fairytale reimagining, perfect for fans of Heather Walter and Naomi...
To have and to heist
Desai, Sara
Simi Chopra is on a bad-luck streak. She's lost yet another job, her student loan debt won't stop growing, her basement apartment is a certifiable flood zone, and now her best friend has been accused of stealing a multimillion-dollar diamond necklace. To put it lightly, she's desperate for a break -...
Translation state
Leckie, Ann
The mystery of a missing translator sets three lives on a collision course that will have a ripple effect across the stars in this powerful novel from a Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke award-winning author. "There are few who write science fiction like Ann Leckie can...
What an owl knows : the new science of the world's most enigmatic birds
Ackerman, Jennifer
An instant New York Times bestseller! A New York Times Notable Book of 2023 Named a Best Book of 2023 by Publishers Weekly From the author of The Genius of Birds and The Bird Way, a brilliant scientific investigation into...
Zero Days
Ware, Ruth
The New York Times bestselling "new Agatha Christie" (Air Mail) Ruth Ware returns with this adrenaline-fueled thriller that combines Mr. and Mrs. Smith with The Fugitive about a woman in a race against time to clear her name and find her husband's murderer. ...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.