New Castle County Staff Picks - August 2023

Updated August 28, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The door-to-door bookstore : a novel
Henn, Carsten
Ebook
The charming international bestseller about an unlikely friendship between an elderly door-to-door bookseller and a nine-year-old girl that changes his life. Small-town German bookseller Carl Kollhoff delivers his books to special customers in the evening hours after closing...
Holding pattern
Xie, Jenny
Paper Book
NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY TIME, VOGUE, VULTURE, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE A NATIONAL BOOK FOUNDATION "5 UNDER 35" HONOREE "Exquisite and wise." - New York Times "There is so much heart in these pages, so...
The housekeepers : a novel
Hay, Alex.
Paper Book
The night of London's grandest ball, a bold group of women downstairs plot a daring revenge heist against Mayfair society in this dazzling historical novel about power, gender, and class Named a Best Book of Summer by The Washington Post * Good Housekeeping ...
The spectacular : a novel
Davis, Fiona
Paper Book
From the New York TimesBestselling Author of The Magnolia Palace- A thrilling story about love, sacrifice, and the pursuit of dreams, set amidst the glamour and glitz of Radio City Music Hall in its mid-century heyday. New York City, 1956- Nineteen-year-old Marion...
Love, honor, betray
Monroe, Mary
Paper Book
Award-winning New York Times bestselling author Mary Monroe delivers the latest thrillingly scandal-filled novel in her Depression-era saga of a church-going lady and her oh-so-upstanding husband racing to cover up their many sins--and gambling on one scheme too many. . . ...
The sun walks down
McFarlane, Fiona
Paper Book
Short-Listed for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction Named a Top 10 Best Book of the Year by The Wall Street Journal Named a Best Book of the Year by Kirkus and Chicago Public Library "The Sun Walks Down is the book I'm...
Watch us shine : a novel
De los Santos, Marisa
Paper Book
Marisa de los Santos returns to the world of her beloved, bestselling novels Love Walked In and Belong to Me in an enthralling tale of sisterhood, sacrifice, and the enduring power of love. "Bring me the Northern Lights." Cornelia Brown is reeling...
House of cotton
Brashears, Monica
Paper Book
FINALIST for the 2024 NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award * NPR BEST BOOK OF 2023 * An enchanting Black Southern gothic debut, perfect for readers of Mexican Gothic... "Fresh, haunting...In her roller-coaster ride of a gothic debut novel, Monica Brashears upends expectations at...
Better living through birding : notes from a Black man in the natural world
Cooper, Christian
Paper Book
NEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER . Central Park birder Christian Cooper takes us beyond the viral video that shocked a nation and into a world of avian adventures, global excursions, and the unexpected lessons you can learn from a life spent looking up. "Wondrous . . ....
Kiss me in the Coral Lounge : intimate confessions from a happy marriage
Ellis, Helen
Paper Book
Even twenty years into marriage, Helen Ellis's husband still makes her heart pitter patter. TheNew York Timesbestselling author paints a portrait of true romance for our times in these surprising, sexy, and hilariously frank essays about love, marriage, and her last first kiss. ...
And there was light : Abraham Lincoln and the American struggle
Meacham, Jon
Paper Book
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER . Pulitzer Prize-winning biographerJon Meacham chronicles the life of Abraham Lincoln, charting how-and why-he confronted secession, threats to democracy, and the tragedy of slavery to expand the possibilities of America. "Meacham has given us...
Strong female character
Brady, Fern
Paper Book
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER * "Witty, dry, and gimlet-eyed, this is a necessary corrective in a world where Autistic women are all either written off as quiet and docile, or erased entirely." --Devon Price, Ph.D., author of Unmasking Autism Scottish comedian Fern Brady was told...
The teachers : a year inside America's most vulnerable, important profession
Robbins, Alexandra
Paper Book
***A National Bestseller*** A riveting, must-read, year-in-the-life account of three teachers, combined with reporting that reveals what's really going on behind school doors, by New York Times bestselling author and education expert Alexandra Robbins.  ...
The sewing girl's tale : a story of crime and consequences in Revolutionary America
Sweet, John Wood
Paper Book
New York Times Editors' Choice Winner of the Bancroft PrizeWinner of the Francis Parkman Prize Winner of the Gotham Book Prize Winner of the New York Society Library's New York City Book AwardJournal of the...
The talk
Bell, Darrin
Paper Book
Winner of the NAACP Image Award in Outstanding Graphic Novels Winner of the Libby Award for Best Comic/Graphic Novel of the Year Nominated for an Eisner Award for Best Graphic Memoir Named The Year's Best Graphic Novel by Publishers Weekly
George : a magpie memoir
Hughes, Frieda
Paper Book
"Poignant and funny...a passionate book about unconditional love and commitment." --The Washington Post * "Captivating." --Associated Press * "Rich with imagery...It's impossible not to be smitten." --Star Tribune (Minneapolis) From poet and painter Frieda Hughes...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.