New Adult Books October 2023

Updated September 27, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The Berry Pickers
Peters, Amanda.
NATIONAL BESTSELLER 2023 Barnes & Noble Discover Prize Winner Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction A four-year-old Mi'kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a mystery that will haunt the survivors, unravel a family,...
The Coming Wave : Technology, Power, and the Twenty-first Century's Greatest Dilemma
Suleyman, Mustafa/ Bhaskar, Michael.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * An urgent warning of the unprecedented risks that AI and other fast-developing technologies pose to global order, and how we might contain them while we have the chance--from a co-founder of the pioneering artificial intelligence company DeepMind...
Doppelganger : A Trip into the Mirror World
Klein, Naomi.
A finalist for the 2023 National Book Critics Circle Award NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | National Indie Bestseller A New York Times notable book of 2023 | Vulture's #1 book of 2023 One of Slate's ten best books of...
Family meal : a novel
Washington, Bryan
"A stunning look at what it really means to be family." --Michael Schaub, NPR From the bestselling, award-winning author of Memorial and Lot, an irresistible, intimate novel about two young men, once best friends, whose lives collide again after a loss. ...
Flee north : a forgotten hero and the fight for freedom in slavery's borderland
Shane, Scott
A Publishers Weekly Top 10 Book of the Year A riveting account of the extraordinary abolitionist, liberator, and writer Thomas Smallwood, who bought his own freedom, led hundreds out of slavery, and named the underground railroad, from Pulitzer Prize-winning author and...
The Graham effect
Kennedy, Elle
The first book in the delicious, icy-hot Campus Diaries series, a spinoff of BookTok sensations Off-Campus and Briar U, by New York Times bestselling author Elle Kennedy. Gigi Graham has exactly three goals: qualify for the women's national hockey team, win Olympic gold, and step out of...
How to Say Babylon
Sinclair, Safiya.
National Book Critics Circle Award Winner A New York Times Notable Book A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick! A Best Book of 2023 by the New York Times, Time, The Washington Post, Vulture, Shelf Awareness<...
The last island : discovery, defiance, and the most elusive tribe on earth
Goodheart, Adam
"A deft combination of adventure, history, reportage and elegy."--Washington Post A journey to the coast of North Sentinel Island, home to a tribe believed to be the most isolated human community on earth. The Sentinelese people want to be left alone and will shoot deadly...
Let Us Descend
Ward, Jesmyn.
OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK * Instant New York Times Bestseller * Named one of the best books of 2023 by The Washington Post, Vanity Fair, The Boston Globe, Time, The New Yorker, and more. "Nothing short of epic,...
Madonna : A Rebel Life
Gabriel, Mary.
New York Times Editors' Choice, One of NPR's Best Books of the Year In this "infinitely readable" biography, award-winning author Mary Gabriel chronicles the meteoric rise and enduring influence of the greatest female pop icon of the modern era: Madonna (...
Mcu : The Reign of Marvel Studios
Robinson, Joanna/ Gonzales, Dave/ Edwards, Gavin.
Marvel Entertainment was a moribund toymaker not even twenty years ago. Today, Marvel Studios is the dominant player both in Hollywood and in global pop culture. How did an upstart studio conquer the world? In MCU, beloved culture writers Joanna Robinson, Dave Gonzales, and Gavin Edwards draw on...
Murder by Degrees
Mukerji, Ritu.
An Edgar Award Finalist for Best First Novel For fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Todd, Murder by Degrees is a historical mystery set in 19th-century Philadelphia, following a pioneering woman doctor as she investigates the disappearance of a young patient who is...
North woods : a novel
Mason, Daniel
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW TOP TEN BOOK OF THE YEAR A WASHINGTON POST TOP TEN BOOK OF THE YEAR * FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD A sweeping novel about a single house in the woods of New England, told...
The Reformatory
Due, Tananarive.
A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner and a New York Times Notable Book "You're in for a treat. The Reformatory is one of those books you can't put down. Tananarive Due hit it out of the park." --Stephen King A gripping, page-turning novel set in Jim Crow...
The secret hours
Herron, Mick
A gripping spy thriller from the bestselling author of Slow Horses, about a disastrous MI5 mission in Cold War Berlin--an absolute must-read for Slough House fans. Set in the MI5 world of Slow Horses, now an Apple Original series from Apple TV+ starring Gary...
Starling house
Harrow, Alix E.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK "This book has everything you could possibly want this fall...a cursed town, a haunted house, a vivid & eerie setting--plus, characters willing to risk everything." --Reese Witherspoon (Reese's Book Club October '23 Pick)...
The vaster wilds
Groff, Lauren
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVORITE BOOKS OF 2023 NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY NPR, TIME, ESQUIRE, VOGUE, LA TIMES, SLATE, HARPER'S BAZAAR and others "Part historical, part...
Wellness
Hill, Nathan
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK * AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR * The New York Times best-selling author of The Nix is back with a poignant and witty novel about a modern marriage and the bonds that keep people together. Mining the...
Wild Girls : How the Outdoors Shaped the Women Who Challenged a Nation
Miles, Tiya.
A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice A Publishers Weekly and New York Public Library Best Book of 2023 An award-winning historian shows how girls who found self-understanding in the natural world became women who changed America. Harriet...
Witch of wild things
Vasquez Gilliland, Raquel
Sage Flores has been running from her family - and their 'gifts' - ever since her younger sister Sky died. Eight years later, Sage reluctantly returns to her hometown. Like slipping into an old, comforting sweater, Sage takes back her job at Cranberry Rose Company and uses her ability to communicate...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.