New Castle County Staff Picks - October 2023

Updated September 30, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
What have we done
Finlay, Alex
In this "top-notch mystery thriller" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) from Alex Finlay, What Have We Done is a tale about the lives we leave behind and the secrets we carry with us forever. One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2023:* BookPage...
Sure, I'll join your cult : a memoir of mental illness and the quest to belong anywhere
Bamford, Maria
From "weird, scary, ingenious" (The New York Times) stand-up comedian Maria Bamford, an instant New York Times bestselling, brutally honest, and "laugh-out-loud funny" (Jennette McCurdy, #1 New York Times bestselling author) memoir about show business, mental health, and the...
Small town sins : a novel
Jaworowski, Ken
EDGAR AWARD FINALIST Ken Jaworowski's Small Town Sins is a gripping Rust Belt thriller that captures the characters of a down-and-out Pennsylvania town, revealing their troubled pasts and the crimes that could cost them their lives. In Locksburg,...
The mostly true story of Tanner & Louise
Oakley, Colleen
A Good Morning America Buzz Pick * A Marie Claire Book Club Pick for April * A Reader's Digest Book Club Pick for April * A LibraryReads Pick * One of Southern Living's Most Anticipated 2023 Releases * One of Today's Most Anticipated 2023 Releases An...
Disobedient
Fremantle, Elizabeth
A riveting novel based on the life of Artemisia Gentileschi--the greatest female painter of the Renaissance--as she forges her own destiny in a world dominated by the will of men. This is the ring that you gave me, and these are your promises. 
Mister Magic : a novel
White, Kiersten
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * Who is Mister Magic? Former child stars reunite to uncover the tragedy that ended their show--and discover the secret of its enigmatic host--in this "skin-crawling story of pop culture fandom and '90s nostalgia" (Melissa Albert, author of The Hazel Woods) from...
Alchemy of a blackbird : a novel
McMillan, Claire
Named a Best Book of 2023 by Book Riot For fans of The Age of Light and Z comes a "beguiling novel of artistic ambition, perseverance, and friendship" (Katy Hays, New York Times bestselling author) based on the true story of the 20th-century...
Wellness
Hill, Nathan
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK * AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR * The New York Times best-selling author of The Nix is back with a poignant and witty novel about a modern marriage and the bonds that keep people together. Mining the...
The first bright thing
Dawson, J. R. (Omaha teaching artist)
If you knew how dark tomorrow would be, what would you do with today? "This is the magic circus book that I have been looking for all my life."―Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author of Every Heart A Doorway Ringmaster -- Rin,...
The perfection trap : embracing the power of good enough
Curran, Thomas
"Offers a hopeful beacon and a steady path for anyone struggling to find their footing in a world of impossible standards." --Daniel H. Pink, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Drive and The Power of Regret In the tradition of Brené Brown's bestseller...
August Wilson : a life
Hartigan, Patti
The first authoritative biography of August Wilson, the most important and successful American playwright of the late 20th century, by a theater critic who knew him. August Wilson wrote a series of ten plays celebrating African American life in the 20th century, one play for each...
Of time and turtles : mending the world, shell by shattered shell
Montgomery, Sy
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * NATIONAL BESTSELLER * AMAZON EDITOR'S PICK and BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR * INDIE BESTSELLER * A SMITHSONIAN MAGAZINE'S BEST SCIENCE BOOK OF THE YEAR * THE WASHINGTON POST'S BEST NONFICTION OF THE YEAR PICK * A NEW SCIENTIST BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR *THE PERFECT...
Tangled vines : power, privilege, and the Murdaugh family murders
Glatt, John
2024 EDGAR AWARD NOMINEE FOR BEST FACT CRIME NOVEL In Tangled Vines, bestselling true crime author John Glatt reconstructs the rise of the prestigious Murdaugh family and the shocking double murder that led to the downfall of its patriarch, Alex Murdaugh. <...
What the dead know : learning about life as a New York City death investigator
Butcher, Barbara
Now featured in the five-part docuseries on Netflix, Homicide: New York A "remarkably candid and sensitive" (The Wall Street Journal) memoir of more than twenty years of death-scene investigations by New York City death investigator Barbara Butcher. ...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.