New Adult Books December 2023

Updated November 27, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Chaos terminal
Lafferty, Mur
Mallory Viridian would rather not be an amateur detective, thank you very much. But no matter what she does, people persist in dying around her - and only she seems to be able to solve the crime. After fleeing to an alien space station in hopes that the lack of humans would stop the murders, a...
Day : a novel
Cunningham, Michael
NATIONAL BESTELLER * An "exquisite" (The Boston Globe) exploration of love and loss, the struggles and limitations of family life--and how we all must learn to live together and apart--from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Hours "The only problem with...
The Frozen River
Lawhon, Ariel.
GMA BOOK CLUB PICK * AN NPR BOOK OF THE YEAR * From the New York Times bestselling author of I Was Anastasia and Code Name Hélène comes a gripping historical mystery inspired by the life and diary of Martha Ballard, a renowned 18th-century...
Gator country : deception, danger, and alligators in the Everglades
Renner, Rebecca
A New York Times Editors' Choice "Delivers everything its title promises and much more." - NPR "Remarkable... Every species, and every person who fights for its continued existence, deserves a book like this." -- The New York Times
The good part : a novel
Cousens, Sophie
Is living the life you've wished for really a dream come true? Lucy Young is twenty-six and tired. Tired of fetching coffees for senior TV producers, sick of going on disastrous dates, and done with living in a damp flat with roommates who never buy toilet paper. After another...
A grandmother begins the story
Porter, Michelle
From award-winning Métis author Michelle Porter, a powerfully funning and moving story told not just by five generations of Métis women, but also by the land, the bison that surround them, and two utterly captivating dogs. Carter is a young mother on a quest to...
A holly jolly ever after
Murphy, Julie
From the authors of A Merry Little Meet Cute comes a steamy holiday rom-com cowritten by #1 New York Times bestselling author Julie Murphy and USA Today bestselling author Sierra Simone--about an actress and a perpetually single former boy-band member reunited as costars on a...
The lost tomb : and other real-life stories of bones, burials, and murder
Preston, Douglas J.
Douglas Preston, the #1 bestselling author of The Lost City of the Monkey God, presents the jaw-dropping discovery of a vast Egyptian tomb containing dozens of sealed burial chambers, as well as recounting tales of pirate treasure, mysterious deaths, archaeological mysteries, and more......
Material world : the six raw materials that shape modern civilization
Conway, Ed
THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE * AN ECONOMIST BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR * Sand, salt, iron, copper, oil, and lithium. These fundamental materials have created empires, razed civilizations, and fed our ingenuity and greed for thousands of years. Without them,...
The Night Parade : A Speculative Memoir
Lin, Jami Nakamura.
A Most Anticipated Book by Poets & Writers * The Boston Globe * San Francisco Chronicle * Los Angeles Times * The Millions * Library Journal * Book Riot * Debutiful * and many more!  In the groundbreaking tradition of In the Dream House and The Collected Schizophrenias,...
November 1942 : An Intimate History of the Turning Point of World War II
Englund, Peter/ Graves, Peter (TRN)
The New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice * An intimate history of the most important month of World War II, completely based on the diaries, letters and memoirs of the people who lived through it At the beginning of November 1942, it looked as if the Axis powers...
The Other Mothers
Faulkner, Katherine.
"A deliciously twisted thriller!" --People A shocking murder rattles an exclusive London neighborhood in this "fast-paced, decadent skewering of upper middle-class motherhood" (Sarah Bonner, New York Times bestselling author) from the author of Greenwich Park<...
Past lying
McDermid, Val
In this superb new addition to Val McDermid's masterful crime series, DCI Karen Pirie returns in a propulsive thriller of deceit and vengeance, set against the disquiet of a global pandemic Britain's reigning "Queen of Crime" (The Scotsman), Val McDermid is the award...
The Path to Paradise : A Francis Ford Coppola Story
Wasson, Sam.
"Sam Wasson's supremely entertaining book tracks the ups and downs, ins and outs, of a remarkable career. . . . A marvel of unshowy reportage."--New York Times The New York Times bestselling author of Fifth Avenue, 5 A.M. and The Big Goodbye returns with the definitive account of Academy...
A power unbound
Marske, Freya
An Indie Next and LibraryReads "Hall of Fame" Pick! A Power Unbound is the final entry in Freya Marske's beloved, award-winning Last Binding trilogy, the queer historical fantasy series that began with A Marvellous Light. "Messy people and...
A Rome of One's Own : The Forgotten Women of the Roman Empire
Southon, Emma.
From the acclaimed author of A Fatal Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, a wildly entertaining new history of Rome that uses the lives of 21 women to upend our understanding of the ancient world The history of Rome has long been narrow and one-sided,...
Same bed different dreams : a novel in three novels
Park, Ed
New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice . A wild, sweeping novel that imagines an alternate secret history of Korea and the traces it leaves on the present-loaded with assassins and mad poets, RPGs and slasher films, pop bands and the perils of social media "Your view of...
The second chance year
Wiesner, Melissa
In this unforgettable story full of charm, wit--and just a bit of magic--a woman down on her luck is given a second chance at fixing her life and trying one year all over again. Perfect for readers of Josie Silver and Rebecca Serle.  Sadie Thatcher's life has...
Ufo : The Inside Story of the Us Government's Search for Alien Life Here - and Out There
Graff, Garrett M.
"One of the rare books on the topic that manages to be both entertaining and factually grounded." --The Wall Street Journal From the bestselling author of Raven Rock, The Only Plane in the Sky, and Watergate (finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in history)...
The Warsaw Sisters : a novel of WWII Poland
Barratt, Amanda
On a golden August morning in 1939, sisters Antonina and Helena Dąbrowska send their father off to defend Poland against the looming threat of German invasion. The next day, the first bombs fall on Warsaw, decimating their beloved city and shattering the world of their youth. When...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.