New Adult Books January 2024

Updated December 27, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Airplane mode : an irreverent history of travel
Habib, Shahnaz
Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medals of Excellence This witty personal and cultural history of travel from the perspective of a Third World-raised woman of color, Airplane Mode, asks: what does it mean to be a joyous traveler when we live in the ruins of colonialism,...
All the little bird-hearts
Lloyd-Barlow, Viktoria
"A poetic debut which masterfully intertwines themes of familial love, friendship, class, prejudice and trauma with psychological acuity and wit." ─ The 2023 Booker Prize Judges I lived for and loved a bird-heart that summer; I only knew it...
Be a Revolution : How Everyday People Are Fighting Oppression and Changing the World, and How You Can, Too
Oluo, Ijeoma.
From the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of So You Want to Talk About Race and Mediocre, an eye-opening and galvanizing look at the current state of anti-racist activism across America. In the #1 New York Times bestseller So You Want To Talk About Race, Ijeoma Oluo...
Beautyland
Bertino, Marie-Helene
A Dakota Johnson x TeaTime Book Club Pick A Must-Read: Nylon, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, Chicago Review of Books, Literary Hub, The Millions, Kirkus Reviews, BookRiot, The Christian Science Monitor,...
Behind You Is the Sea : A Novel in Stories
Darraj, Susan Muaddi.
"Behind You Is the Sea fearlessly confronts stereotypes about Palestinian culture, weaving a remarkable portrait of life's intricate moments, from joyous weddings to heart-wrenching funerals, from shattered hearts to hidden truths--I wept and grew alongside this family. This is a story that...
The Bullet Swallower
Gonzalez James, Elizabeth
A Most Anticipated Book of 2024 by Goodreads, CrimeReads, The Millions, StyleCaster, The EveryGirl, Sunset, Book Riot, and HipLatina January Recommended Reading by The Washington Post, Kirkus Reviews,...
California Bear
Swierczynski, Duane.
This "fresh, exciting, and brilliantly unpredictable" thriller (James Patterson) from a "great storyteller" (Michael Connelly) follows four unlikely vigilantes who pit themselves against the villain behind California's coldest case when they decide to take justice into their own hands.<...
The Cleaner
Wells, Brandi.
"So inappropriately fun to read." -Booklist, starred review "Welcome to the office building at night, an eerie ship helmed by one woman desperate for connection." --Julia Fine, author of Maddalena and the Dark Every night, she...
The Counterfeit Countess : The Jewish Woman Who Rescued Thousands of Poles During the Holocaust
White, Elizabeth B./ Sliwa, Joanna.
The astonishing story of Dr. Josephine Janina Mehlberg--a Jewish mathematician who saved thousands of lives in Nazi-occupied Poland by masquerading as a Polish aristocrat--drawing on Mehlberg's own unpublished memoir. World War II and the Holocaust have given rise to many stories...
Everyone on This Train Is a Suspect
Stevenson, Benjamin
From the bestselling author of Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone, a fiendishly fun locked room (train) murder mystery that "offers a tip of the hat to the great Agatha Christie novel while at the same time being a modern reinvention of it" (Nita Prose) -- perfect for fans of Richard Osman...
The gentleman's gambit
Dunmore, Evie
"Dunmore is my new find in historical romance. Her A League of Extraordinary Women series is extraordinary."--Julia Quinn, #1 New York Times bestselling author A BookBub Best Romance of Winter 2024! Bookish suffragist Catriona Campbell is busy: An ailing...
Into Siberia : George Kennan's epic journey through the brutal, frozen heart of Russia
Wallance, Gregory
"In Wallance's bracing narrative, Kennan emerges as a cheerful, deeply decent companion, an uncompromising observer whose greatest strength was his ability to change his mind. He's a welcome change from the callous imperialists who people most Victorian travelogues, and his humanity allows...
Not the End of the World : How We Can Be the First Generation to Build a Sustainable Planet
Ritchie, Hannah.
This "eye-opening and essential" book (Bill Gates) will transform how you see our biggest environmental problems--and explains how we can solve them. It's become common to tell kids that they're going to die from climate change. We are constantly bombarded by doomsday headlines...
Orbital
Harvey, Samantha.
A slender novel of epic power, Orbital deftly snapshots one day in the lives of six women and men hurtling through space--not towards the moon or the vast unknown, but around our planet. Selected for one of the last space station missions of its kind before the program is dismantled,...
Praisesong for the kitchen ghosts : stories and recipes from five generations of black country cooks
Wilkinson, Crystal
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A lyrical culinary journey that explores the hidden legacy of Black Appalachians, through powerful storytelling alongside nearly forty comforting recipes, from the former poet laureate of Kentucky."With Praisesong for the Kitchen Ghosts...
Rental Person Who Does Nothing : A Memoir
Morimoto, Shoji.
***Now an International Bestseller!*** "Distinctively Japanese musings on meaning and connection."--Observer I'm starting a service... available for any situation in which all you want is a person to be there. Maybe there's a restaurant you want...
River East, River West
Rey Lescure, Aube.
LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE Set against the backdrop of developing modern China, this mesmerizing literary debut is part coming-of-age tale, part family and social drama, as it follows two generations searching for belonging and opportunity in a rapidly changing world--perfect for...
This wretched valley
Kiefer, Jenny
"A hallucinatory nightmare of a novel that blends adventure, horror and historical fiction, and isn't shy about violence or strangeness."--New York Times "If you love wilderness horror, This Wretched Valley is a must-read."--Alma Katsu,...
Transient and Strange : Notes on the Science of Life
Greenfieldboyce, Nell.
In her career as a science reporter, Nell Greenfieldboyce has reported from inside a space shuttle, the bottom of a coal mine, and the control room of a particle collider; she's presented news on the color of dinosaur eggs, ice worms that live on mountaintop glaciers, and signs of life on Venus....
Wild and Distant Seas
Roberts, Tara Karr
Evangeline Hussey has made a home for herself on Nantucket, though she knows she is still an outsider to the island's small, close-knit community, one that by 1849 has started to feel the decline of a once-thriving whaling industry. Her husband, Hosea, and the life they built together, was once...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.