Galentine's Day

Books about female friendship.

Updated February 8, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The animators : a novel
Whitaker, Kayla Rae
"A wildly original novel that pulses with heart and truth . . . That this powerful exploration of friendship, desire, ambition, and secrets manages to be ebullient, gripping, heartbreaking, and deeply deeply funny is a testament to Kayla Rae Whitaker's formidable gifts. I was so sorry to...
Best beach ever
Wax, Wendy
Forced to rent out or lose their beloved Bella Flora after the loss of their renovation-turned-reality-TV show Do Over, Maddie, Nikki, Avery, Kyra, and Bitsy move into cottages at the Sunshine Hotel and Beach Club believing the worst is over. Only to discover just how uncertain their futures really...
Best friends forever : a novel
Weiner, Jennifer.
Bestselling author Jennifer Weiner's dazzling new novel Best Friends Forever explores the impact of love, desire, and familial loss on a friendship between two young women, and how the choices they make will change their lives forever. One of the nation's most...
Big friendship : how we keep each other close
Sow, Aminatou
A close friendship is one of the most influential and important relationships a human life can contain. Anyone will tell you that! But for all the rosy sentiments surrounding friendship, most people don't talk much about what it really takes to stay close for the long haul. Now...
Big Swiss : a novel
Beagin, Jen
NATIONAL BESTSELLER AND CULT FAVORITE Named a Best Book of the Year by the New Yorker, Time, NPR, Vogue, Elle, Cosmopolitan, Huffington Post, NBC News, Lit Hub, theSkimm, Condé Nast Traveler, Town & Country, and more!...
The break-up book club
Wax, Wendy
On paper, Jazmine, Judith, Erin and Sara have little in common - they're very different people leading very different lives. And yet at book club meetings they bond over a shared love of reading as well as the growing realisation that their lives are not turning out like they expected. With the help...
Bring your baggage and don't pack light : essays
Ellis, Helen
The bestselling author of American Housewife and Southern Lady Code returns with a viciously funny, deeply felt collection of essays on friendship among grown-ass women. When Helen Ellis and her lifelong friends arrive for a reunion on the Redneck Riviera, they...
Embroideries
Satrapi, Marjane
From the best-selling author ofPersepoliscomes this gloriously entertaining and enlightening look into the sex lives of Iranian women.Embroideriesgathers together Marjane’s tough-talking grandmother, stoic mother, glamorous and eccentric aunt and their friends and neighbors for an afternoon of...
The equivalents : a story of art, female friendship, and liberation in the 1960s
Doherty, Maggie
The timely, never-before-told story of five brilliant, passionate women who, in the early 1960s, converged at the newly founded Radcliffe Institute for Independent Study and became friends as well as artistic collaborators, and who went on to shape the course of feminism in ways that are still...
The friendship crisis : finding, making, and keeping friends when you're not a kid anymore
Paul, Marla.
When Marla Paul returned to a Chicago suburb after a 5-year stint in Dallas, she found herself without the true core of friends she once had there or the close circle of pals she enjoyed while in Dallas. Bewildered and frustrated at how hard it was to make new friends, Paul felt like the only one...
I'll be there (but I'll be wearing sweatpants) : finding unfiltered, real-life friendships in this crazy, chaotic world
Weatherly, Amy
Is it just me Am I the only one who's lonely Am I the only one without friends If you've ever asked yourself these questions, Amy Weatherly and Jess Johnston, founders of the widely popular "Sister, I Am with You," community, are raising their hands to say, "Yeah, us too."...
Last summer on State Street : a novel
Wolfe, Toya
PEN Open Book Award finalist Chicago Writers Association Book of the Year Award winner Stephen Curry Underrated Literati Book Club Pick Named a Best Book of Summer by Good Housekeeping, Chicago Magazine, The St. Louis Post Dispatch, Chicago Tribune, Veranda,...
The lido : a novel
Page, Libby
**INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER** "In many ways, this meditation on community and swimming follows in the footsteps of the enormously popular A Man Called Ove... Both are charming and heartwarming."--Kirkus Reviews WE'RE NEVER TOO OLD TO MAKE NEW...
The life council : 10 friends every woman needs
Tremaine, Laura
Offering a path for a new way to think about friendships, The Life Council will inspire and equip you to be a better friend, make new friends, and appreciate how different types of friendships can bring a richness to your life like never before. You'd love to have a "ride or...
Lost along the way
Duffy, Erin
A fresh, funny, and insightful novel about what it really means to be "friends forever" from the acclaimed author of Bond Girl and On the Rocks. All through childhood and adolescence, Jane, Cara, and Meg swore their friendship would stand the test of time. Nothing would come between them,...
Lost roses : a novel
Kelly, Martha Hall
NEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER . The million-copy bestsellerLilac Girlsintroduced the real-life heroine Caroline Ferriday. NowLost Roses, set a generation earlier and also inspired by true events, features Caroline's mother, Eliza, and follows three equally indomitable women from...
Never too real
Wong, Carmen Rita
Cat, Magda, Gabi, and Luz. They've helped each other up the ladder with unshakable encouragement--and raw honesty--since forever. But lately, trouble is throwing everything these formidable women thought they knew into doubt. When outspoken Cat's high-flying T.V. career crashes and...
Nobody's cuter than you : a memoir about the beauty of friendship
Shankle, Melanie.
There is nothing as precious in life as a friend who knows you and loves you in spite of yourself. Yet over the last couple of decades, we've substituted the joy of real friendship with cheap imitations. We settle for "community" on Facebook and Twitter and a series of text messages that allow us to...
The Office BFFs : tales of The Office from two best friends who were there
Fischer, Jenna
INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * One of Esquire's Best Celebrity Memoirs of All Time An intimate, behind-the-scenes, richly illustrated celebration of beloved The Office co-stars Jenna Fischer and Angela Kinsey's friendship, and an insiders' view of Pam Beesly, Angela...
The one hundred years of Lenni and Margot : a novel
Cronin, Marianne
"A beautiful debut, funny, tender, and animated by a willingness to confront life's obstacles and find a way to survive. . . . It celebrates friendship, finds meaning in difficulty and lets the reader explore dark places while always allowing for the possibility of light. Lenni and Margot are...
She matters : a life in friendships
Sonnenberg, Susanna
From the bestselling "immensely gifted" (Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times) author of Her Last Death comes a stunningly candid, compulsively readable, intensely provocative book about female friendships. The New York Times called Susanna...
Significant Others
Eisenberg, Zod.
"I've been searching for a book with female friendships at the heart of it that doesn't feel flippant or melodramatic and I've found it!"  --Jennette McCurdy Two women test how much weight their friendship can hold in this poignant and tender novel.
Sister friends forever
Roby, Kimberla Lawson
This emotional novel from a New York Times bestselling author follows four lifelong friends as each faces a crisis in family, love, and forgiveness.  Serena, Michelle, Kenya, and Lynette have been best friends since they were small children....
The summer sail
Francis, Wendy
"A great summer read for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin." (Library Journal) A trio of college friends who reunite aboard a cruise ship experience an unforgettable vacation in this compelling novel from the author of The Summer of Good Intentions, which...
The sweet spot : a novel
Poeppel, Amy
Amy Poeppel brings her signature "big-hearted, charming" (The Washington Post) style to this wise and joyful novel that celebrates love, hate, and all of the glorious absurdity in between. In the heart of Greenwich Village, three women form an accidental sorority...
Swing time
Smith, Zadie
"Smith's thrilling cultural insights never overshadow the wholeness of her characters, who are so keenly observed that one feels witness to their lives." --O, The Oprah Magazine "A sweeping meditation on art, race, and identity that may be [Smith's] most ambitious work...
Text me when you get home : the evolution and triumph of modern female friendship
Schaefer, Kayleen
'Text me when you get home.' After joyful nights out together, female friends say this to one another as a way of cementing their love. It's about safety but, more than that, it's about solidarity. A validation of female friendship unlike any that's ever existed before, Text Me When You Get Home is...
I thought you said this would work : a novel
Garvin, Ann Wertz
A road trip can drive anyone over the edge--especially two former best friends--in bestselling author Ann Garvin's funny and poignant novel about broken bonds, messy histories, and the power of forgiveness. Widowed Samantha Arias hasn't spoken to Holly Dunfee in forever. It's for...
Truth & Beauty
Patchett, Ann.
"A loving testament to the work and reward of the best friendships, the kind where your arms can't distinguish burden from embrace." -- People New York Times Bestselling author Ann Patchett's first work of nonfiction chronicling her decades-long friendship with the critically...
Windfallen
Moyes, Jojo
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You, the basis for the major motion picture, comes a breathtaking drama of two women whose lives entwine through a lovely English seaside house. For Lottie Swift, Arcadia has always been magical. The breathtaking art deco house...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.