Sam Recommends...

Updated December 9, 2022
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The pull of the stars : a novel
Donoghue, Emma
Paper Book
In Dublin, 1918, a maternity ward at the height of the Great Flu is a small world of work, risk, death, and unlooked-for love, in "Donoghue's best novel since Room" (Kirkus Reviews) In an Ireland doubly ravaged by war and disease, Nurse Julia Power works at an...
A crooked tree : a novel
Mannion, Una
Paper Book
A haunting, suspenseful literary debut that combines a classic coming of age story with a portrait of a fractured American family dealing with the fallout of one summer evening gone terribly wrong. "The night we left Ellen on the road, we drove up the mountain in silence." It is the...
Rosetown
Rylant, Cynthia
Paper Book
From Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant comes the charming story of nine-year-old Flora Smallwood and the eventful year she spends in the quiet community of Rosetown, Indiana. For nine-year-old Flora Smallwood, Rosetown, Indiana, is full of surprises, many of the best of which...
The shadow cipher
Ruby, Laura
Paper Book
"The pleasures of the novel go far beyond the crackling, breathless plot and the satisfaction of watching the puzzle fall into place. The book is shot through with humor, both laugh-out-loud and subtle." --New York Times Book Review From National Book Award finalist and...
Dear Mrs. Bird : a novel
Pearce, A. J.
Paper Book
This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is "a jaunty, heartbreaking winner" (People)--for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie...
Mary Jane: A Novel
Blau, Jessica Anya
Paper Book
"The best book of the summer." -- InStyle "I LOVED this novel....If you have ever sung along to a hit on the radio, in any decade, then you will devour Mary Jane at 45 rpm." --Nick Hornby Almost Famous meets Daisy Jones & The Six in this "delightful" (New York...
Armstrong & Charlie
Frank, Steven
Paper Book
During the pilot year of a Los Angeles school system integration program, Armstrong and Charlie learn to cope with everything from first crushes and playground politics to the loss of loved ones and racial prejudice in the 1970s. Charlie isn't looking forward to sixth grade. If he...
We dream of space
Kelly, Erin Entrada
Paper Book
A Newbery Honor Book * BookPage Best Books * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction * Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee * Horn Book Fanfare * New York Times Notable Children's Book * School Library Journal Best Book * Today Show Pick * An ALA Notable Book "A 10 out of 10 . . . Anyone...
Eternal
Scottoline, Lisa
Paper Book
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER   #1 bestselling author Lisa Scottoline offers a sweeping and shattering epic of historical fiction fueled by shocking true events, the tale of a love triangle that unfolds in the heart of Rome...in the creeping shadow of fascism. ...
War and Millie McGonigle
Cushman, Karen
Paper Book
The Newbery Award-winning author of Catherine, Called Birdyand The Midwife's Apprentice tells a heartfelt and humorous story of WWII on the homefront. Millie McGonigle lives in sunny California, where her days are filled with beach and surf. It should be perfect-...
The huntress : a novel
Quinn, Kate
Paper Book
Don't miss the thrilling new novel from Kate Quinn, The Briar Club, coming July 9th! "...compulsively readable historical fiction...[a] powerful novel about unusual women facing sometimes insurmountable odds with grace, grit, love and tenacity." - Kristin Hannah, The Washington Post <...
The gilded hour
Donati, Sara
Paper Book
The international bestselling author of Into the Wilderness makes her highly anticipated return with a remarkable epic about two female doctors in nineteenth-century New York and the transcendent power of courage and love... The year is 1883, and in New York City, it's a...
Magpie murders
Horowitz, Anthony
Paper Book
"Magpie Murders is a double puzzle for puzzle fans, who don't often get the classicism they want from contemporary thrillers." --Janet Maslin, The New York Times New York Times bestseller | Winner of the Macavity Award for Best Novel | NPR best book of the Year | Washington...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.