Afrofuturism and Afrofantasy

Find Afrofuturism and Afrofantasy books for Books & Bites Bingo!

Updated January 2, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Redemption in indigo
Lord, Karen.
This fascinating debut by Karen Lord-a retelling of a Senegalese folktale-earned starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist and won the Frank Collymore Award. When Paama finally leaves her gluttonous husband, she attracts the attention of the undying spirit Patience, who gives her Chance's...
Binti
Okorafor, Nnedi
"Prepare to fall in love with Binti." --Neil Gaiman Winner of the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award for Best Novella! Her name is Binti, and she is the first of the Himba people ever to be offered a place at Oomza University, the finest institution of higher...
Lovecraft country : a novel
Ruff, Matt
Now an HBO® Series from J.J. Abrams (Executive Producer of Westworld), Misha Green (Creator of Underground) and Jordan Peele (Director of Get Out) The critically acclaimed cult novelist makes visceral the terrors of life in Jim Crow America and its lingering effects in this...
Sweep of stars
Broaddus, Maurice
Maurice Broaddus's Sweep of Stars is the first in a trilogy that explores the struggles of an empire. Epic in scope and intimate in voice, it follows members of the Muungano empire - a far-reaching coalition of city-states that stretches from O.E. (original earth) to Titan - as it faces...
The hundred thousand kingdoms
Jemisin, N. K.
After her mother's mysterious death, a young woman is summoned to the floating city of Sky in order to claim a royal inheritance she never knew existed in the first book in this award-winning fantasy trilogy from the NYT bestselling author of The Fifth Season. Yeine...
Ring shout
Clark, P. Dj©·l©?
Nebula, Locus, and Alex Award-winner P. Djèlí Clark returns with Ring Shout, a dark fantasy historical novella that gives a supernatural twist to the Ku Klux Klan's reign of terror "A fantastical, brutal and thrilling triumph of the imagination...Clark's combination of...
Parable of the sower
Butler, Octavia E.
This acclaimed post-apocalyptic novel of hope and terror from an award-winning author "pairs well with 1984 or The Handmaid's Tale" and includes a foreword by N. K. Jemisin (John Green, New York Times). When global climate change and economic crises lead to...
The Destroyer of Worlds: A Return to Lovecraft Country
Ruff, Matt
"Another virtuoso blend of horror, action, and humor. . . . Fans will find this a worthy sequel."--Publishers Weekly In this thrilling adventure, a blend of enthralling historical fiction and fantastical horror, Matt Ruff returns to the world of Lovecraft Country and explores the meaning...
The Water Dancer: A Novel
Coates, Ta-Nehisi
In his boldly imagined first novel, Ta-Nehisi Coates, the National Book Award-winning author of Between the World and Me, brings home the most intimate evil of enslavement: the cleaving and separation of families. Young Hiram Walker was born into bondage. When his...
The deep
Solomon, Rivers
ONE OF NPR'S BEST BOOKS OF 2019 The water-breathing descendants of African slave women tossed overboard have built their own underwater society--and must reclaim the memories of their past to shape their future in this brilliantly imaginative novella inspired by the Hugo Award...
She would be king : a novel
Moore, Waye tu
A novel of exhilarating range, magical realism, and history--a dazzling retelling of Liberia's formation Wayétu Moore's powerful debut novel,She Would Be King, reimagines the dramatic story of Liberia's early years through three unforgettable characters who share an uncommon...
Black leopard, red wolf
James, Marlon
One of TIME's 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time Winner of the L.A. Times Ray Bradbury Prize  Finalist for the 2019 National Book Award The New York Times Bestseller Named a Best Book of 2019 by The Wall Street...
Kindred
Butler, Octavia E.
Selected by The Atlantic as one of THE GREAT AMERICAN NOVELS.  ("You have to read them.") From the New York Times bestselling author of Parable of the Sower and MacArthur "Genius" Grant, Nebula, and Hugo award winner The visionary time-travel classic...
Rosewater
Thompson, Tade
Rosewater is the start of an award-winning trilogy set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging voices. *Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel, winner *Nommo Award for Best Speculative Fiction Novel, winner
The black god's drums
Clark, P. Dj©·l©?
Rising science fiction and fantasy star P. Djèlí Clark brings an alternate New Orleans of orisha, airships, and adventure to life in his immersive debut novella The Black God's Drums. Alex Award Winner! In an alternate New Orleans caught in the tangle...
The fifth season
Jemisin, N. K.
At the end of the world, a woman must hide her secret power and find her kidnapped daughter in this "intricate and extraordinary" Hugo Award winning novel of power, oppression, and revolution. (The New York Times) This is the way the world ends. . .for the last time. ...
The prey of gods
Drayden, Nicky
Winner of the Compton Crook Award From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science...
Riot baby
Onyebuchi, Tochi
Winner of the 2021 World Fantasy AwardWinner of an 2021 ALA Alex Award Winner of the 2020 New England Book Award for FictionWinner of the 2021 Ignyte AwardWinner of the 2021 AABMC Literary Award A 2021 Finalist for...
A master of djinn
Clark, P. Dj©·l©?
Included in NPR's Favorite Sci-Fi And Fantasy Books Of The Past Decade (2011-2021) A Nebula Award Winner A Ignyte Award Winner A Compton Crook Award for Best New Novel Winner A Locus First Novel Award Winner A RUSA Reading List:...
An unkindness of ghosts
Solomon, Rivers
For generations, the Matilda has ferried the last of humanity to a mythical Promised Land. On its way, the ship's leaders have imposed harsh moral restrictions and deep indignities on dark-skinned sharecroppers like Aster, who they consider to be less than human. When the autopsy of Matilda's...
Flowers for the Sea
Rocklyn, Zin E.
Winner of the Shirley Jackson Award Winner of the Pulver Award An Ignyte Award Finalist A Library Journal Editor's Pick! A Den of Geeks Best Books of 2021! Flowers for the Sea is a dark, dazzling debut novella that...

Learn about Books & Bites Bingo, listen to the Books & Bites podcast, and more!

Children of blood and bone
Adeyemi, Tomi
An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller A TIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time A New York Times Notable Children's BookA Kirkus Prize Finalist With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and...
Raybearer
Ifueko, Jordan
Fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi Adeyemi won't want to miss Raybearer, an instant New York Times bestselling fantasy from breakout YA sensation Jordan Ifueko! Named one of the best books of the year by People magazine, Buzzfeed, New York Public...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.