2021 Stonewall Award Winners and Honor Books

The first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table (formerly the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table). Three Stonewall Book Awards are presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date. The award is announced in January/February and presented to the winning authors or editors at the American Library Association Annual Conference in June.

Updated February 9, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The thirty names of night : a novel
Joukhadar, Zeyn
Winner of the Lambda Literary Award for Transgender Fiction Winner of the ALA Stonewall Book Award--Barbara Gittings Literature Award Named Best Book of the Year by Bustle Named Most Anticipated Book of the Year by The Millions, Electric...
Postcolonial love poem
Diaz, Natalie
WINNER OF THE 2021 PULITZER PRIZE IN POETRY FINALIST FOR THE 2020 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR POETRY Natalie Diaz's highly anticipated follow-up to When My Brother Was an Aztec, winner of an American Book Award Postcolonial Love Poem is an...
Memorial
Washington, Bryan
NAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE SEASON BY: Wall Street Journal ● Washington Post ● CBS Sunday Morning ● Good Morning America ● People ● Time ● New York Magazine...
The death of Vivek Oji
Emezi, Akwaeke
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "Electrifying." -- O: The Oprah Magazine  Named a Best Book of 2020 by The New York Times, The Washington Post, NPR, USA TODAY, Vanity Fair, Elle, Harper's Bazaar<...
Beetle & the Hollowbones
Layne, Aliza
A Stonewall Honor Book An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best friend from the haunted mall--perfect for fans of Steven Universe and Adventure Time. In the eerie town...
You should see me in a crown
Johnson, Leah (Young adult author)
A TIME Magazine Best YA Book of All Time A Stonewall Honor Book A Reese's Book Club YA Pick Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town. But it's okay -- Liz has a...
Paper bullets : two artists who risked their lives to defy the Nazis
Jackson, Jeffrey H.
"A Nazi resistance story like none you've ever heard or read." --Hampton Sides, author of Ghost Soldiers and On Desperate Ground "Every page is gripping, and the amount of new research is nothing short of mind-boggling. A brilliant book for the ages...
The fixed stars
Wizenberg, Molly
The New York Times-bestselling author's thoughtful and provocative memoir of changing identity, complex sexuality, and enduring family relationships. At age thirty-six, while serving on a jury, author Molly Wizenberg found herself drawn to a female attorney she hardly...
Darius the Great deserves better
Khorram, Adib
In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all- a boyfriend, an internship, a spot on the soccer team. It's everything he's ever wanted--but what if he deserves better? Darius Kellner is having a bit of a year. Since his...
Felix ever after
Callender, Kacen
A Stonewall Honor Book * A Time Magazine Best YA Book of All Time From Stonewall and Lambda Award-winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time. Felix Love has...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.