Books By LGBTQIA+ Authors

Books for the Books & Bites Bingo Reading Challenge!

Updated May 30, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Girl, woman, other : a novel
Evaristo, Bernardine
NATIONAL BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE "A must-read about modern Britain and womanhood . . . An impressive, fierce novel about the lives of black British families, their struggles, pains, laughter, longings and loves . . . Her style is passionate, razor-sharp, brimming...
Exquisite corpse
Brite, Poppy Z.
From the author of Lost Souls, Drawing Blood, and Wormwood comes a thrilling and chilling novel that bestselling author Peter Straub says serves as a "guidebook to hell." To serial slayer Andrew Compton, murder is an art, the most intimate art. After feigning his...
Hunger : a memoir of (my) body
Gay, Roxane
The New York Times Bestseller National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist Lambda Literary Award winner From Roxane Gay, the New York Times bestselling author of Bad Feminist, a memoir in weight about eating healthier, finding a tolerable form of exercise, and exploring what...
Red at the bone
Woodson, Jacqueline
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR "A spectacular novel that only this legend can pull off." -Ibram X. Kendi, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of  HOW TO BE AN...
Me talk pretty one day
Sedaris, David.
A new collection from David Sedaris is cause for jubilation. His recent move to Paris has inspired hilarious pieces, including Me Talk Pretty One Day, about his attempts to learn French. His family is another inspiration. You Cant Kill the Rooster is a portrait of his brother who talks incessant hip...
Detransition, baby : a novel
Peters, Torrey
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * The lives of three women--transgender and cisgender--collide after an unexpected pregnancy forces them to confront their deepest desires in "one of the most celebrated novels of the year" (Time) "Reading this novel is like holding a live...
Things Have Gotten Worse since We Last Spoke and Other Misfortunes
LaRocca, Eric
"Amongst the Top 50 Horror Books of All Time" - Cosmopolitan Three dark and disturbing horror stories from an astonishing new voice, including the viral-sensation tale of obsession, Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke. For fans of Kathe Koja, Clive Barker...
Giovanni's room
Baldwin, James
Set among the bohemian bars and nightclubs of 1950s Paris, this groundbreaking novel about love and the fear of love is "a book that belongs in the top rank of fiction" (The Atlantic). * With an Introduction by Colm Tóibín, New York Times bestselling author of The Master. <...
The long way to a small, angry planet
Chambers, Becky
National Bestseller! The acclaimed modern science fiction masterpiece, Hugo Award winner for Best Series! Follow a motley crew on an exciting journey through space--and one adventurous young explorer who discovers the meaning of family in the far reaches of the universe--in this...
Queen of teeth
Piper, Hailey
"...one of the best horror books of 2021."-Rue Morgue "A powerful, beautiful horror story."-Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Within forty-eight hours, Yaya Betancourt will go from discovering teeth between her thighs to being hunted by one of the most powerful...
A dash of salt and pepper
Jackson, Kosoko
One of Amazon's Best Romances of December  A December LibraryReads Pick Sometimes two cooks in the kitchen are better than one in this swoony romantic comedy from the author of I'm So (Not) Over You. Xavier Reynolds is doing less than stellar. He...
Girls can kiss now : essays
Gutowitz, Jill
"Wickedly funny and heartstoppingly vulnerable...every page twinkles with brilliance." --Refinery29 Perfect for fans of Samantha Irby and Trick Mirror, a hilarious, whip-smart collection of personal essays exploring the intersection of queerness, pop culture, the...
Burn the page : a true story of torching doubts, blazing trails, and igniting change
Roem, Danica
An inspirational memoir-meets-manifesto by Danica Roem, the nation's first openly trans person elected to US state legislature Danica Roem made national headlines when--as a transgender former frontwoman for a metal band and a political newcomer--she unseated Virginia's most...
The merry spinster : tales of everyday horror
Ortberg, Mallory
"Empowering, subversive. . . . Daniel M. Lavery twists fairy tales into elegant garrotes. . . . There's not a single weak link in the cat's-breath chain of this collection." --The New York Times Book Review Adapted from the beloved "Children's Stories Made Horrific"...
Manhunt
Felker-Martin, Gretchen
"By far the best book I've read this year." --Roxane Gay #1 Best Book of 2022 (Vulture) * A Best Horror Novel of All Time (Cosmopolitan) * One of the Best Horror Novels of 2022 (Esquire, Library Journal, Paste, and CrimeReads...
Books of blood : volumes one to three
Barker, Clive
Rediscover the true meaning of fear in this collection of horror stories from New York Times bestselling author Clive Barker. "The most provocative tales of terror ever published."--The Washington Post Everybody is a book of blood; wherever we're...
The Bright Lands : a novel
Fram, John
A Best Book of 2020 from Library Journal, CrimeReads, and BookPage "Marks the debut of an already accomplished novelist." --John Banville The town of Bentley holds two things dear: its football, and its secrets. But when star quarterback...
Lark ascending : a novel
House, Silas
Winner of the Southern Book Prize ​for Fiction * Winner of a Nautilus Award (Gold)​ A timely, powerful story of survival set in the not-too-distant future that Margaret Renkl (Late Migrations) calls "a beautiful book...shot through with...
Olga dies dreaming
Gonzalez, Xochitl
A blazing talent debuts with the tale of a status-driven wedding planner grappling with her social ambitions, absent mother, and Puerto Rican roots-, all in the wake of Hurricane Maria It's 2017, and Olga and her brother, Pedro "Prieto" Acevedo, are bold-faced names in their...
Behind the scenes
Stetz-Waters, Karelia
Fans of Abby Jimenez and Meryl Wilsner will fall in love with this hilarious and refreshingly authentic novel about second chances, pugs, and finding the perfect muse . . . Business consultant Rose Josten might not have officially reached "pug lady" middle age, but...
Wake the bones
Kilcoyne, Elizabeth
"YA horror has found a new standard-bearer." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Dark, gripping, and gorgeous, Wake the Bones will lead you into the woods and keep you up late. As lush and sweltering as a Kentucky summer... Elizabeth Kilcoyne is a force." -...
Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe
Sáenz, Benjamin Alire.
Now a major motion picture starring Max Pelayo, Reese Gonzales, and Eva Longoria! A Time Best YA Book of All Time (2021) A lyrical novel about family and friendship from critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Sáenz. Aristotle is an...
Less : a novel
Greer, Andrew Sean
A struggling novelist travels the world to avoid an awkward wedding in this hilarious Pulitzer Prize-winning novel full of "arresting lyricism and beauty" (The New York Times Book Review). WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZENational BestsellerA...
My government means to kill me
Newson, Rasheed
A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK · A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITOR'S CHOICE · 2022 LAMBDA LITERARY PRIZE FOR GAY FICTION FINALIST The debut novel from television WRITER/PRODUCER OF THE CHI, NARCOS, and BEL-AIR tells a fierce and...
Learn about the Books & Bites Bingo reading challenge, listen to the Books & Bites podcast, and more!
Here comes the sun : a novel
Dennis-Benn, Nicole
Capturing the distinct rhythms of Jamaican life and dialect, Nicole Dennis- Benn pens a tender hymn to a world hidden among pristine beaches and the wide expanse of turquoise seas. At an opulent resort in Montego Bay, Margot hustles to send her younger sister, Thandi, to school. Taught as a girl to...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.