Recommended Books for Wings of Fire Fans

Love Tui Sutherland's Wings of Fire series? Try these "read-alikes"!

Updated August 1, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Alliana, girl of dragons
Abe, Julie
For fans of Shannon Hale and Gail Carson Levine, comes an enchanting fairy tale retelling of the Japanese Cinderella, set in the magical world of Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch. Once upon a time, Alliana believed in dreams and fairy tales as sweet as spun...
The lost ry?
Cohen, Emi Watanabe
BEST OF THE YEAR: Chicago Public Library · Kids' Indie Next List A story of multigenerational pain, magic, and the lengths to which we'll go to protect the people we love. Kohei Fujiwara has never seen a big ryu&...
Legends of the sky
Flanagan, Liz
"A thrilling fantasy quest... sure to lure fans of Christopher Paolini's Eragon and Rick Riordan." -- The BooksellerWhen servant girl Milla uncovers four dragon eggs, she must figure out how to keep them a secret. But what if the dragons are exactly what the warring city need to...
Silver Batal and the water dragon races
Halbrook, Kristin
"Hand this to the Rick Riordan crowd, or to kids who like Tui Sutherland's "Wings of Fire" series."--SLJ Set in a vivid, Arab-inspired world filled with friendly and fearsome water dragons, K.D. Halbrook's Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races is a middle-grade...
City of thieves
London, Alex
In a modern mega-city built around dragons, one boy gets caught up in the world of underground dragon battles and a high-stakes gang war that could tear his family apart. Once, dragons nearly drove themselves to extinction. But in the city of Drakopolis, humans domesticated them centuries ago....
The Unwanteds
McMann, Lisa.
A riveting middlegrade dystopian novel from New York Times bestselling Wake author Lisa McMann that Kirkus Reviews calls "The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter." Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent...
New dragon city
Mancusi, Mari
Set off on a high-stakes, action-packed adventure in this story about friendship, survival, and fighting for ones you love, perfect for fans of Wings of Fire and How to Train Your Dragon.  No one predicted the dragon apocalypse. The dragons came suddenly and...
Dragons in a bag
Elliott, Zetta
The dragon's out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she's not his grandmother--but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering...
The dragon egg princess
Oh, Ellen
Perfect for fans of Wing & Claw, this must-have middle grade novel is from We Need Diverse Books cofounder Ellen Oh! "Filled with strange terrains, creatures, and magic, this is an enthralling read!"--Soman Chainani, author of the New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil series<...
Forest of wonders
Park, Linda Sue
From Newbery Medal-winning author Linda Sue Park, this is a captivating fantasy-adventure about a boy, a bat, and an amazing transformation. The first book in an enchanting trilogy, Forest of Wonders richly explores the links between magic and botany, family and duty, environment and home. ...
City of the plague god
Chadda, Sarwat
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents an adventure based on ancient Mesopotamian mythology by Sarwat Chadda, author of the Ash Mistry series. "An epic worthy of Gilgamesh. Chadda brings attention to the less well-recognized mythology of ancient Mesopotamia with engaging...
Anya and the dragon
Pasternack, Sofiya
A Sydney Taylor Award Honor Book Sydney Taylor Honor winner Anya and the Dragon, the first in a duology, is a lush tale of magic and dragons, a gem for any adventure-seeking middle grade reader. Anya and the Dragon is the story of fantasy and mayhem in tenth century Eastern Europe,...
A darkening of dragons
Patrick, Seth
Embark on an epic, dragon-filled adventure where music has the power of enchantment in Book One of the Songs of Magic trilogy. Thirteen-year-old piper, Patch Brightwater, is a boy in disgrace. Thrown in jail for playing a forbidden spell, he is no one's idea of a hero. But then...
Dragonfell
Prineas, Sarah
"An adventurous dragon tale that delivers an emotionally satisfying ending." --Kirkus Fly with the dragons in this stunning fantasy from Sarah Prineas, author of the acclaimed Magic Thief series! Rafi Bywater is unlike anyone else. The people in his village don't trust him ...
Dragonboy
Reyes, Megan
This timeless fantasy debut follows four unlikely heroes-a boy-turned-dragon, his reluctant dragon rider, a runaway witch, and a young soldier-bound by the Fates to save their world, and magic itself, from being destroyed. Blue, River, Wren, and Shenli grew up on different sides...
The revenge of magic
Riley, James
"This imaginative and exciting story feels like the start of something big. The brilliant premise unfolds into a thrilling first book that has me impatient for the next one." --Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven and Dragonwatch ...
Dragon mountain
Tsang, Katie
From the authors behind the critically acclaimed Sam Wu books, a thrilling new fantasy series about friendship, courage, adventure, and dragon magic.   When 12-year-old Billy Chan finds out his parents are sending him to a language and culture camp in the...
A dragon's guide to the care and feeding of humans
Yep, Laurence
Fans of How to Train Your Dragon will love this whimsical tale, the first in a series, by a Newbery Honor winner, featuring charming illustrations and pet "training tips" in each chapter. Crusty dragon Miss Drake has a new pet human, precocious Winnie. Oddly enough, Winnie seems...
Wingbearer
Liu, Marjorie M.
A young girl must stop a threat to her magical world in this epic graphic novel from New York Times bestselling author Marjorie Liu and remarkable debut illustrator Teny Issakhanian. Plus don't miss the spectacular sequel, Wingborn, out in fall 2023! Zuli is extraordinary-...
City of dragons. 1, The awakening storm
Yogis, Jaimal
Grace and her friends must protect a newly hatched dragon from mysterious evildoers. When Grace moves to Hong Kong with her mom and new stepdad, her biggest concern is making friends at her fancy new boarding school. But when a mysterious old woman gifts her a dragon egg during a field...
The coldfire curse
Quinn, Jordan
In the first installment of the exciting Dragon Kingdom of Wrenly graphic novel series, the scarlet dragon Ruskin's bravery is put to the test when a curse threatens his kingdom. As the pampered pet dragon of the Prince of Wrenly, Ruskin has never known life beyond the walls of...
The dragon warrior
Zhao, Katie
"An exhilarating tale. . . Readers will be enthralled." --J.C. Cervantes, New York Times bestselling author of The Storm Runner A debut novel inspired by Chinese mythology, this middle-grade fantasy follows an outcast as she embarks on a quest to save the...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.