Mysteries for Tweens

Whether you prefer your mysteries cozy or creepy, puzzling or paranormal, the library has them all. This list features a wide array of middle grade mysteries.

Updated August 7, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
The curse on Spectacle Key
Acevedo, Chantel
A sweetly spooky ghost story about a Cuban American boy who befriends a pair of spirits and tries to break the curse on his island home . . . only to discover a seemingly lost piece of his family's history in the process. This new middle grade standalone mystery from the author of the Muse Squad...
The in-between
Ansari, Rebecca K. S.
A dark, twisty adventure about the forgotten among us and what it means to be seen, from the acclaimed author of The Missing Piece of Charlie O'Reilly. Cooper is lost. Ever since his father left their family three years ago, he has become distant from his friends, constantly annoyed by his...
Wreck at Ada's reef
Beil, Michael D.
A vibrant contemporary mystery with a classic feel about grappling with grief, righting past wrongs, redefining family, and finding yourself. An Edgar Award Nominee! Twelve-year-old Lark Heron-Finch is steeling herself to spend the summer on Swallowtail Island off...
Premeditated Myrtle
Bunce, Elizabeth C.
A 2021 Edgar® Award Winner, Best Juvenile A BookPage Best Book of 2020: Middle Grade A Mighty Girl's 2020 Books of the Year Introducing Myrtle Hardcastle, your favorite new amateur detective: a wickedly smart...
Drew Leclair gets a clue
Bury, Katryn
In this modern take on Harriet the Spy, twelve-year-old Drew uses her true crime expertise to catch the cyberbully in her school--only to discover that family, friendship, and identity are the hardest mysteries to solve. Drew Leclair knows what it takes to be a great detective. She's pored...
Far out!
Bustard, Anne, 1951- author.
From the author of Blue Skies comes a lively middle grade novel about a young, alien-loving girl trying to clear her grandmother's name in this mystery that has humor, hijinks, and heart in equal measure. It's 1964, the Space Race is well underway, and eleven-year-old...
Me, Frida, and the secret of the peacock ring
Cervantes, Angela
A new novel from Angela Cervantes that uses the story of Frida Kahlo to help readers discover the true power of heritage, art, and family.A room locked for fifty years.A valuable peacock ring.A mysterious brother-sister duo.Paloma Marquez is traveling to Mexico City, birthplace of her deceased...
The dollhouse
Cotter, Charis
Alice's world is falling apart. Her parents are getting a divorce, and Alice and her mum are heading to some small town where Alice's mom will be a live-in nurse to a rich elderly lady. The house is huge, and everything inside is meticulously kept and perfect. Things start to get weird when Alice...
The ghosts of Rancho Espanto
Cuevas, Adrianna
A new middle grade fantasy full of humor and heart from Adrianna Cuevas--author of the Pura Belpré Honor Book The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez--perfect for fans of Claribel Ortega's The Ghost Squad and Louis Sachar's Holes. ' Rafa would rather live...
The Great Shelby Holmes
Eulberg, Elizabeth
Sherlock Holmes gets a fun, sweet twist with two irresistible young heroes and black & white illustrations throughout, in this middle grade debut from internationally bestselling YA author Elizabeth Eulberg. Shelby Holmes is not your average sixth grader. She's nine years old,...
The last last-day-of-summer
Giles, L. R.
"The Last Last-Day-of-Summer reminds me that all children deserve to exist in magical spaces where their imaginations and familial bonds will them into heroism. Every single child should have the freedom to be one of The Legendary Alstons. And I, for one, am grateful to Giles, and this brilliant...
Super puzzletastic mysteries : short stories for young sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
Grabenstein, Chris
Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America bring together twenty peerless puzzles--from bestselling authors such as Peter Lerangis, Stuart Gibbs, Lauren Magaziner, Kate Milford, and, of course, Grabenstein himself--in an anthology of mystery short stories that invite...
The body under the piano
Jocelyn, Marthe
Aggie Morton lives in a small town on the coast of England in 1902. Adventurous and imaginative but deeply shy, Aggie hasn't got much to do since the death of her beloved father... until the fateful day when she crosses paths with twelve-year-old Belgian immigrant Hector Perot and discovers a dead...
The Parker inheritance
Johnson, Varian
A Boston Globe / Horn Book Honor winner * Four Starred Reviews * Over Ten Best-of-Year Lists"Powerful.... Johnson writes about the long shadows of the past with such ambition that any reader with a taste for mystery will appreciate the puzzle Candice and Brandon must solve." -- The New York Times...
Omega Morales and the legend of La Lechuza
Kemp, Laekan Zea
Fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Paola Santiago and the River of Tears, and Disney's Encanto will be captivated by this fantastical novel about a girl who must learn to trust her ancestral powers when she comes face-to-face with the Mexican legend La...
The haunted studio
LeBlanc, Hayley
The first book in an exciting new middle grade mystery series from actress, artist, and YouTube star Hayley LeBlanc! In Hayley Mysteries- The Haunted Studio, when Hayley is cast as the lead in a Nancy Drew like kids TV show, strange things start happening...
Chester Keene cracks the code
Magoon, Kekla
Cracking the code isn't all it's cracked up to be in this scavenger hunt adventure from a Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author. "Delivers a truly fresh mystery -- along with a heist, some heartbreak, some unforgettable characters and plenty of laser tag." --The New York Times...
Greenglass House
Milford, Kate.
New York Times Bestseller * National Book Award Nominee * Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Juvenile Mystery It's wintertime at Greenglass House. The creaky smuggler's inn is always quiet during this season, and twelve-year-old Milo, the innkeepers' adopted son, plans to spend his...
Tornado brain
Patrick, Cat
In this heartfelt and powerfully affecting coming of age story, a neurodivergent 7th grader is determined to find her missing best friend before it's too late. Things never seem to go as easily for thirteen-year-old Frankie as they do for her sister, Tess. Unlike Tess, Frankie is...
Egypt's fire
Phillips, Tom (Novelist)
Hilarious, non-stop adventure, a mysterious jewel heist, and a detective team like no other make this a must-have middle grade series starter. Perfect for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Enola Holmes. After twelve-year-old John Boarhog's mom dies, the...
The Carrefour curse
Salerni, Dianne K.
The Addams Family meets The Westing Game in this exhilarating mystery about a modern magical dynasty trapped in the ruins of their once-grand, now-crumbling ancestral home. ***Three Starred Reviews*** Twelve-year-old Garnet regrets that she doesn't know...
Princess Private Eye
Skye, Evelyn
Twelve-year-old Gen Sun has bounced around New York's foster care system ever since her parents died in a car crash ten years ago. No one seems to know anything about her birth family, and the only link she has to them is a baby blanket embroidered with her name. But that's all right. Gen is savvy...
Murder is bad manners
Stevens, Robin
Two friends form a detective agency--and must solve their first murder case--in this "sharp-witted debut" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) that is the first adventure in a brand-new middle grade mystery series set at a 1930s boarding school. Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong...
The ghost of midnight lake
Strange, Lucy
From award winning author Lucy Strange comes a thrilling ghost story about a strong willed heroine who will follow even the most restless spirit in order to untangles the dark mystery of her own past. It's 1899. The Earl of Gosswater has died, and twelve-year-old Agatha has been cast out of her...
The ghost of Spruce Point
Tandon, Nancy
A young boy must unravel a curse to save his family's beloved Maine motel in this spooky, "tightly paced" (Publishers Weekly) middle grade novel sure to delight fans of Whispering Pines and The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street! Twelve-year-old Parker...
Malamander
Taylor, Thomas
A quirky, creepy fantasy set in Eerie-on-Sea finds a colorful cast of characters in hot pursuit of a sea monster thought to convey a surprising gift. It's winter in the town of Eerie-on-Sea, where the mist is thick and the salt spray is rattling the windows of the Grand Nautilus...
Me and Sam-Sam handle the apocalypse
Vaught, Susan
"Edgar-winning Vaught, a neuropsychologist, has both personal and professional experience to draw on in crafting a narrator who is admirably smart and resilient despite an 'itchy' brain and a compulsion to count things." --Booklist (starred review) "Deeply smart and...
Long lost
West, Jacqueline
Winner of the Minnesota Book Award * A Texas Bluebonnet Book "Perfect to be read late into the night."--Stefan Bachmann, internationally bestselling author of The Peculiar "A spooky sisterhood mystery that is sure to be a hit with readers."--School Library Journal (starred...
Wretched waterpark
White, Kiersten
A middle-grade mystery series that's spooky, creepy, and filled with gothic twists!Meet the Sinister-Winterbottom twins, who solve mysteries at increasingly bizarre summer vacation destinations in the hopes of being reunited with their parents-or at the very least finally finding a good churro....
Tangled up in luck
Wyatt, Merrill
"A sweet, heart-squeezing story!" -- Jaleigh Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of The Mark of the Dragonfly When seventh grade enemies research a missing set of jewels for a class project, they realize that the answers to the unsolved case might be much...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.