Historical Fiction

Historical fiction is fiction that takes place in some specific era of the past. The events and characters might not have literally happened, but they’re rooted in the time period. In other words, while they didn’t actually happen, they could have happened.

Updated September 21, 2023
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Carrie Soto is back : a novel
Reid, Taylor Jenkins
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * "An epic adventure about a female athlete perhaps past her prime, brought back to the tennis court for one last grand slam" (Elle), from the author of Malibu Rising, Daisy Jones & The Six, and The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Take my hand
Perkins-Valdez, Dolen
Winner of the 2023 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work - Fiction "Deeply empathetic yet unflinching in its gaze...an unforgettable exploration of responsibility and redemption."--Celeste Ng Inspired by true events that rocked the nation, a...
The last house on the street
Chamberlain, Diane
A community's past sins rise to the surface in New York Times bestselling author Diane Chamberlain's The Last House on the Street when two women, a generation apart, find themselves bound by tragedy and an unsolved, decades-old mystery. 1965 Growing...
The book woman's daughter : a novel
Richardson, Kim Michele
Bestselling historical fiction author Kim Michele Richardson is back with the perfect book club read following Honey Lovett, the daughter of the beloved Troublesome book woman, who must fight for her own independence with the help of the women who guide her and the books that set her free.
Go tell the bees that I am gone : a novel
Gabaldon, Diana
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * Diana Gabaldon returns with the "vast and sweeping" (The Washington Post) newest novel in the epic Outlander series. War leaves nobody alone. Neither the past, the present, nor the future offers true safety, and the only refuge is...
Hour of the witch : a novel
Bohjalian, Chris
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the acclaimed author of The Flight Attendant: "Historical fiction at its best.... The book is a thriller in structure, and a real page-turner, the ending both unexpected and satisfying" (Diana Gabaldon, bestselling author of the...
The dictionary of lost words : a novel
Williams, Pip
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK * "Delightful . . . [a] captivating and slyly subversive fictional paean to the real women whose work on the Oxford English Dictionary went largely unheralded."--The New York Times Book Review "A marvelous...
The lost apothecary
Penner, Sarah
THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER -- OVER A MILLION COPIES SOLD! "A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!" --Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code A forgotten history. A secret network of women. A...
The Paris library
Skeslien Charles, Janet
Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife. Paris,...
Yellow Wife A Novel
Johnson, Sadeqa.
From the New York Times bestselling author of House of Eve--a 2023 Reese's Book Club Pick! *A Best Book of the Year by NPR and Christian Science Monitor* Called "wholly engrossing" by New York Times bestselling author Kathleen Grissom, this...
Peach blossom spring
Fu, Melissa
A "beautifully rendered" novel about war, migration, and the power of telling our stories, Peach Blossom Spring follows three generations of a Chinese family on their search for a place to call home (Georgia Hunter, New York Times bestselling author).<...
Violeta : a novel
Allende, Isabel
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * This sweeping novel from the author of A Long Petal of the Sea tells the epic story of Violeta Del Valle, a woman whose life spans one hundred years and bears witness to the greatest upheavals of the twentieth century. "An immersive saga...
The Personal Librarian
Benedict, Marie.
The Instant New York Times Bestseller! A Good Morning America* Book Club Pick! Named a Best Book of the Year by NPR! Named a Notable Book of the Year by the Washington Post! "Historical fiction at its best!"*   A remarkable novel...
Four treasures of the sky
Zhang, Jenny
A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK · A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITOR'S CHOICE · REVIEWED ON THE FRONT COVER · INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER "Zhang's blend of history and magical realism will appeal to fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates' The Water...
The evening and the morning
Follett, Ken
#1 New York Times Bestseller An Amazon Best Book of 2020   The thrilling and addictive prequel to The Pillars of the Earth--set in England at the dawn of a new era: the Middle Ages "Just as transporting as [...
The pull of the stars : a novel
Donoghue, Emma
In Dublin, 1918, a maternity ward at the height of the Great Flu is a small world of work, risk, death, and unlooked-for love, in "Donoghue's best novel since Room" (Kirkus Reviews) In an Ireland doubly ravaged by war and disease, Nurse Julia Power works at an...
The Jane Austen society
Jenner, Natalie
* INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER * "This novel delivers sweet, smart escapism." --People "Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and...
Black cake : a novel
Wilkerson, Charmaine
NOW A HULU STREAMING SERIES * NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON TODAY * Two estranged siblings delve into their mother's hidden past--and how it all connects to her traditional Caribbean black cake--in this immersive family saga, "a...
The book of lost names
Harmel, Kristin
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II, a young woman with a talent for forgery helps hundreds of Jewish children flee the Nazis in this unforgettable historical novel from the New York Times bestselling author...
A ballad of love and glory : a novel
Grande, Reyna
2023 International Latino Book Award Winner Finalist for the Texas Institute of Letters's Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Fiction A Long Petal of the Sea meets Cold Mountain in this sweeping historical saga following a Mexican army nurse and an...
Beautiful little fools : a novel
Cantor, Jillian
"Jillian Cantor beautifully re-crafts an American classic in Beautiful Little Fools, placing the women of The Great Gatsby center stage: more than merely beautiful, not so little as the men in their lives assume, and certainly far from foolish. Both fresh and familiar,...
Hester : a novel
Lico Albanese, Laurie
Named a Most Anticipated Book for Fall 2022 by Goodreads * Washington Post * New York Post * BuzzFeed * PopSugar * Business Insider * An October 2022 Indie Next List Pick * An October 2022 LibraryReads Pick "A hauntingly beautiful-...
By her own design : a novel of Ann Lowe, fashion designer to the social register
Huguley, Piper
The incredible untold story of how Ann Lowe, a Black woman and granddaughter of slaves, rose above personal struggles and racial prejudice to design and create one of America's most famous wedding dresses of all time for Jackie Kennedy. 1953, New York City Less than a...
The German wife
Rimmer, Kelly
"Skillfully researched and powerfully written, The German Wife will capture you from the first page." --Madeline Martin, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Bookshop in London For fans of All the Light We Cannot See--from the New York Times ...
On a night of a thousand stars
Clark, Andrea Yaryura
In this moving, emotional narrative of love and resilience, a young couple confronts the start of Argentina's "Dirty War" in the 1970s, and a daughter searches for truth twenty years later. New York, 1998. Santiago Larrea, a wealthy...
Young Mungo : a novel
Stuart, Douglas
A story of queer love and working-class families, Young Mungo is the brilliant second novel from the Booker Prize-winning author of Shuggie Bain Douglas Stuart's first novel ...
The marriage portrait
O'Farrell, Maggie
WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION FINALIST * REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK * NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER * The author of award-winning Hamnet brings the world of Renaissance Italy to jewel-bright life in this unforgettable fictional portrait of the captivating young duchess Lucrezia de' Medici...
The diamond eye : a novel
Quinn, Kate
New York Times Bestseller The bestselling author of The Rose Code returns with an unforgettable World War II tale of a quiet bookworm who becomes history's deadliest female sniper. Based on a true story. In 1937 in the snowbound city of Kyiv, wry and bookish history...
Memphis : a novel
Stringfellow, Tara M.
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON TODAY * A spellbinding debut novel tracing three generations of a Southern Black family and one daughter's discovery that she has the power to change her family's legacy. "A rhapsodic hymn to...
The Lincoln highway
Towles, Amor
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER More than ONE MILLION copies sold A TODAY Show Read with Jenna Book Club Pick A New York Times Notable Book, and Chosen by Oprah Daily, Time, NPR, The Washington Post, Bill Gates and Barack Obama as a Best Book...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.