If you love Wonder by R.J. Palacio...

Are you a fan of Wonder? Here are some titles you may also enjoy.

Updated January 8, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Insignificant events in the life of a cactus
Bowling, Dusti
"Aven is a perky, hilarious, and inspiring protagonist whose attitude and humor will linger even after the last page has turned." --School Library Journal (Starred review) Aven Green loves to tell people that she lost her arms in an alligator...
See you in the cosmos
Cheng, Jack
"I haven't read anything that has moved me this much since Wonder." --Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places A space-obsessed boy and his dog, Carl Sagan, take a journey toward family, love, hope, and awe in this funny and moving...
Out of my mind
Draper, Sharon M.
A New York Times bestseller for three years and counting! "A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes." --School Library Journal (starred review) "Unflinching and realistic." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Slider
Hautman, Pete
Competitive eating vies with family expectations in a funny, heartfelt novel for middle-grade readers by National Book Award winner Pete Hautman.David can eat an entire sixteen-inch pepperoni pizza in four minutes and thirty-six seconds. Not bad. But he knows he can do better. In fact, he'll have to...
Fish in a tree
Hunt, Lynda Mullaly.
A New York Times Bestseller! The author of the beloved One for the Murphys gives readers an emotionally-charged, uplifting novel that will speak to anyone who's ever thought there was something wrong with them because they didn't fit in. "Everybody is...
Bubble
Foster, Stewart
Wonder meets Mark Haddon in the poignant and uplifting debut novel about superheroes, super-nurses, and the beauty you can find in hope. Eleven-year-old Joe has never had a life outside of the hospital, with its beeping machines and view of London's rooftops. His condition...
Lenny's book of everything
Foxlee, Karen
"Holy Batman, this is a gorgeous, heartbreaking, heartwarming book." --R.J. Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder Perfect for readers who love Liar and Spy, Counting by 7s, and Bridge to Terabithia, a heartwarming and...
The miscalculations of Lightning Girl
McAnulty, Stacy
A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens. Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning....
Aniana del Mar jumps in
Méndez, Jasminne
Pura Belpré Author Honor Award ** Four starred reviews!** A powerful and expertly told novel-in-verse by about a 12-year-old Dominican American swimmer who is diagnosed with Juvenile Arthritis by an award-winning poet. Aniana del Mar belongs in the water...
Mustaches for Maddie
Morris, Chad
Based on a true story.   Twelve-year-old Maddie has a quirky sense of humor and loves making her classmates laugh by slapping on fake mustaches every chance she gets. Being funny gets her noticed by class queen Cassie, and things are looking up when Maddie...
The boy at the back of the class
Rau f, Onjali Q.
Told with humor and heart, The Boy at the Back of the Class offers a child's perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn't always make sense. There used to be an empty chair at the back of Mrs. Khan's...
Kyle finds her way
Salom, Susie
In this delightful debut, Kyle Constantini discovers what it takes to navigate middle school: good friends, a crusading spirit, and her lucky blue fedora.On the first day of sixth grade, Kyle Constantini lands in the principal's office after standing up against (that is, punching) Ino Nevarez,...
Roll with it
Sumner, Jamie
A Kirkus Reviews Best Middle Grade Book of 2019 "A big-hearted story that's as sweet as it is awesome." --R.J. Palacio, author of Wonder In the tradition of Wonder and Out of My Mind, this big-hearted middle grade debut tells the...
Save me a seat
Weeks, Sarah
A new friend could be sitting right next to you.Joe and Ravi might be from very different places, but they're both stuck in the same place: SCHOOL.Joe's lived in the same town all his life, and was doing just fine until his best friends moved away and left him on his own. Ravi's family just...
Warp speed
Yee, Lisa.
Entering 7th grade is no big deal for Marley Sandelski: Same old boring classes, same old boring life. The only thing he has to look forward to is the upcoming Star Trek convention. But when he inadvertently draws the attention of Digger Ronster, the biggest bully in school, his life has...
My life as an ice cream sandwich
Zoboi, Ibi Aanu
National Book Award-finalist Ibi Zoboi makes her middle-grade debut with a moving story of a girl finding her place in a world that's changing at warp speed. Twelve-year-old Ebony-Grace Norfleet has lived with her beloved grandfather Jeremiah in Huntsville, Alabama ever since she...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.