Asian and Pacific Islander Voices: Books for Young Teens

Updated May 16, 2024
Drag items up and down to your preferred order then select the "Save Order" button.
Green Lantern : legacy
Le , Minh
From Minh La, award-winning author of Drawn Together and Let Me Finish! comes the tale of a new hero! Thirteen-year-old Tai Pham lives in the apartment above his grandmother's store, where his bedroom is crammed with sketchpads and comic books. But not even his most...
Stories of the islands
Angkasa, Clar
Journey into a land of magic and powerful girls in this feminist graphic novel retelling of three Indonesian folktales. "Brimming with spirit, this is a book all about connection and empowerment. Angkasa's gorgeous rendering and vivid storytelling will pull you right in."-Tillie...
Troublemaker
Cho, John
An instant New York Times bestseller! An Indiebound bestseller! An Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Honor Book! Troublemaker follows the events of the LA Riots through the eyes of 12-year-old Jordan...
Aru Shah and the end of time
Chokshi, Roshani
Best-selling author Rick Riordan introduces this fantasy adventure by New York Times best-selling author, Roshani Chokshi, inspired by the great epics she grew up on. Named one of 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time by Time magazine! Twelve-year-old Aru Shah has a...
Morning sun in Wuhan
Compestine, Ying Chang
A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year * A NCSS 2023 Notable Social Studies Trade Book What was the pandemic of the century like at the start This swift, gripping novel captures not only the uncertainty and panic when COVID first emerged in Wuhan, but...
Golden girl
Faruqi, Reem
From the award-winning, ALA Notable author of Unsettled and Lailah's Lunchbox, this is a captivating coming-of-age middle grade novel in verse about seventh grader Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakistani American girl who hatches a special plan to help her family but finds that doing what...
Unsettled
Faruqi, Reem
A Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year · Kid's Indie Next List · Featured in Today Show's AAPI Heritage Month list · A Kirkus Children's Best Book of 2021 · A National Council of Teachers of English Notable Verse Novel · Jane Addams 2022 Children's Book Award Finalist · 2021...
Bone talk
Gourlay, Candy
Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal (UK)Shortlisted for the Costa Prize (UK)Sunday Times Children's Book of the WeekThe Guardian Book of the MonthThe Times Books of the Year"Hotly Anticipated Historical Fiction for Young Adults" Amazon.co.ukIt is 1899. Ten year old Samkad...
Ahmed Aziz's epic year
Hamza, Nina
This hilarious and poignant tween debut--which SLJ heralded as "destined to become a classic" in a starred review--tackles evergreen topics like dealing with bullies, making friends, and the power of good books. A great next read for fans of Merci Suárez Changes Gears and John David...
We are here : 30 inspiring Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders who have shaped the United States
Hirahara, Naomi
A stunning anthology licensed in partnership with the Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center, We Are Here celebrates 30 of the most inspiring Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in U.S. history.  There are more than...
Emma and the love spell
Ireland, Meredith
Witchlings meets The Parent Trap in this contemporary fantasy about a girl who tries to use her fickle witchy powers to keep her best friend (and secret crush!) from moving away. Twelve-year-old, Korean American adoptee Emma Davidson has a problem....
Shinji Takahashi : into the heart of the storm
Kagawa, Julie
As Shinji struggles to understand and control his new guardian magic, the members of S.E.A. learn that a sunken ship belonging to the long extinct Natia people has been found on the floor of the Pacific Ocean. Shinji, Lucy and Tinker, along with Oliver Ocean and Phoebe Mystic, a quirky, enthusiastic...
Jennifer Chan is not alone
Keller, Tae
In her first novel since winning the Newbery Medal for When You Trap a Tiger, Tae Keller offers a gripping and emotional story about friendship, bullying, and the possiblity that there's more in the universe than just us. Sometimes middle school can make you feel like...
When you trap a tiger
Keller, Tae
WINNER OF THE NEWBERY MEDAL . NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE ASIAN/PACIFIC AMERICAN AWARD FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE Would you make a deal with a magical tiger? This uplifting story brings Korean folklore to life as a girl goes on a quest to unlock the...
The last fallen realm
Kim, Graci
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents the thrilling conclusion to Graci Kim's best-selling Gifted Clans trilogy. Riley Oh wasn't born into her family. Instead, as she recently discovered, she tumbled down to the earth many years ago as the last fallen star. Riley Oh also wasn...
When Clouds Touch Us
Lai, Thanhha.
A Boston Globe-Horn Book Award finalist! Inspired by the author's own childhood, this stunning novel in verse, the sequel to the award-winning #1 bestseller Inside Out and Back Again, picks up two years after Hà and her family arrive in Alabama as refugees from the Việt Nam War....
Red, white, and whole
LaRocca, Rajani
Newbery Honor Book! A heartbreakingly hopeful novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia. * Walter Award Winner * New England Book Award Winner * An NCTE Notable Verse Novel * Golden Kite Award...
Gigi Shin is not a nerd
Lee, Lyla
This first book in a sparkling middle grade series "reminiscent of Ann M. Martin's Baby-Sitters Club books" (Kirkus Reviews) follows a young Korean American girl who starts a business with her best friends to support her artistic dreams. Jiyoung "Gigi" Shin loves to create...
Enlighten me
Lê, Minh
Award-winning author Minh Lê and New York Times bestselling illustrator Chan Chau team up for a fun and enlightening graphic novel about one kid's journey to finding inner peace and belonging. Perfect for fans of Measuring Up and New Kid. ...
Lei and the fire goddess
Maunakea, Malia
"Lei and the Fire Goddess blends preteen angst and beloved Hawaiian moʻolelo in a way that hasn't been done before." --Auliʻi Cravalho, actress and voice of Disney's Princess Moana Curses aren't real. At least, that's what twelve-year-old...
Finding Junie Kim
Oh, Ellen
For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Amina's Voice comes a breathtaking story of family, hope, and survival from Ellen Oh, cofounder of We Need Diverse Books. When Junie Kim is faced with middle school racism, she learns of her grandparents' extraordinary...
You are here : connecting flights
Oh, Ellen
A powerful and engaging exploration of contemporary Asian American identity through interwoven stories set in a teeming Chicago airport, written by award-winning and bestselling East and Southeast Asian American authors including Linda Sue Park, Grace Lin, Erin Entrada Kelly, Traci Chee, and...
Isabel in bloom
Respicio, Mae
A girl discovers a connection between her home in the Philippines and her new home in the U.S. through a special garden in this middle grade novel that celebrates nourishment and growth. Twelve-year-old Isabel is the new kid in her San Francisco middle school. It's the first time...
A bit of Earth
Riazi, Karuna
"Karuna Riazi has a way with words. This story will find its way into your heart."--Tae Keller, Newbery Medalist for When You Trap a Tiger "As timeless as it is timely, A Bit of Earth is a rare gift."--Laurel Snyder, author of National Book Award nominee Orphan Island ...
Amal Unbound
Saeed, Aisha
Life is quiet and ordinary in Amal's Pakistani village, but she had no complaints, and besides, she's busy pursuing her dream of becoming a teacher one day. Her dreams are temporarily dashed when--as the eldest daughter--she must stay home from school to take care of her siblings. Amal is upset, but...
A first time for everything
Santat, Dan
*Winner of the 2023 National Book Award for Young People's Literature* A middle grade graphic memoir based on bestselling author and Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat's awkward middle school years and the trip to Europe that changed his life. Dan's always been...
Maybe it's a sign
Shen, E. L.
Seventh grader Freya June Sun has always believed in the Chinese superstitions spoon-fed to her since birth--but ever since her dad's death a year ago, she's become obsessed, believing that her father is sending her messages through signs from the beyond. Like how, on her way to an orchestra concert...
The last mapmaker
Soontornvat, Christina
A Newbery Honor Book A Walter Dean Myers Honor Book  From Christina Soontornvat, the visionary and versatile author of three Newbery Honor Books, comes a high-seas adventure set in a Thai-inspired fantasy world. In a fantasy adventure every bit as...
A wish in the dark
Soontornvat, Christina
A 2021 Newbery Honor Book A boy on the run. A girl determined to find him. A compelling fantasy looks at issues of privilege, protest, and justice. All light in Chattana is created by one man -- the Governor, who appeared after the Great Fire to bring peace and order...
Parachute kids
Tang, Betty C.
From New York Times bestselling comic artist Betty C. Tang comes a funny, fast-paced, and heartrending story about three siblings living on their own as undocumented new immigrants, inspired by the author's own childhood as a parachute kid. Perfect for fans of New Kid and Front...
Parachute kids
Tang, Betty C.
**National Book Award Longlist Title** **Asian/Pacific American Award Honor Book** This funny, fast-paced, and heartrending story about three siblings living on their own as undocumented new immigrants is perfect for fans of New Kid and Front Desk....
Summer at Squee
Wang, Andrea
From Newbery Honor-winning author Andrea Wang, a new middle grade novel about a Chinese American tween who attends a Boston-based Chinese cultural overnight camp--and the many ways it transforms her. Phoenny Fang plans to have the best summer ever. She's returning to...
Lunar Boy
Wibowo, Jes/ Wibowo, Cin
For fans of The Witch Boy and Squished, Lunar Boy is a must-have heartwarming coming-of-age graphic novel about a young boy from the moon who discovers a home in the most unlikely places, from debut twin creators Jes and Cin Wibowo. Indu, a boy from the moon, feels like he...
A sky of paper stars
Yi, Susie
A Sky of Paper Stars is a heartrending middle-grade graphic novel by Susie Yi about a girl's ill-fated wish to fit in, perfect for readers of Stargazing and Pashmina. All Yuna wants is to belong. She wants to go to sleepovers, have a smart...

Library staff! You can create and contribute to lists. Contact your catalog administrator or log in here.